We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Hotel, Wonderful Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Ranked #6 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel, Wonderful Service”
Reviewed 31 October 2011

My partner and I stayed on saturday night and i cannot praise the hotel highly enough. We were able to drop our bags off early and they whisked the car off early too, which enabled DB and I to enjoy the pleasures of York. We returned just after 3.00 and checked in to a wonderful room with a glorious bathroom. We enjoyed the spa, the decor was fantastic and once again the staff were helpful. Fresh milk when ordered was brought to the room before the kettle boiled. The bed was huuuge and we enjoyed a good nights sleep. It is a beautiful hotel complimented with excellent staff.

Room Tip: Executive double on the fifth floor is fabulous, and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stus84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr_Graeme_Clark, Food & Beverage Operations Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 13 November 2011
Dear Guest

Thank your for taking the time to write such a fantastic review following your recent stay with us.
I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay throughout.

On behalf of myself and the rest of the team at The Grand, we look forward to welcoming you back to us in the future.

Best Wishes
Graeme Clark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,805 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,828
    620
    215
    99
    43
See reviews for
486
2,320
73
212
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (691)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Enjoyed a perfect romantic weekend away at this fantastic hotel. It may not be cheap but it is still value for money. I used to live in York and on returning after 15 years it is great to see this old office building transformed into such an elegant hotel. The sensitive way the building has been transformed is excellent - even down to retaining the original safe doors and tiled flooring in the old vaults as part of the the Spa features. Rooms are spacious and have everything you need. Staff were polite and friendly - REALY friendly, not just the false smile type of friendly you sometimes get. Lots of lovely nice little touches like complimentary his and hers toiletries left on the bed as part of the turn down service. Didn't try the food as we knew too many other nice places to eat in York. Not having on site parking is a little bit of a pain but do your research and there is a large commuter car park only 3 minutes walk away which only costs £2.50/day on a weekend and you can drop/collect luggage yourself directly at the hotel.

Location was great too - only a couple of mins walk to the centre of York will lots of bars and restaurants.

If I was to nit pick I would only have 2 things to say ( just in case hotel management are reading this ). Firstly, the bedrooms could do with what us Northerners call "A big light" - dimmed lighting is great for 99% of the time but every so often you want a bright light to apply make up etc. Secondly, whilst the bath is large and sumptious, the design meant you couldn't put the plug in or check the water temperature without actually climbing fully into the bath.

But like I said, this is nit-picking really.

There may be cheaper hotels available in York but I doubt there will be many better.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greatn0rth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr_Graeme_Clark, Food & Beverage Operations Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 13 November 2011
Dear Guest

Wow! Thank your for taking the time to write such a fantastic review following your recent stay with us.

I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay throughout. I’m glad you appreciated the modern luxury fixtures and fittings which compliment the original historic traits of the building. No stone was left unturned in converting the former Great North Easter Railway HQ in to the luxury hotel it is today.

Thank you also for giving special mention also to our team who are of course the hotels greatest asset. I will be sure to pass on your kind words to them.

I will be sure to also pass on your recommendations regarding the lighting in your bedroom and the bath tub to our Senior Management for consideration. Thank you for bringing this to light (pardon the pun).

On behalf of myself and the rest of the team at The Grand, we look forward to welcoming you back to us in the future.

Best Wishes
Graeme Clark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 October 2011

This is a fantastic Hotel. The architecture alone make this a fabulous to stay but it is enhanced by the staff. Every staff member was wonderfully polite and looked like they were proud to work there.

We had booked the cheapest room and was blown away by the decor, the plush furnishings and the beautifully in keeping with the age of the building.

We had a cocktail in the bar and it has to be one of the best ever. We had booked a meal outside the hotel but after seeing the quality of everything had wished we had stayed. It would be quite easy to have spent our whole time in this hotel, have a superb time and never York - is that a postive or negative point? It would be very easy to get distracted by the historic nature of the building, the opulence and splendor of the hotel and completely forget about visiting the sights in York!!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrewRNash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr_Graeme_Clark, Food & Beverage Operations Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 13 November 2011
Dear Guest

Wow! Thank your for taking the time to write such a fantastic review following your recent stay with us.

I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay throughout. I’m glad you appreciated the modern luxury fixtures and fittings which compliment the original historic traits of the building. No stone was left unturned in converting the former Great North Easter Railway HQ in to the luxury hotel it is today.

Thank you also for giving special mention also to our team who are of course the hotels greatest asset. I will be sure to pass on your kind words to them.

On behalf of myself and the rest of the team at The Grand, we look forward to welcoming you back to us in the future.

Best Wishes
Graeme Clark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheffield
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

My partner and I spent the weekend at the Cedar Court on 28th to 30th October 2011 and it definitely lives up to its reputation. The hotel is spotless and the staff go out of their way to assist. The bedroom was immaculate and the special touches were lovely. I would love to go back, it is definitely the best hotel in York.

Room Tip: We had a ground floor room, which some visitors had said could be noisy at night, but we never heard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sue b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr_Graeme_Clark, Food & Beverage Operations Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 13 November 2011
Dear Guest

Thank your for taking the time to write such a fantastic review following your recent stay with us.
I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay throughout.

On behalf of myself and the rest of the team at The Grand, we look forward to welcoming you back to us in the future.

Best Wishes
Graeme Clark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Stayed at this hotel for one night, girly shopping trip. Hotel was fabulous, staff were really welcoming and poilte throughout. The communal areas were very comfortable and relaxing. Rooms very luxuirious, spacious and well equipped. Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr_Graeme_Clark, Food & Beverage Operations Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 13 November 2011
Dear Guest

Thank your for taking the time to write such a fantastic review following your recent stay with us.
I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay throughout.

With the close proximity to the City Centre, we are definitively in an ideal spot for a shopping trip. Great with Christmas fast approaching!!

On behalf of myself and the rest of the team at The Grand, we look forward to welcoming you back to us in the future.

Best Wishes
Graeme Clark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Recently stayed here with the girls for an overnight break - fabulous staff couldn't be more friendly or helpful - rooms were fantastic, very good level of standards. Really comfortable and relaxed environment, and perfect location for shopping and nightlife. We didn't use room service or the spa facilities so cannot comment on those. Our room faced the busy road, so unfortunately we heard noise through the night from the revellers but nothing the hotel can do about that really - Definitely returning again!

Room Tip: Top floor rooms i heard from our companions were much quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scarlettsmum_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr_Graeme_Clark, Food & Beverage Operations Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 13 November 2011
Dear Guest

Thank your for taking the time to write such a fantastic review following your recent stay with us.

I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay throughout.

The hotel is located in a city centre and the vast majority of bedrooms do boast views of the city wall, city of York and the Minster. Naturally, some bedrooms do boast less superior views. On your next visit to us, please don’t hesitate in requesting a “room with a view” prior to arrival, I’m sure our in house Reservations team will do all that they can to accommodate this for you.
On behalf of myself and the rest of the team at The Grand, we look forward to welcoming you back to us in the future.

Best Wishes
Graeme Clark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Booked for an overnight stay and wished I booked for a week! Beautiful hotel just inside the old walls of York with a short walk to the city centre and sights. Our room was so spacious and quiet with an extremely comfortable bed / pillows and modern bathroom. The staff were excellent - friendly and informative. We did have a room service evening meal which was also excellent with prompt service and good food. Breakfast was of an equal standard. Unfortunately did not have time to take advantage of spa facilities, so cannot comment on these. Have no hesitation in recommending this hotel based on our experience.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 55White
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr_Graeme_Clark, Food & Beverage Operations Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 13 November 2011
Dear Guest

Thank your for taking the time to write such a fantastic review following your recent stay with us.

I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay throughout and it’s great that you took the opportunity of using our In Room Dining Facility. Thank you for giving special mention also to our team who are of course the hotels greatest asset. I will be sure to pass on your kind words to them.

On behalf of myself and the whole team here at The Grand, we look forward to welcoming you back to us in the future.

Best Wishes
Graeme Clark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#11 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,120 reviews
1.9 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
0.3 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,145 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 46 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel & Spa

Property: The Grand Hotel & Spa
Address: | Station Rise, York YO1 6HT, England (Formerly Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in York
#3 Romantic Hotel in York
#3 Luxury Hotel in York
#3 Family Hotel in York
#3 Spa Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grand Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With stunning views of the Minster and the city’s ancient walls the Grand Hotel & Spa enjoys an enviable central location as York’s only five star hotel. Built in 1906 as one of the great railway buildings of York, the hotel’s graceful Edwardian architecture is complemented with fine dining and a luxurious spa complex that features an indoor pool and treatment rooms. All 107 guest rooms are individually designed and furnished to an extremely high specification, creating an indulgent yet unpretentious environment for both leisure and business travellers. And private dining facilities, an open air roof garden and elegant function rooms, provide a plethora of unique options for events and meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Grand Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Court Grand Hotel York
Cedar Court Grand Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing