We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely stay in a "Grand" Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Ranked #7 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 May 2012

We had a very enjoyable one night stay at the hotel and were extremely impressed overall. As we were travelling by train the position of the hotel was ideal. The Hotel is in a beautiful spacious old building and we were pleasantly surprised with the size of our room. Lovely comfy bed, sitting area and great size bathroom. We had stayed at a 5* hotel in Edinburgh the previous day but our room at Cedar Court was far superior and at half the cost. All staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Little touches such as fresh milk for your tea, teapot to make it in, fresh coffee and filter were very welcome enabling you to have a decent "cuppa" in the comfort of your room.

Two small negatives, which had we been staying for longer, we would have raised. Firstly the room was a little drafty and cold when the curtains were open and secondly we were woken up at 7.30 by the sound of a delivery lorry reversing, that high pitch warning sound, at the back of the hotel where our room was situated.

Our only regret was the length of our stay as we wished we had been staying for longer.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lucindarose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr_Graeme_Clark, Food & Beverage Operations Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review following your recent stay with us.
I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay throughout, in particular your bedroom and the attentiveness of our professional and dedicated team.

I will be sure to pass on your other feedback to our Senior Management Team.
On behalf of myself and the rest of the team here at The Grand, we look forward to welcoming you back to us in the future.

Best Wishes
Graeme Clark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,096)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,416 - 3,422 of 4,096 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2012

Hi,

Last weekend we stayed in this beautiful hotel in York for a friends wedding. The reception and service throughout the day was faultless and the wedding experience was enjoyed by all that attended. Having never stayed in this hotel before I would thoroughly recommend it. Hotels are expensive in York as a rule yet by paying that little extra you really do feel like it is a different class to other high end chains. Huge rooms with elegant fixtures and fittings. A great treat for someone special.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Weekendbreakjunky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr_Graeme_Clark, Food & Beverage Operations Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review following your recent stay with us.
I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay throughout, in particular your bedroom and the wedding celebration that you attended.

On behalf of myself and the rest of the team here at The Grand, we look forward to welcoming you back to us in the future.

Best Wishes
Graeme Clark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2012

We have just returned from an overnight stay at this hotel as a treat for my birthday ,the staff were very freindly and couldnt do enough for you ,our room was very comfortable with a very spacious bathroom . we used the spa and had a treatment each which we could not fault .the surroundings were amazing and again the girls in spa were first class . we only had our breakfast at hotel which was continental but offered everything you could possibly want . The hotel is an excellent location and only minutes walk from train station and the centre , Overall fantastic hotel with excellent staff and amenities , would definatly recomend it

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ceri s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr_Graeme_Clark, Food & Beverage Operations Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review following your recent stay with us.
I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay throughout, in particular your bedroom, bathroom, breakfast and time spent having treatments in our Spa. I will be sure to pass on your kind words to our team.

On behalf of myself and the rest of the team here at The Grand, we look forward to welcoming you back to us in the future.

Best Wishes
Graeme Clark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2012 via mobile

What a lovely stay in York. The hotel couldn't do enough for us. Molton Brown products in bathroom that were replaced as soon as you had used them. Elegant room and bathroom, we were even upgraded to an execute suite on arrival. Didn't use the spa but I'm sure it would have been lovely. Lovely meal in restaurant although drinks were very expensive in bar but such a lovely setting while having a drink. Location was brilliant, short 5 min walk into York centre, shambles etc. Staff were lovely, always at your beck and call. Couldn't fault it, highly recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LouJ82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr_Graeme_Clark, Food & Beverage Operations Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review following your recent stay with us.

I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay throughout, in particular your bedroom, bathroom and time spent in our Restaurant and Cocktail Bar.
We compare all of our beverage charges across the board regularly with other luxury hotels within the county and country to remain competitive. W e are a 5 star establishment so with that, the cost of implementing high service standards and quality is reflected in our prices.

On behalf of myself and the rest of the team here at The Grand, we look forward to welcoming you back to us in the future.

Best Wishes
Graeme Clark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

Myself and my partner stopped here as a birthday celebration, the building is beautiful and the bar area is truely stunning, The staff were extremely helpful and couldn't do enough for us. We didn't dine at the hotel as we were meeting friends in York but the menu looked wonderful and reasonably priced (£30 for T-bone steak). We came back to the bar area for drinks and although they are expensive (£10 a cocktail) I suppose this is what you would expect in a 5 star hotel.
The bedroom was hugh and the bed was massive...overall a very positive experience.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Prickley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr_Graeme_Clark, Food & Beverage Operations Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review following your recent stay with us.
I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay throughout, in particular your time spent in our Cocktail Bar. We have recently started a Cocktail of the month promotion. This month’s cocktail is Strawberry & Lychee Martini priced very reasonably at £8.50.

On behalf of myself and the rest of the team here at The Grand, we look forward to welcoming you back to us in the future.

Best Wishes
Graeme Clark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2012

we stayed in this hotel almost by mistake, booking the room there through internet. We stayed in the hotel with the similar name last year but obviously confused something...Anyway, it was a surprise when navigation system brought as there and absolutely glad when saw our room number 8....the room is great: big with a lot of functional space, warm, comfortable with everything necessary to chill out...the bath deserves special attention: big, comfortable, again with all stuff to have a nice bath or shower, heated floor, tv sound in case you want to listen to it...Breakfast was brilliant as well..
the only problem with room, that in the morning we heard the running water, but we couldnt realise whether it is from the bath of our neigbours or some other source. Anyway we decided that next time we'll stay again in the hotel and try spa offer.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr_Graeme_Clark, Food & Beverage Operations Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review following your recent stay with us.
I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay throughout, in particular your bedroom, bathroom and time spent in our Restaurant.

On behalf of myself and the rest of the team here at The Grand, we look forward to welcoming you back to us in the future.

Best Wishes
Graeme Clark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2012

The lobby was more cramped than one would expect from a 5 star hotel, but the rest of the amenities were perfect with several lounges to choose from, but only one restaurant. Our room (standard twin) was spacious with a nice little sitting area and - very luxurious - separate bathroom and toilet. 3 huge windows but no views. Decor is rather dull, but very smart. NB - there is no hotel car parking, but the valet parking (extra charge) works very smoothly. Breakfast was first class. Food in the restaurant was pricey but tasty, interesting and very well presented. Staff were all very friendly and helpful and service was good throughout.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the city walls or you'll get no view at all hotel is closely surrounded by off...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank familybrosel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr_Graeme_Clark, Food & Beverage Operations Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review following your recent stay with us.
I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay throughout, in particular your bedroom and time spent in our Restaurant.

I’m sorry that our Lobby area was not to your personal liking. The size of a hotel’s lobby is not relevant to its overall grading, whatever the number of stars. With original stone walls, marble tiled flooring and chandelier lighting, most would agree that this area to the Grade 2 listed building is most welcoming and luxurious and is more than adequate for the hotel’s overall size. Again, I am sorry it was not to your personal liking.

On behalf of myself and the rest of the team here at The Grand, we look forward to welcoming you back to us in the future.

Best Wishes
Graeme Clark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
1.9 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
0.6 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 47 in York
1,458 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#12 of 47 in York
1,468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
671 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#39 of 47 in York
2,949 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#18 of 47 in York
1,543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel & Spa

Address: | Station Rise, York YO1 6HT, England (Formerly Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in York
#3 Romantic Hotel in York
#3 Spa Hotel in York
#4 Luxury Hotel in York
Price Range: £143 - £356 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grand Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With stunning views of the Minster and the city’s ancient walls the Grand Hotel & Spa enjoys an enviable central location as York’s only five star hotel. Built in 1906 as one of the great railway buildings of York, the hotel’s graceful Edwardian architecture is complemented with fine dining and a luxurious spa complex that features an indoor pool and treatment rooms. All 107 guest rooms are individually designed and furnished to an extremely high specification, creating an indulgent yet unpretentious environment for both leisure and business travellers. And private dining facilities, an open air roof garden and elegant function rooms, provide a plethora of unique options for events and meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com, Lastminute, Expedia, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Grand Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Court Grand Hotel And Spa
Cedar Court Grand Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing