We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Jorvik House(York)
View Hotel
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (4,310)
Filter reviews
4,310 results
Traveller rating
3,142
714
267
120
67
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,142
714
267
120
67
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscedar courtmolton brown toiletriesturn down servicestar hotellip balmdoor staffclassic roomexecutive roomunderfloor heatingon arrivaloriginal featuressteam roomcontinental breakfastamazing hotelbeautiful buildingtrain stationbirthday treat
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3,667 - 3,672 of 4,310 reviews
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Our recent stay of four days at Cedar Court was a highlight. Very friendly and knowledgable staff. Recently refurbished and interesting building. Do not miss the ceiling rose on the second floor landing. Food great including room service. Room sublime. Location perfect, out of the main street chaos, across the road from the station and Railway Museum. Close to perfect old style service with style.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annaaa333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr_Graeme_Clark, Food & Beverage Operations Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write such a fantastic review following your recent stay with us.
I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay throughout.

Thank you also for paying special mention to our team. I will be sure to pass on your kind words.

On behalf of myself and the rest of the team here at The Grand, we look forward to welcoming you back to us in the future.

Best Wishes
Graeme Clark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

This was a surprise trip for my partners 21st birthday and was also the first time we have stopped in a 5* hotel and i was not dissapointed. We booked for a two night stay in a classic room and from the first second the door staff/porters made you feel very welcome.
The room can only be described in one word..... Luxurious, god knows how im going to go back to premier inn's after this!
The spa facilities including the changing rooms etc were immaculate & defienelty worth a visit. The cocktails were excellent however a little pricey but i imagine the normal clientel for this hotel dont mind paying £8 for a drink.
My only complaint was the noise in the morning whcih sounded like the water system or something similar which was rather annoying This was on and off for a couple of hours but made going back to sleep at 7.30 - 9am not possible. i was going to mention it to the reception staff on our check out but the receptionist was really not interested in asking us how our stay was, just passing me the invoice and sending us on our way. I might sound a little picky but as we were waiting for the taxi the next couple to check out were asked all about there stay, any complaints, how there weekend was etc thats how i thought we should be treated and i couldnt help but feel we were not worth her time & felt like it could be a class thing? I decided not to bring up the complaint as the reception area was rather busy and didnt think there was much they could do as it was the end of our stay. A dissapointing end but i cant let one stuck up receptionist ruin what has been an excellent weekend and overall a very enjoyable stay and i do highly reccomend.

Room Tip: If you get room 207 and plan on sleeping past 8, ask for a different room.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ross P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr_Graeme_Clark, Food & Beverage Operations Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write such a fantastic review following your celebratory recent stay with us.

I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay throughout and will be sure to pass on all of your feedback to our Senior Management Team.

On behalf of myself and the rest of the team at The Grand, we look forward to welcoming you back to us in the future.

Best Wishes
Graeme Clark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We had been booked into the Hilton for the night of Sat 7th April but Quickrooms had somehow 'lost' our reservation and we were told there was no room for us and that they were fully booked. We were then told we had now been booked to stay in the Cedar Court...
Luck must have been on our side on Saturday because what an honour it is to stay at Cedar Court. We were greeted from the taxi like royalty and the receptionist who checked us in could not have been more pleasant. We were swiftly shown to our room by a friendly porter who carried our bag and on entry to the room we were offered complimentary beverages (which we declined as we were wanting to freshen up and then go out to explore). This hotel is ideally situated just a few minutes walk from the train station and the York Wheel, to one side, and then everything else in York on the other. After a lovely day/evening we retired to our room. The facilities are wonderful; huge bath, complimentary Molten Brown products, very comfortable bed, digi TV, etc, etc. The decor is stunning, lovely tall windows/ceilings, and very well designed having a separate shower/bath room to the toilet. We booked our breakfast to be delivered to our room so we didn't have to rush to get dressed and it was promptly delivered and beautifully presented.
We do wish we had packed swimming costumes so we could have tried the pool as this wasn't an option for our Hilton booking.
To be honest, there is nothing we could complain about but must say we would only book this hotel for a special occasion as unfortunately it is out of our budget, especially for this sort of one night getaway, but now we have stayed here (albeit by accident) we would love to book again and to bring our daughter this time for what would be a wonderful family stay in a hotel that truly values service.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M4B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr_Graeme_Clark, Food & Beverage Operations Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2012

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the
time to write such a fantastic review following your celebratory recent stay with us. I’m delighted that we were able to accommodate you last minute.

It’s great to read that you enjoyed your stay throughout and appreciated the hotel’s decor and amenities.

On behalf of myself and the rest of the team at The Grand, we look forward to welcoming you back to us in the future.

Best Wishes
Graeme Clark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Just back from a 3 night stay with my fiancé and what an absolute delight it was! We stayed in a classic room but it was by no means standard.....it had all amenities you would need, a fantastic huge bed which I had great nights sleep in, a separate bathroom ( which was a great size with an equally great sized bath), rain shower, in house coffee and tea making...but no instant coffee here, we had our own cafetiere with filter coffee which was replenished daily, flat screen tv etc etc etc, the only thing missing was an iPod dock but this is a minor point. Our separate toilet even had a huge vault door inside which was a part of the old GNR head office building that they could not alter when the bulding changed to a hotel, and it really added to the uniqueness of the room.
The staff in the hotel were exemplary and were extremely friendly, helpful and attentive without being over bearing. This showed especially in the very comfortable lounge bar, when we had a bottle of wine or champagne we never once had to reach to top up our glasses ourselves as the waiter or waitress always seemed to appear at just the right time.
We used the pool and spa facilities on the Saturday and found them very clean, luxurious and the staff were lovely. The only thing missing being maybe a costume spinner for after your dip in the pool.
After having a very disappointing meal out in York itself on the Friday night, we decided to eat in the hotel on Saturday night and the food was delicious. The steaks were perfectly cooked and the t bone my fiancé had was huge!! I had the fillet steak Rossini and mine was also perfect. We couldn't fit in a dessert so decided on coffee and home made petit fours which were delicious.
This is by no means a cheap hotel and indeed we avoided booking bed and breakfast based on other reviews about the price, so we cannot comment on that, however you get what you pay for and I believe this hotel is worth every penny. The meal we had compares to Michelin star restaurants I have dined in and was no more expensive than many of the good quality restaurants in Edinburgh city centre and that included the wine.
All in all I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel and can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EdinburghGreenpea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr_Graeme_Clark, Food & Beverage Operations Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write such a fantastic review following your celebratory recent stay with us.

I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay throughout and took the opportunity to visit our Spa and award winning Restaurant.

On behalf of myself and the rest of the team at The Grand, we look forward to welcoming you back to us in the future.

Best Wishes
Graeme Clark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Excellent service from start to finish.
Filled in online contact form to ask some questions and was emailed answers within 5 minutes - 5 stars.
Rang up night before stay to confirm booking and found the room had been upgraded - 5 stars.
On arrival everyone very welcoming and car valet parked without any fuss. - 5 stars.
Concierge took our bags, showed us to our excellent room and explained how everything worked as well as suggesting a restaurant as not eating in hotel - 5 stars.
Forgot something in car after it was parked and Concierge went and fetched it for us - 5 stars.
Hand written card congratulating us on our anniversary in room with complimentary crisps, drinks and fruit! - 5 stars.
Missed turndown due to getting ready but when we returned it had been done - 5 stars.
Great nights sleep in excellent bed and very quiet room - 5 stars.
Check out and collection of car very efficient. - 5 stars.

Think you get the picture by now! Excellent 5 star hotel, worth the money and would happily stop again.

Room Tip: Let them know if it is a special occasion.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ben L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr_Graeme_Clark, Food & Beverage Operations Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write such a fantastic review following your celebratory recent stay with us.

It’s great to read that you enjoyed your stay throughout and that your journey from start to finish was 5 stars.

On behalf of myself and the rest of the team at The Grand, we look forward to welcoming you back to us in the future.

Best Wishes
Graeme Clark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews