We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bliss, bliss, bliss - worth every penny.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Ranked #6 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bliss, bliss, bliss - worth every penny.”
Reviewed 22 September 2011

Wonderful hotel. I booked the classic room but they upgraded to the next grade up. Lovely spacious room with a large bathroom - and views of the city walls. Most comfortable bed in the world with good quality linen and fluffy towels. High quality toiletries and tea/coffee/chocolate.

I ordered room service, which was fantastic! I didn't fancy anything on the menu and they arranged to cook me something else without any fuss. It arrived on a table-clothed trolley which converted into a table - decorated with flowers and a candle. I also ordered breakfast in my room - and it was excellent. The trolley contained a 'hot box' to keep my toast lovely and warm.

All the food was delicious - high quality and beautifully cooked.

I also used the pool and spa area, spotlessly clean and a lovely tranquil space - hotel pools are often chilly, but this was nice and warm.

Location is very convenient, near the train station and city centre. When I win the lottery - I'll be moving in!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KA101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr_Graeme_Clark, Food & Beverage Operations Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 23 September 2011
Dear Guest

thank you for taking the time to write such a fantastic review of The Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa following your recent stay wit us.

I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay throughout and were able to take advantage of some of our great in house facilities such as our In Room Dining offering and Spa.

On behalf of the entire team at The Grand, we look forward to welcoming you back to us.


Best Wishes
Graeme Clark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,840 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,847
    628
    218
    101
    46
See reviews for
489
2,339
74
216
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (698)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 September 2011

I visited this hotel with a friend, intending to stay for 3 nights. We were both impressed by the friendliness and genuine welcome we got from every single member of staff. The room was very comfortable and on the ground floor there are a number of lounges in which to enjoy a cup of tea or a drink. Our meal in the restaurant was delicious and beautifully presented. We had pre-paid for dinner, bed and breakfast and were half expecting a special reduced menu, but in fact were able to choose freely from the a la carte menu.

This hotel really came into its own on the first morning, however, when we were forced to cut short our stay as the result of a bereavement. The receptionist looked up train times for us, everyone was very sympathetic, and our unused second and third nights were refunded to us without our having asked for this.

Please visit this hotel if you are in York - it is not a cheap hotel, but the standards of service and the genuine welcome offered make it a star in my book.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jdw375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr_Graeme_Clark, Food & Beverage Operations Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 23 September 2011
Dear Guest

thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback following your recent stay with us.

On behalf of us all at the hotel, our condolences on your family bereavement.

I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us and obviously sympathise that you had to cut your stay short under difficult circumstances.

It's pleasing to read that you enjoyed your time in the restaurant and have also given special mention to our team who looked after you so well.

We hope to welcome you back to us in the future.

Best Wishes

Graeme Clark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tennessee
Level Contributor
76 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

The Cedar Court is located in an imposing facade that was once part of the headquarters of British rail (or so I was told). Whatever the case, it is an impressive building that is conveniently located between the train station and the old city of York. The facade gives one the impression that the rooms will be appointed in a Victorian style, but nothing could be further from the truth. The rooms are huge, with high ceilings and they are very modern. The bathroom was huge for a hotel and, interestingly, it was divided into two parts. As you entered the room through a short hallway there was a half bath (actually it was bigger than most bathrooms) and then adjacent to the bed was another large bath with the shower and tub. I particularly liked the rain shower. The breakfast buffet was excellent and it gave me a good head start on the day. The staff were very friendly and helpful, but it was clear that they weren't at the top of their game. It wasn't a big deal but I did get the impression that they needed a bit more experience, particularly since they work in such an impressive hotel. Overall, I have a very good impression of the Cedar Court and I will stay there again on my next trip to York.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glucan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr_Graeme_Clark, Food & Beverage Operations Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 22 September 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback following your recent stay with us.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay throughout and in particular liked you bedroom and the Continental Breakfast offering that is served daily in our Restaurant.

On behalf of myself and the team, we look forward to welcoming you back to us in the future.

Best Wishes
Graeme Clark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 September 2011

Reservations staff shockingly unprofessional and disorganised. It would appear they are not interested in local custom and attempt to be as unhelpful as possible. Myself and my partner attempted to make a group booking for a very special occasion. We met with a member of staff on three occasions, emailed twice, left messages at the desk on more than four occasions and it took over two months for the reservations office to get back in touch when their response was ''sorry, we are unable to offer any sort of group booking, the only rate we could offer you is the best available rack rate for the dates requested''. We had waited two months for this, put off other hotels and had set our hearts on staying there. Needless to say we are very disappointed with this hotel for leading us on and now i feel i never want to set foot in the place again. I just hope they don't do this to any body else in the future

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrJ394
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr_Graeme_Clark, Food & Beverage Operations Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 27 September 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback following your communications with our in house Reservations Team.

I am very disappointed to read of your frustrations .It is not often The Hotel receives reviews of this nature posted on to Trip Advisor.

Our in house Reservations team deal with hundreds of enquiries a week and we always try our best to deliver the highest standards of customer service.

If what you have written is correct, I am most saddened that it took this long for a member of our team to respond to your enquiry. It’s also unfortunate that the rates that you were quoted were not favourable to you personally.

On behalf of us all here at The Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa, I would like to again express our apologies that you were left feeling this unhappy and disgruntled. Please rest assured, we aspire for levels and standards of service to be 5 star and from the majority of feedback we receive both on Trip advisor and other channels, it is.

Best Wishes
Graeme Clark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston Lancs
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Really lovely hotel in a great location. Agree with everything positive written on here. It doesn't get much better than the Cedar Court Grand Hotel and York is incredible.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheDawgster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr_Graeme_Clark, Food & Beverage Operations Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 21 September 2011
Dear Guest

Thank your for taking the time to write such a fantastic review following your recent stay with us.
I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay throughout.

On behalf of myself and the rest of the team at The Grand, we look forward to welcoming you back to us in the future.

Best Wishes
Graeme Clark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 September 2011

I booked this hotel for a wedding anniversary weekend in York on the 3rd September and found it to be a great choice - I had called earlier in the week and booked a specific room which I had been advised to stay in, unfortunately when we arrived we were put into a different room so this was the only negative - I did inform the lady on reception and she did say if I was unhappy with my room I could be moved but to be honest the room we were put into was lovely so could not really complain. I had requested for Champagne and strawberrys in the room which were there on arrival along with a card from the hotel congratulating us on our anniversary which was a lovely touch as I cannot recall even telling them it was our anniversary! Staff were very professional and the hotel itself very well finished - As there is so much to do in York we really didn't spend much time in the hotel so cannot remark on the spa but when we visit again we will be making use of this - overall exactly what you would expect from a hotel of this quality

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr_Graeme_Clark, Food & Beverage Operations Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 21 September 2011
Dear Guest

Thank your for taking the time to write such a fantastic review following your recent stay with us.
My I start by giving my bleated wishes to you both on your Wedding Anniversary. I’m delighted that you chose to spend it with us.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay throughout and that you liked your room, even though it was not the specific one that you had requested. Unfortunately the hotel cannot guarantee a particular bedroom number on all occasions, however we will always do our best to cater for and accommodate any individualpreferences.

There certainly is a lot to do and see in the Historic City of York. Naturally, I do hope you have time to visit our Spa, located in the Whisper quiet vaults of the hotel on your next visit.
On behalf of myself and the rest of the team at The Grand, we look forward to welcoming you back to us in the future.

Best Wishes
Graeme Clark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

wow, now this is some hotel... the hotel chain is fortunate to have such a lovely building and boy, they have made the most of it. It oozes luxury from the moment the doormen usher you into the grand entrance. The public rooms mix luxury with cosiness, very comfortable indeed and the staff are very competent and discreet and in all the staff make you feel very welcome, very friendly and helpful. the room was lovely, and the bathrooms very well appointed with gorgeous underfloor heating in the bathrooms. The hotel owners have obviously spent a lot of money on this refurbishment and it shows... I have stayed here again on the strength of my first visit, again it lived up to my first impressions and I shall look no further than this hotel for any future stays in York.

Room Tip: email the hotel and ask for a room with a view of the walls or the minster - the staff will accommod...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scunner67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr_Graeme_Clark, Food & Beverage Operations Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 21 September 2011
Dear Guest

Thank your for taking the time to write such a fantastic review following your 2nd stay with us.
I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay throughout.

I'm pleased that you appreciated the refurbishment of the former North Eastern Railway HQ. Cedar Court Hotels worked closely with English Heritage to ensure that the building was given the love and attention it so rightfully deserves.

Thank you also for giving special mention to our team, who of course are The Grand's greatest asset.

On behalf of myself and the rest of the team at The Grand, we look forward to welcoming you back to us in the future.

Best Wishes
Graeme Clark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
1,199 reviews
1.9 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
0.1 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#10 of 46 in York
1,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.6 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#20 of 46 in York
1,467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel & Spa

Property: The Grand Hotel & Spa
Address: | Station Rise, York YO1 6HT, England (Formerly Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in York
#3 Luxury Hotel in York
#3 Family Hotel in York
#3 Romantic Hotel in York
#3 Spa Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grand Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With stunning views of the Minster and the city’s ancient walls the Grand Hotel & Spa enjoys an enviable central location as York’s only five star hotel. Built in 1906 as one of the great railway buildings of York, the hotel’s graceful Edwardian architecture is complemented with fine dining and a luxurious spa complex that features an indoor pool and treatment rooms. All 107 guest rooms are individually designed and furnished to an extremely high specification, creating an indulgent yet unpretentious environment for both leisure and business travellers. And private dining facilities, an open air roof garden and elegant function rooms, provide a plethora of unique options for events and meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Grand Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Court Grand Hotel York
Cedar Court Grand Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing