We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic honeymoon destination !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Ranked #6 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Newbiggin-by-the-Sea, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fantastic honeymoon destination !”
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Five star hotel, five star service and five star staff. We stayed here four nights for our honeymoon in April 2011 and it was everything we hoped it would be and more. We stayed in a deluxe room which was very spacious and had everything you could want. The staff couldn t be more helpful or polite. The service second to none from the doorman to the waiters to the " Bath Butler" . We had breakfasts in our room and in the dining room ( having something different everyday) and all four were delicous. Finishing off with a champagne afternoon tea on our departure which was a lovely way to finish off our stay.Thank you so much Cedar Court Grand for making our stay so enjoyable!!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlisonMclean_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr_Graeme_Clark, Food & Beverage Operations Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 6 January 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback following your recent with us.
I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay throughout.

It’s great to read that you took the opportunity to make us of our In Room Dining facility and also indulge in our Champagne Afternoon Tea Menu in our HQ Restaurant, the quintessentially English thing to do.

On behalf of myself and the rest of the team here at The Grand, we look forward to welcoming you back to us in the future.

Best Wishes and all the best for 2012.

Graeme Clark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,839 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,847
    627
    218
    101
    46
See reviews for
488
2,339
74
216
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (697)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
100 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Excellent stay with very few recommendations for improvement. We stayed in an Executive room which was beautiful, excellent bath, lots of space. The Spa has a great swimming pool plus sauna, jaccuzi and steam room. The bar area is lovely - expensive, as you would expect, but no more than other top end hotels.

I would like to see ipod docking stations in the rooms and I would have appreciated a complimentary morning newspaper rather than a charge on my bill, but I can't think of anything else that could have improved our experience.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikel_Arteta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr_Graeme_Clark, Food & Beverage Operations Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 6 January 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback following your recent with us.
I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay throughout.

It’s great to read also that you took the opportunity to make us of our Spa facility, located in the whisper quiet vaults of the former North East Railway HQ and also to spend some time in our Cocktail Bar.

Thank you for your recommendations / suggestions for improvement. I will pass them on to our Senior Management Team.

On behalf of myself and the rest of the team here at The Grand, we look forward to welcoming you back to us in the future.

Best Wishes and all the best for 2012.

Graeme Clark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

We stayed at the cedar court for a couple of days just before Christmas as part of the celebrations for my wife birthday and it was great.
All staff were very friendly and polite as would be expected from this level of hotel, but thought they were willing to go that little extra. The room we went for were very comfortable and well equipped, with Molton Brown products in the bathroom (under floor heated). The gym in the basement is well equipped though some may find the pool a little small.
We ate in the restaurant for Sharon’s birthday meal and the service and meal were both fantastic, very friendly waiter and wine waiter. Though centrally located you never felt rushed and the hotel was very tranquil from the madness that was Christmas shopping in York.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob_and_Sharon_Jones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr_Graeme_Clark, Food & Beverage Operations Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 6 January 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback following your recent celebratory Christmas stay with us.

I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay throughout and that your wife enjoyed her Birthday.
It’s great to read also that you took the opportunity to dine in our award winning Grill Room Restaurant and make us of our Spa facility, located in the whisper quiet vaults of the former North East Railway HQ.

On behalf of myself and the rest of the team here at The Grand, we look forward to welcoming you back to us in the future.

Best Wishes and all the best for 2012.

Graeme Clark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barton-upon-humber
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

We stayed at the Cedar court Grand for our christmas present to each other and would definitley recommend if you fancy a treat (or more often if you can afford it).
We arrived early (at lunch time) and the hotel staff were very friendly and looked after our bag and valet parked our car when we arrived as we couldnt check in until 3pm. We went round the Castle museum for a couple of hours whilst our room was ready. Our room wasn't ready until just after 4pm but we were offered complimentary tea/coffee for the wait. After check in we went in the spa for an hour or so, in the pool, sauna, steam room and jacuzzi it was lovely and went again on the following morning, hmm nice. All in all very nice.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the garden terrace and it was nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nic N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr_Graeme_Clark, Food & Beverage Operations Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 3 January 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write such a fantastic review following your recent stay with us.
I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay throughout and it’s great to hear you were looked after so well.

On behalf of myself and the rest of the team at The Grand, we look forward to welcoming you back to us in the future.

Wishing you all the best for 2012.

Graeme Clark
Food & Beverage Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

Just returned from a 3 night stay at the hotel. Lovely as always... Couldn't recommend this hotel enough we where even shown around for a possible wedding venue we where shown various room and even The penthouse wow!!!!!!

The spa treatment I had (hot stones) was excellent. We ordered room service once which was well worth the money. Also we sampled the afternoon tea which was fabolous.

The most impressive thing about this hotel is the staff.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jules8377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr_Graeme_Clark, Food & Beverage Operations Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 3 January 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write such a fantastic review following your recent stay with us.
I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay throughout.

On behalf of myself and the rest of the team at The Grand, we look forward to welcoming you back to us in the future.

Wishing you all the best for 2012.

Graeme Clark
Food & Beverage Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral
Level Contributor
79 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

Stayed at the Cedar Court Spa over New Year. Met at door and had my car taken away for valet parking. £20 a day a bit expensive but worth it as we immediately felt the five star experience. The staff were so friendly and helpful. Easy check in and the room was large with table and chairs. This was the classic room and plenty big enough. Separate toilet with sink so like a his and hers bathroom. Robes and slippers very welcome. Had the afternoon tea which is a must. Sandwiches, various cakes and pastries which was plentiful. The swimming pool and Jacuzzi is another must do. Very quiet with relaxing atmosphere. Set in the old vaults and basement so had a old world feel about it. Again, staff couldn't help enough and gave us a tour. The hotel bar has a great atmosphere. We rarely use hotel bars but couldn't keep away. Great selection of whiskey's and beers and again felt very welcome. Stayed in many hotels and this rates as one of the best. Great hotel with equally great staff. Well done.

Room Tip: Suggest a high floor as there is no double glazing and sometimes you here a few revelers shouting wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NeilWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr_Graeme_Clark, Food & Beverage Operations Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 3 January 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write such a fantastic review following your recent stay New Year with us.

I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay throughout. Thank you also for giving special mention to our team who of course all take great pride in looking after all of our guests. I will be sure to pass on your praise to them all.

On behalf of myself and the rest of the team at The Grand, we look forward to welcoming you back to us in the future.

Wishing you all the best for 2012.

Graeme Clark
Food & Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peak District - Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2011

I stopped at the Cedar Court Grand for 2 nights at the end of November 2011/beginning of December 2011 with my boyfriend. This was the best hotel I have stayed at in the UK and I cannot fault it. We have previously stayed in the Jumeira Essex in New York and although the Cedar Court Grand is a smaller size hotel than the Jumeira, the quality of service was the same and it was a very luxurious hotel.
Some of the other reviewers have stated that they thought it was a bit pricey but like most things, you get what you pay for and this is the ideal place to go for a special occasion, anniversary etc.....The room was excellent and spacious and I particularly appreciated the underfloor heating in the bathroom as it was a bit chilly outside. Although the hotel is next to a road we did not have any problems with traffic noise and our room overlooked the city wall/road outside.
You can imagine the building as it was in its heyday, and walking down the corridors to your room with the old fashioned radiators and doors, you can picture the time when the rooms were offices and people were going about their work. The staircase and landings are also fabulous, as is the underground pool/spa. I could imagine this hotel being used in an episode of Poirot. Even though the hotel has kept its communal areas in keeping with its heritage, the room was completely modern with all mod cons and lovely sash windows.
Make sure you pay a trip to the bar/lounge, even if only to marvel at the prices of some of the champagnes. Breakfast was excellent, there was plenty of choice for the buffet and we went to breakfast quite late both days. Some hotels would not have much out at the end of the breakfast time but this was not the case here.
We did not eat in the restaurant in the evening but the menu looked excellent.
I can't wait to go back there and will definitely be visiting in 2012.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mini1724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr_Graeme_Clark, Food & Beverage Operations Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 2 January 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write such a fantastic review following your recent stay with us.
I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay throughout.

On behalf of myself and the rest of the team at The Grand, we look forward to welcoming you back to us in 2012.

Best Wishes
Graeme Clark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
1,198 reviews
1.9 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
0.1 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#10 of 46 in York
1,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.6 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#20 of 46 in York
1,467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel & Spa

Property: The Grand Hotel & Spa
Address: | Station Rise, York YO1 6HT, England (Formerly Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in York
#3 Luxury Hotel in York
#3 Spa Hotel in York
#3 Family Hotel in York
#3 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grand Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With stunning views of the Minster and the city’s ancient walls the Grand Hotel & Spa enjoys an enviable central location as York’s only five star hotel. Built in 1906 as one of the great railway buildings of York, the hotel’s graceful Edwardian architecture is complemented with fine dining and a luxurious spa complex that features an indoor pool and treatment rooms. All 107 guest rooms are individually designed and furnished to an extremely high specification, creating an indulgent yet unpretentious environment for both leisure and business travellers. And private dining facilities, an open air roof garden and elegant function rooms, provide a plethora of unique options for events and meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Prestigia, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Grand Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Court Grand Hotel York
Cedar Court Grand Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing