We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Truely stunning hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Grand Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Ranked #6 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Truely stunning hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

This was a surprise trip for my partners 21st birthday and was also the first time we have stopped in a 5* hotel and i was not dissapointed. We booked for a two night stay in a classic room and from the first second the door staff/porters made you feel very welcome.
The room can only be described in one word..... Luxurious, god knows how im going to go back to premier inn's after this!
The spa facilities including the changing rooms etc were immaculate & defienelty worth a visit. The cocktails were excellent however a little pricey but i imagine the normal clientel for this hotel dont mind paying £8 for a drink.
My only complaint was the noise in the morning whcih sounded like the water system or something similar which was rather annoying This was on and off for a couple of hours but made going back to sleep at 7.30 - 9am not possible. i was going to mention it to the reception staff on our check out but the receptionist was really not interested in asking us how our stay was, just passing me the invoice and sending us on our way. I might sound a little picky but as we were waiting for the taxi the next couple to check out were asked all about there stay, any complaints, how there weekend was etc thats how i thought we should be treated and i couldnt help but feel we were not worth her time & felt like it could be a class thing? I decided not to bring up the complaint as the reception area was rather busy and didnt think there was much they could do as it was the end of our stay. A dissapointing end but i cant let one stuck up receptionist ruin what has been an excellent weekend and overall a very enjoyable stay and i do highly reccomend.

Room Tip: If you get room 207 and plan on sleeping past 8, ask for a different room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ross P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr_Graeme_Clark, Food & Beverage Operations Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write such a fantastic review following your celebratory recent stay with us.

I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay throughout and will be sure to pass on all of your feedback to our Senior Management Team.

On behalf of myself and the rest of the team at The Grand, we look forward to welcoming you back to us in the future.

Best Wishes
Graeme Clark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,677 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,733
    600
    208
    95
    41
See reviews for
470
2,244
73
202
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (668)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

We had been booked into the Hilton for the night of Sat 7th April but Quickrooms had somehow 'lost' our reservation and we were told there was no room for us and that they were fully booked. We were then told we had now been booked to stay in the Cedar Court...
Luck must have been on our side on Saturday because what an honour it is to stay at Cedar Court. We were greeted from the taxi like royalty and the receptionist who checked us in could not have been more pleasant. We were swiftly shown to our room by a friendly porter who carried our bag and on entry to the room we were offered complimentary beverages (which we declined as we were wanting to freshen up and then go out to explore). This hotel is ideally situated just a few minutes walk from the train station and the York Wheel, to one side, and then everything else in York on the other. After a lovely day/evening we retired to our room. The facilities are wonderful; huge bath, complimentary Molten Brown products, very comfortable bed, digi TV, etc, etc. The decor is stunning, lovely tall windows/ceilings, and very well designed having a separate shower/bath room to the toilet. We booked our breakfast to be delivered to our room so we didn't have to rush to get dressed and it was promptly delivered and beautifully presented.
We do wish we had packed swimming costumes so we could have tried the pool as this wasn't an option for our Hilton booking.
To be honest, there is nothing we could complain about but must say we would only book this hotel for a special occasion as unfortunately it is out of our budget, especially for this sort of one night getaway, but now we have stayed here (albeit by accident) we would love to book again and to bring our daughter this time for what would be a wonderful family stay in a hotel that truly values service.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank M4B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr_Graeme_Clark, Food & Beverage Operations Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the
time to write such a fantastic review following your celebratory recent stay with us. I’m delighted that we were able to accommodate you last minute.

It’s great to read that you enjoyed your stay throughout and appreciated the hotel’s decor and amenities.

On behalf of myself and the rest of the team at The Grand, we look forward to welcoming you back to us in the future.

Best Wishes
Graeme Clark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

Just back from a 3 night stay with my fiancé and what an absolute delight it was! We stayed in a classic room but it was by no means standard.....it had all amenities you would need, a fantastic huge bed which I had great nights sleep in, a separate bathroom ( which was a great size with an equally great sized bath), rain shower, in house coffee and tea making...but no instant coffee here, we had our own cafetiere with filter coffee which was replenished daily, flat screen tv etc etc etc, the only thing missing was an iPod dock but this is a minor point. Our separate toilet even had a huge vault door inside which was a part of the old GNR head office building that they could not alter when the bulding changed to a hotel, and it really added to the uniqueness of the room.
The staff in the hotel were exemplary and were extremely friendly, helpful and attentive without being over bearing. This showed especially in the very comfortable lounge bar, when we had a bottle of wine or champagne we never once had to reach to top up our glasses ourselves as the waiter or waitress always seemed to appear at just the right time.
We used the pool and spa facilities on the Saturday and found them very clean, luxurious and the staff were lovely. The only thing missing being maybe a costume spinner for after your dip in the pool.
After having a very disappointing meal out in York itself on the Friday night, we decided to eat in the hotel on Saturday night and the food was delicious. The steaks were perfectly cooked and the t bone my fiancé had was huge!! I had the fillet steak Rossini and mine was also perfect. We couldn't fit in a dessert so decided on coffee and home made petit fours which were delicious.
This is by no means a cheap hotel and indeed we avoided booking bed and breakfast based on other reviews about the price, so we cannot comment on that, however you get what you pay for and I believe this hotel is worth every penny. The meal we had compares to Michelin star restaurants I have dined in and was no more expensive than many of the good quality restaurants in Edinburgh city centre and that included the wine.
All in all I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel and can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EdinburghGreenpea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr_Graeme_Clark, Food & Beverage Operations Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write such a fantastic review following your celebratory recent stay with us.

I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay throughout and took the opportunity to visit our Spa and award winning Restaurant.

On behalf of myself and the rest of the team at The Grand, we look forward to welcoming you back to us in the future.

Best Wishes
Graeme Clark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

Excellent service from start to finish.
Filled in online contact form to ask some questions and was emailed answers within 5 minutes - 5 stars.
Rang up night before stay to confirm booking and found the room had been upgraded - 5 stars.
On arrival everyone very welcoming and car valet parked without any fuss. - 5 stars.
Concierge took our bags, showed us to our excellent room and explained how everything worked as well as suggesting a restaurant as not eating in hotel - 5 stars.
Forgot something in car after it was parked and Concierge went and fetched it for us - 5 stars.
Hand written card congratulating us on our anniversary in room with complimentary crisps, drinks and fruit! - 5 stars.
Missed turndown due to getting ready but when we returned it had been done - 5 stars.
Great nights sleep in excellent bed and very quiet room - 5 stars.
Check out and collection of car very efficient. - 5 stars.

Think you get the picture by now! Excellent 5 star hotel, worth the money and would happily stop again.

Room Tip: Let them know if it is a special occasion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr_Graeme_Clark, Food & Beverage Operations Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write such a fantastic review following your celebratory recent stay with us.

It’s great to read that you enjoyed your stay throughout and that your journey from start to finish was 5 stars.

On behalf of myself and the rest of the team at The Grand, we look forward to welcoming you back to us in the future.

Best Wishes
Graeme Clark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
51 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

We only stayed for one night for a spot of luxury as part of a touring break before the imminent birth of our first child and thoroughly enjoyed our experience. We were greeted by the valet service who could not have been any more welcoming and helpful (especially Alan). We chose the standard deluxe room on a dinner bed and breakfast package. The room was gorgeous and well thought out. The bed was outrageously comfortable and the furnishings very tasteful. The bathroom was my absolute favourite, it had a large tub and rainwater shower - i splashed about in there for about an hour. (I particularly loved the underfloor heating in the bathroom and toilet). The food in the restaurant was very good with occasional excellent and occasional low points. It was a strange dining room with little atmosphere though. Service was very good. The location is great and is opposite the station and is a great base to explore York from. We had a wonderfuly time and were sad to leave.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SophieW5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr_Graeme_Clark, Food & Beverage Operations Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write such a fantastic review following your celebratory recent stay with us.

I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay throughout and took the opportunity to visit our Restaurant.
Our Award Winning Grill Room Restaurant we feel has been extremely well decorated in keeping with the buildings style and class. The ambience, mood and decor of the dining room reflects this, along with views of the city wall. I’m sorry that it was not to your particular taste.

Wishing you all the best for the imminent birth of your 1st child, how very exciting!
Of course we provide cots on request so we look forward to welcoming the 3 of you back to us in the future.

Best Wishes
Graeme Clark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

I booked a break for myself and my 12 year old daughter and we had a lovely time. The hotel was fabulous the best was the pool. We visited this in the afternoon and had the pool to ourselves almost every day. Our room was large, spacious and luxurious. My only complaint would be the room was a little chilly due to the high ceilings and large windows. We didn't sample any meals at the hotel and so unable to comment. York is full however of very reasonably priced restaurants and everything was a short distance from the hotel. Be warned however the reception staff requested a credit card which they would charge with £300 which would be returned if you didn't spend that amount. I refused to pay this as I knew I wouldn't spend this amount. The staff were excellent and friendly.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shakespearefan1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr_Graeme_Clark, Food & Beverage Operations Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write such a fantastic review following your recent stay with us.

I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay throughout and took the opportunity to visit our Spa.

When any guest checks into the hotel, they are requested to present a Credit or Debit Card whether or not the accommodation is prepaid, only an amount for extras is required, however if the accommodation is not prepaid the total amount for the stay and an additional amount for extras is secured.
This is a practice that you will find in all hotels across the world, that a form of payment is established upon check in. Given the recent changes in the law and banks procedures regarding credit card thefts/frauds as much as it does not completely fit in with hospitality service, it is something that has to be done.

Thank you for paying special mention to our team. I will be sure to pass on your kind words.
On behalf of myself and the rest of the team at The Grand, we look forward to welcoming you back to us in the future.

Best Wishes
Graeme Clark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coxhoe, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

Me & my boyfriend booked this hotel for our 2 year anniversary, we were very excited about going after reading all of the reviews. When we arrived at the hotel at 11am we were told that our room wouldnt be ready until 2pm, which was fine as we were going to go shopping anyway, however when we returned at 2pm, we were told again to come after 2pm, which it was. We then came back later and checked in, we were told a £200 deposit would be taken from us because we had a debit card, not a credit card, the receptionist was very rude about this. I really felt we were being looked down upon, as if we were not good enough to be staying at the hotel, the doorman was rude & didnt seem to want us to enter the hotel & considering i was just wearing leggins, a jumper & uggs i really didnt think i looked that bad! The room was gorgeous. We had the Juniour suite, the bath & twin shower was beautiful. The bed was very comfy & the TV had good channels, however our view from the room was bad, we overlooked the bins & the entrance to a multi-store carpark, which i would not expect when paying for a Junior Suite. Overall the room was gorgeous, the facilites were great, however the experience was ruined by the staff, however i do stress it was not everyone, but a receptionist & doorman. I would not return to this hotel, and would not recommend it because i didnt feel like the way we were treated was acceptable for the money we paid.

Room Tip: make sure when booking a room you avoid the view of the multi-store carpark & bins!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lauren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr_Graeme_Clark, Food & Beverage Operations Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback following your recent celebratory stay with us. Naturally I am disappointed that you were not entirely satisfied.

Guaranteed check in time is actually 3pm which is mentioned both at the time of booking, on all confirmation letters and all 3rd party booking websites. We will always do our best to check guests in early should the bedroom be available, however due to business demands, this unfortunately is not always possible.

When a guest checks into the hotel, they are requested to present a Credit or Debit Card, the accommodation is prepaid, only an amount for extras is required, however if the accommodation is not prepaid the total amount for the stay and then an amount for extras is secured. If a Credit card is presented upon we are able to take a pre authorisation, this is then completed on check out and releases any difference in the pre authorisation, however, if a Debit card is presented, due to changes within the banks and not the hotel, any pre authorisations on a debit card will remain on the card for a period of up to 14 days, even if we complete the transaction the card holders bank will continue to hold the money. We have therefore decided it is better for the customer if we take a payment from the card and then refund any unspent amount.
This is a practice that you will find in all hotels across the world, that a form of payment is established upon check in. Given the recent changes in the law and banks procedures regarding credit card thefts/frauds, as much as it does not completely fit in with hospitality service, it is necessary.

Naturally being a city centre hotel, our bedrooms boast a wide range of views. Should any guest have a particular preference to which bedroom view they are allocated, our In House Reservations team will always endeavour to meet any individual preferences.

On behalf of myself and the team here at The Grand, I do hope that you will return to us again and leave feeling 100% satisfied. Should you decide to do this, please don’t hesitate in contacting me direct prior to your stay at graeme.clark@cedarcourtgrand.co.uk. I will do all that I can to ensure your future visit is seamless.

Best Wishes
Graeme Clark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#11 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
1.9 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
0.6 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.6 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
St Denys Hotel
St Denys Hotel
#1 of 46 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel & Spa

Property: The Grand Hotel & Spa
Address: | Station Rise, York YO1 6HT, England (Formerly Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in York
#3 Romantic Hotel in York
#3 Family Hotel in York
#3 Luxury Hotel in York
#3 Spa Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grand Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With stunning views of the Minster and the city’s ancient walls the Grand Hotel & Spa enjoys an enviable central location as York’s only five star hotel. Built in 1906 as one of the great railway buildings of York, the hotel’s graceful Edwardian architecture is complemented with fine dining and a luxurious spa complex that features an indoor pool and treatment rooms. All 107 guest rooms are individually designed and furnished to an extremely high specification, creating an indulgent yet unpretentious environment for both leisure and business travellers. And private dining facilities, an open air roof garden and elegant function rooms, provide a plethora of unique options for events and meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Prestigia, TravelUp and Odigeo so you can book your The Grand Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Court Grand Hotel York
Cedar Court Grand Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing