We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic artisan pub in York centre”
Review of Brigantes

Brigantes
Ranked #111 of 888 Restaurants in York
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Fantastic artisan pub in York centre”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We find it difficult to believe the small number of miserable reviews that this place has received. In a world full of cloned chain pubs, this is a charming exception. They serve an excellent range of proper beer, and extremely accomplished food which is well above standard pub fare.
Small portions? Well only if you are extremely greedy in our experience. We shared 2 mains between 3 of us and were very happliy replete. We go to York regularly - and will be returning here. It is a great place.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thelondonsurgeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    257
    182
    44
    18
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pocklington, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great place for beer, food and service”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We visited as a large group, and had a great time. Food was excellent, all cooked to order and tasted really, really good. The choice is just about right, and for the price, I think one of the best pub type places I have eaten in for a long time (belly port around £12 - bargain!)

Puddings were also really good, try the cheesecake .. huge and to die for.

An excellent selection of real ales and very friendly and helpful staff ... Will certainly go back and would recommend anyone to go there (it is only a 5 min walk from the centre and well worth it!)

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank yorktraveller_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
319 reviews
205 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Friendly knowledgeable staff, unforgivable waiting time!”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Visited as part of a pre-booked group of about 15 people. The bar staff were very knowledgeable and offered some great advice on cider and whisky options. The specials menu was more exciting and varied than the main menu. We had to ask for menus and chase for our orders to be taken. Only two people in the group ordered starters, which arrived after about half an ordering even though it was a cold starter sharer. We then waiting over an hour for the main meals to arrive, although to be fair, they did all come out quickly one after the other. Dessert menus were offered some time later. The food itself was yummy but to be honest, I couldn't say if this was because we were all starving by the time it arrived or if it was actually really good! Also, we could barely hear each other from noise from other tables.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rotelharp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent food & beer”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Recommended to us by a local guest house landlady, this place did not disappoint! The menu, although slightly different, was varied and interesting plus a specials board, which provided options for everyone. As with all places where food is prepared fresh to order and not part cooked, there was a slight wait, but the food was well worth waiting for - the belly pork was delicious along with the salmon.
The beer was also fabulous. The barman was wax lyrical and passionate about his beer and was happy to supply tasters of all of them, giving detailed analysis of brewery, ABV, taste and ingredients including which hoops have been used. He was also delighted to say that he did not sell mainstream lagers - fantastic, a proper beer drinkers pub!
Highly recommended for lovers of real ale & good food. If you want mass produced lager, go elsewhere, for real beer drinkers, arrange for someone else to give you a lift home!
Fantastic!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bunker36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Best pub grub ever!”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

This place is seriously special.The food,drink,staff are all excellent,can;t fault it in anyway.Once tried never forgotten,you will go back again & again!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank knighty2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Brigantes also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
Headingley, Leeds
 

Been to Brigantes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing