We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Nice but good Value?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Ranked #5 of 45 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
East Cheshire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Very Nice but good Value?”
Reviewed 10 May 2012

Stayed here last night and from the concierge parking to settling in the room was perfect. Found the room a little tired for the £199 it cost it could do with a little updating and the white gloss was peeling in several places.

Having said that the bathroom and toilet were exceptional with underfloor heating a nice touch. Also very quiet which I really like -no need.

Everything else was first class and a special mention for Grill Room, both dinner and bf were excellent, in fact my wife said it was the best steak she had had in years.
Like a previous contributor we walked around York looking for somewhere for dinner and found them mostly underwhelming and touristy so we returned to the hotel for dinner and glad we did.

Check out and car return were very smooth and the young lady receptionist on at 10.30 ish on 10th May deserves a mention, dealt with problems decisively and pleasantly, an asset.

Concierge service also warrants a mention, first class at all times.

Had it not been for the tired decor as the room was potentially outstanding, it would have got a five and £199 was a reduced price!

Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gettingitspent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr_Graeme_Clark, Food & Beverage Operations Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 11 May 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review following your recent stay with us.
I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay throughout, in particular our award winning Grill Room Restaurant and ever efficient Concierge service.

All of our bedrooms are decorated to the highest of standards so I am very surprised to hear otherwise. The refurbishment was only completed 2 years ago. I would more than welcome direct contact at graeme.clark@cedarcourtgrand.co.uk to give me some additional information i.e. the room number you stayed in so we can check this and rectify immediately.

On behalf of myself and the rest of the team here at The Grand, we look forward to welcoming you back to us in the future.

Best Wishes
Graeme Clark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,740 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,783
    609
    211
    96
    41
See reviews for
481
2,282
73
207
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (679)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brigg, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2012

Beautiful hotel only a short walk away from centre of York. Fantastic staff from the door men, cleaners to Spa staff who all engage with you and extremely helpful. We were in Classic ( basic ) room which was very spacious and great facilities. Only problem was single glass window and we heard the noisy revellers at night around 11am. So will ask for room facing the back. Pool beautiful and the warmest we have been in with a jet to power swim against. Dinner nice. Will be coming back.

Room Tip: Choose upstairs or not facing front
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ajv14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr_Graeme_Clark, Food & Beverage Operations Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 11 May 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review following your recent stay with us.
I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay throughout, in particular our luxurious Spa and award winning Grill Room Restaurant. Thank you also for paying special mention to our passionate and dedicated team who are of course the hotel’s best asset.

On behalf of myself and the rest of the team here at The Grand, we look forward to welcoming you back to us in the future.

Best Wishes
Graeme Clark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012

I can't fault the room, the service or the facilites, we had an enjoyable 2 night stay in the hotel.

Only slight negative for me was the enormous building site 20ft from the front door of the hotel, If I had been given a front facing room I doubt my reveiw would be this good...

Room Tip: Ask if the building work is still going on?
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank k8vmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr_Graeme_Clark, Food & Beverge Operations Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 11 May 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review following your recent stay with us.
I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay throughout and had time to make use of the Hotel’s facilities.

The building work on the adjacent building on one side of the hotel is due for completion soon, however I cannot be specific with a date. Obviously the work being carried out is out of our control so I hope it didn’t affect your stay too much.

On behalf of myself and the rest of the team here at The Grand, we look forward to welcoming you back to us in the future.

Best Wishes
Graeme Clark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ma
Level Contributor
206 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012

We stayed in an upgraded room. It was expensive but well worth it as a special treat. The staff was exceptional. Always anxious to help with anything, no request was too small or large. Our room was gigantic with a lovely sitting area. Breakfast was plentiful and a large variety of foods. A complementary tea tray was brought to our room on arrival. It is a 10 min walk to most of the tourist attractions.Only advice don't have afternoon tea there. Expensive and not very good poor selection of mediocre food.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank courtney106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr_Graeme_Clark, Food& Beverage Operations Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 11 May 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review following your recent stay with us.
I’m delighted you mostly enjoyed your stay throughout, paying special mention to our team who looked after you so well.

I’m sorry to read that you did not like our popular afternoon tea service which we usually receive positive feedback on. If you would like to be more specific with your comments, please don’t hesitate to contact me at graeme.clark@cedarcourtgrand.co.uk.

On behalf of myself and the rest of the team here at The Grand, we look forward to welcoming you back to us in the future.

Best Wishes
Graeme Clark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
county durham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 May 2012

What a fantastic place, I personally could not fault one thing about this hotel! Stayed in room 502 executive double suite, it was outstanding. Thanks to all the staff who were superb. Did not use the spa hence why I have not rated it.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CountyDurhamJools
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr_Graeme_Clark, Food & Beverage Operations Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 11 May 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review following your recent stay with us.
I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay throughout, paying special mention to our team who looked after you so well.

On behalf of myself and the rest of the team here at The Grand, we look forward to welcoming you back to us in the future.

Best Wishes
Graeme Clark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

Stayed on a laterooms.com situation for one sunday night this week - £129 instead of £300 (would never have paid that for the "classic" room we had though)
Parking £20 but they park it and look after you - no real lurking for a tip either which is good.

Reception etc very smooth and considerate.
Room size - poor - Room 409

Could not open windows - aircon -so woke with a sore throat etc...... They did try to open the windows but obviously could not - but they did make sure the room was cooler.

Pillows too puffy so wife woke early morning with a sore neck.

Bathroom brill - possibly never been used, and had a lovely double shower with those downward showerheads.

No tea and coffee or view so had to go downstairs to pay their prices for one in the bar. And only half a teapotful of water!

Pool fine - steam and sauna fine - changing has rotting doors.

Fruit was nice and shiny!

Would I return - only if I had a different room.

Room Tip: maybe turn down room 409?
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank baldyteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr_Graeme_Clark, Food & Beverage Operations Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review following your recent stay with us.
I’m delighted that overall you enjoyed your stay throughout.
In response to your comments:

Car Parking:
Valet parking of guest vehicles from our concierge is part of our service and does incorporate the 3rd party charges passed onto us from the car park.
The Hotel is conveniently located a stones throw away from the station, walking distance to the city centre and a short bus / taxi ride to the race course. Perhaps on your next visit to York, a train could be an alternative mode of transport for you to utilise as car parking charges in any city centre are usually high.

Bedroom:
As one of our classic (standard) rooms, the room in particular that you stayed in fell under this category. Of course we do have much large bedrooms within the hotel as we have a wide variety of room types. For your future consideration should you return to us, the Hotel is a Grade 2 listed building and was the Head Quarters of The Great North Eastern Railway. Therefore, there are bedrooms which fall under the same category which do range very slightly in layout / size etc. Had you been in any way disappointed with the size of your room, our team would have happily looked at rectifying this for you had you brought it to our attention at the time.

Windows:
We are aware that some bedrooms have windows that do not open for health and safety reasons, however there are windows in every room that do. Again, should you wish to return to us, please e-mail me prior at graeme.clark@cedarcourtgrand.co.uk and I will personally oversee your reservation to ensure you are allocated a different bedroom.
I’m sorry to hear that our pillows were not to your wife’s personal preference. All of our bedding is relatively new so the majority of guests who stay with us have a very good nights sleep which is of course primary in any hotel. Again, when we know you will be returning, please mention this at the time and we can arrange an alternative pillow for your wife.

In Room Facilities:
All 107 of our bedrooms cater for tea and fresh ground filter coffee which are usually located next to the mini bar. Should you have notified us of this at the time, a member of our team could have pointed this out to you or alternatively offered to send you some to your room via room service.

On behalf of myself and the rest of the team here at The Grand, we look forward to welcoming you back to us in the future and give us the opportunity to correct the matter which you have raised.

Best Wishes
Graeme Clark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

Again had the pleasure of staying at the Cedar Court Grand, it was mid week and very busy, but everything worked as if it was quiet, beautiful room that was very clean, and everything worked properly, nothing tired or broken, the building is superb inside, with an excellent spa, the decor calms you as you enter, everyone from the front door to the bar was excellent, I can't comment on the restaurant food, but if it is anything like the breakfast, then it will be good, if your looking for a treat, this is very good.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ericuu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr_Graeme_Clark, Food & Beverage Operations Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review following your recent stay with us.
I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay throughout, especially your breakfast, time spent in the bar and the hotel’s decor.

On behalf of myself and the rest of the team here at The Grand, we look forward to welcoming you back to us in the future.

Best Wishes
Graeme Clark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#11 of 45 in York
1,044 reviews
1.9 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
0.3 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 45 in York
1,087 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
St Denys Hotel
St Denys Hotel
#1 of 45 in York
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel & Spa

Property: The Grand Hotel & Spa
Address: | Station Rise, York YO1 6HT, England (Formerly Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in York
#2 Spa Hotel in York
#3 Luxury Hotel in York
#3 Family Hotel in York
#3 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grand Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With stunning views of the Minster and the city’s ancient walls the Grand Hotel & Spa enjoys an enviable central location as York’s only five star hotel. Built in 1906 as one of the great railway buildings of York, the hotel’s graceful Edwardian architecture is complemented with fine dining and a luxurious spa complex that features an indoor pool and treatment rooms. All 107 guest rooms are individually designed and furnished to an extremely high specification, creating an indulgent yet unpretentious environment for both leisure and business travellers. And private dining facilities, an open air roof garden and elegant function rooms, provide a plethora of unique options for events and meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Grand Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Court Grand Hotel York
Cedar Court Grand Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing