We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice food, great atmosphere- but beware potty mouthed staff members (or ghosts)!”
Review of Black Swan Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in York
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Black Swan Inn
Ranked #67 of 193 York B&B and Inns
huddersfield
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“nice food, great atmosphere- but beware potty mouthed staff members (or ghosts)!”
Reviewed 10 June 2013

we attended the black swan today for a meal, after friends recommended the food. After being greeted by who I presume was the owner, we took seats in the back dining room near the kitchen. I loved the atmosphere of the place and the oldy worldy touches. After placing out order at the bar, we were informed that the burger was off the menu, so my partner chose fish and chips instead. As we sat down for a chat, the barman delivered what we knew was our order to the kitchen (as only we were eating in that area) and the reply to the order being read in the kitchen was "I'm not f****** doing that!". After hearing this I was rather shocked, as I don't believe that it is appropriate language or conduct when customers are in ear shot. The food however was lovely, and the portion sizes were huge and clearly great value for money. Just a shame the experience was slightly soured!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank charlies94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    58
    10
    15
    8
See reviews for
37
92
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hawsker, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
195 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013

Just got back from staying at The Swan while we attended a wedding. It's a pub full of charm and character. We were made to feel very welcome as soon as we walked through the door. As for the rooms, they're amazing. It's an old, old pub so there's going to be creaky stairs and floorboards but that adds to the atmosphere as far as I'm concerned.
We had a big room with a comfy four poster bed and a massive bathroom. The breakfast left me speechless. My wife asked for a half portion and that was bigger than in most other places. Mine was huge, well cooked and really tasty. On hot plates too. Everything was very relaxed with a civilised breakfast time of 9 til 11.
It loses a star because when we came to go to sleep, there was a continuous humming noise right through the night which was pretty annoying. I'm a light sleeper and usually wear ear plugs but had forgotten them. This would have remedied the situation. Everything else was perfect though and we would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mick_hunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

My husband and I met in the Black Swan 43 years ago! We took our son and his fiancé who were visiting us from the States to see this beautiful building. The owner kindly let us go up to look round the Wolfe room upstairs and was very friendly and very helpful. We stayed for lunch which was fabulous. The Yorkshire pie was enormous and so tasty, congratulations to the chef! Will definitely visit again when were in the area, and would really like to have an overnight stay next time.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lovetotravel186336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

We stayed at The Black Swan for two nights in May. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the welcome very friendly. Cannot think of a better place to stay in York. Food, accommodation excellent and just a short walk and you are in the city centre. We had two overseas visitors with us and they loved the age and atmosphere of the hotel. The added bonus is free parking in the attached car park. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littlebird_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013 via mobile

Brilliant bedrooms, fantastic breakfast, very well located, i love this place. We were only meant to stay for one night but ended up staying for two! I will be returning here at Christmas time and I have no doubt that i will become a regular customer. Great beer and evening meals too! I honestly can't think of anything negative to say about this place! Please visit!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Luckyjez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013

We stayed at the Black Swan on 16th May 2013.

The building is quite amazing looking like time has passed it by. It’s clean, well presented and without doubt you can see the pride and attention to detail which is so obviously displayed. The staff was great and couldn’t do enough to help. The beer at the bar was great with varied selection of real ales.

The Turpin room was clean and nicely furnished, all adding to a great night’s sleep. The breakfast was more than sufficient to keep you going for the rest of the day.
If you are looking for a great place to stay, look no further.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013

We stayed for just one Saturday night and instantly fell in love with this pub. Dating from 1417 it retains many period features including roaring fire, inglenook fireplaces, wood panelling, and a creaky, rickety staircase. The bar staff and owner were wonderful (nothing was too much trouble, including an impromptu tour of the pub and associated ghost stories), the food was excellent and our room, complete with four poster bed, was warm, clean and very comfortable. Breakfast was excellent. As for a previous report and shower mould --- get a life ! Yes, there was a tiny bit around the grouting in the walk in shower but that was it. There is more in my shower cubicle at home and I'm anally clean !

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We stayed in 'Turpin'. Lovely and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.4 mi away
The Judges Lodging
The Judges Lodging
#12 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 998 reviews
0.3 mi away
Guy Fawkes Inn
Guy Fawkes Inn
#43 of 193 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,368 reviews
0.6 mi away
Minster Hotel
Minster Hotel
#24 of 193 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Judges Court Hotel
Judges Court Hotel
#49 of 193 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Gillygate
The Gillygate
#44 of 193 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Hazelwood
The Hazelwood
#34 of 193 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Swan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Swan Inn

Property: Black Swan Inn
Address: 23 Peasholme Green, York YO1 7PR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 193 B&Bs / Inns in York
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Black Swan Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing