We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Ranked #6 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Simply perfect”
Reviewed 12 September 2012

Me and my wife celebrated our 11th wedding anniversary, it was absolutely wonderful , thanks to everyone in the hotel who made our stay very enjoyable. Stress buster treatment in the spa was out of this world. Thank you

Room Tip: Executive room is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erkan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr_Graeme_Clark, Food & Beverage Operations Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 15 September 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write such a fantastic review following your recent anniversary stay with us.

I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay throughout, especially your treatments in our Spa.

Thank you also for paying special mention tom our hard working & dedicated team who are of course the hotel’s best asset.

On behalf of myself and the rest of the team here at The Grand, we look forward to welcoming you back to us in the future.


Best Wishes
Graeme Clark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,844 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,850
    628
    219
    101
    46
See reviews for
489
2,343
74
216
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (698)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Teesside
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2012

We stayed at the Cedar Court Grand for one night as a wedding anniversary treat. I booked it as I loved the look of the spa facilities and the fact it was walking distance to town and to our favourite restaurant 'Del Rios'. The hotel is beautiful, we were in a standard room which was huge! I had requested a dvd player for our room so we could watch our wedding dvd and it was not a problem at all, it was there when we arrived. Love the period features and the decor of the hotel, the staff were very friendly and helpful. We booked spa treatments which were amazing, I had the yummy mummy package and felt fabulous afterwards, very relaxing. We were disappointed that the steam room and jacuzzi were out of order while we were there which was a shame. We didn't eat at the hotel so I can't comment on the food or restaurant but we did have drinks in the hotel bar before bed, I had a non alcoholic cocktail and it was delicious, the bar staff were, again, very welcoming and professional. All in all we had a great stay here.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jee21Teesside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr_Graeme_Clark, Food & Beverage Operations Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 15 September 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write such a fantastic review following your recent anniversary stay with us.

I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay throughout, in particular your time spent in our Spa having treatments and cocktails in our Cocktail Bar.

I’m sorry that 2 of our facilities within the spa were not functioning. It’s uncommon for anything not to function so 2 going down at once is extremely bad luck. Unfortunately modern technology can sometimes fail us.

Thank you also for paying special mention to our hard working & dedicated team who are of course the hotel’s best asset. I

On behalf of myself and the rest of the team here at The Grand, we look forward to welcoming you back to us in the future.

Best Wishes
Graeme Clark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
166 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012

Very impressed with this beautiful building and with the level of service on our one night stay. We were upgraded on our arrival but moved rooms as there was some problem with the tap in our original room. The second room was just as nice, although it was clearly a room for the disabled as the wash basin was very low down and the shower was over the bath. This did not detract from our enjoyment.The bed was fantastically comfortable and the television bigger than the one in our sitting room! The pool area was very clean and well- managed, although I did not experience the spa. The friendliness of all staff added to the five star feeling.Fabulous!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eliza B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr_Graeme_Clark, Food & Beverage Operations Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 12 September 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write such a fantastic review following your recent stay with us.
I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay throughout, especially your time spent in our Award Winning Spa.

Thank you also for paying special mention to our dedicated team who are of course the hotel’s best asset. I’ll be sure to relay your kind words.

On behalf of myself and the rest of the team here at The Grand, we look forward to welcoming you back to us in the future.

Best Wishes
Graeme Clark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012

In celebration of al friends 40 s birthday , we decided to take a day trip to York Races combined with a stay over at the Cedar Court Grand.
From the moment we arrived, the service and attention of the hotel team was exemplary. From the valet parking when we arrived to the warm conversation from the waitress at breakfast, nothing was too much trouble.
The food was first class in the Grill Room on the Saturday evening and the team in the bar when we arrived early Saturday morning were more than happy to take our orders for our obligatory pre race meeting bacon sandwiches - which by the way were the best we've ever tasted!
The team in the spa were very accomodating and more than happy for us to use the changing facilities to get ready for the races which made a pleasant and relaxing start to the day. We followed up our visit to the sap the following morning and thoroughly enjoyed the first class facilities on offer.
We haven't even touched on the amazing bedrooms. All one can say is WOW!

We certainly recommend the experience to our friends and family and we look forward to coming back same time next year!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr_Graeme_Clark, Food & Beverage Operations Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 12 September 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write such a fantastic review following your recent Birthday stay with us.

I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay throughout, in particular your time spent in our Award Winning Restaurant.

Thank you also for paying special mention to our dedicated team who are of course the hotel’s best asset. I’ll be sure to relay your kind words.

On behalf of myself and the rest of the team here at The Grand, we look forward to welcoming you back to us in the future.

Best Wishes
Graeme Clark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012 via mobile

Beautiful hotel. Service perfection from start to finish. Only issue I had was the decor of the room is very masculine which disappointed me but the husband loved it. That said it was in keeping with the historical context of the building.

Restaurant service was fantastic and breakfast a joy , served to you rather than the Michael McIntyre sketch that most hotels seem to prefer ( the buffet) which has it's place but not here.

The bar is sophisticated yet cosy , this is a five star hotel so expect the prices ! Those who who whinge about the prices should not avail themselves of a five star hotel or failing that go the the pub up the road.

Would definitely return. If only for the joy of the guys on the valet and concierge service who were so friendly and helpful .

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katelizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr_Graeme_Clark, Food & Beverage Operations Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 12 September 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write such a fantastic review following your recent stay with us.
I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay throughout, in particular your time spent in our Award Winning Restaurant.

Thank you also for paying special mention to our dedicated team who are of course the hotel’s best asset. I’ll be sure to relay your kind words.

I’m not sure exactly what you are referring to when you have described the decor of our rooms as masculine and have certainly never had anyone describe them as that before, however if you would like to be more specific, I’d love to hear from you – graeme.clark@cedarcourtgrand.co.uk

On behalf of myself and the rest of the team here at The Grand, we look forward to welcoming you back to us in the future.

Best Wishes
Graeme Clark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

The hotel is beautiful, the staff friendly, the room was stunning (we were upgraded - which always pleases me!). A thoroughly lovely time was had, the building is stunning, with well maintained original features. the bedding, towels all bery high quality. Afternoon tea delicious. Great for special occasions and a bit of luxury. Would highly recommend. Thank you.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lacora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr_Graeme_Clark, Food & Beverage Operations Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 11 September 2012
Dear Guest

thank you for taking the time to write this great review following your recent stay with us. I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay throughout, in particular the decor and interiors of the building and your bedroom.

It's great to read also that you took the opportunity to have afternoon tea in our Restaurant. Again, I'm pleased that you enjoyed the experience and will pass on your kind words to our team.

On behalf of myself and the rest of the team here at The Grand, we look forward to welcoming you back to us in the future.

Best Wishes
Graeme Clark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2012

I booked this hotel after reading the reviews on here and I have to say it was excellent.
We arrived to a most jolly and helpful doorman who immediately unloaded our case and valet parked our car. The reception staff were so helpful and polite infomed us that we had been ungraded which was lovely. Our case arrived in our room in double quick time and we were offered a tour of our room and tea or coffees if we wanted. Our room was beautiful, the bathroom exceptionally clean, as was the whole hotel, and full of Molton Brown goodies, which I use at home, so I was delighted. The bed was the most comfortable I have ever slept in, there were huge fluffy towels, and dressing robes. We had a pre-dinner drink at the bar which was expensive ( but then we did have champagne! ) but you do always expect hotel bar prices to be higher. We enjoyed a perfect nights sleep, so quiet, and went to breakfast which was delicious... I had only booked the continential which was more than enough for us, there were fresh fruits, homemade fresh yoghurts, smoked fish, meats, cheese and cereals, toast and all the usual stuff. The staff were most helpful and we received excellent service from all of the staff we came into contact with - they couldn't do enough to help. It is a real pleasure to have found a hotel where the doors are opened for you and you are greeted with a cheery word and a smile everytime you come in. The concierge was also most helpful in giving us directions for our onward journey. I think this hotel given its perfect location, wonderful service and luxurious feel is great value for money. I have stayed in hotels where I have paid nearly double the price we paid for this and not received anywhere near the service we received here. I will definitely stay here again on our next trip to York.

Room Tip: We were on the fourth floor which was beautiful and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tourer22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr_Graeme_Clark, Food & Beverage Operations Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 9 September 2012
Dear Guest

Wow! Thank you for taking the time to write such a fantastic review following your recent stay with us.

I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay throughout, including your bedroom and breakfast the following morning.

On behalf of myself and the rest of the team here at The Grand, we look forward to welcoming you back to us in the future.

Best Wishes
Graeme Clark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
1,205 reviews
1.9 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
0.1 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#10 of 46 in York
1,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.6 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#20 of 46 in York
1,467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel & Spa

Property: The Grand Hotel & Spa
Address: | Station Rise, York YO1 6HT, England (Formerly Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in York
#3 Spa Hotel in York
#3 Romantic Hotel in York
#3 Family Hotel in York
#3 Luxury Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grand Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With stunning views of the Minster and the city’s ancient walls the Grand Hotel & Spa enjoys an enviable central location as York’s only five star hotel. Built in 1906 as one of the great railway buildings of York, the hotel’s graceful Edwardian architecture is complemented with fine dining and a luxurious spa complex that features an indoor pool and treatment rooms. All 107 guest rooms are individually designed and furnished to an extremely high specification, creating an indulgent yet unpretentious environment for both leisure and business travellers. And private dining facilities, an open air roof garden and elegant function rooms, provide a plethora of unique options for events and meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your The Grand Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Court Grand Hotel York
Cedar Court Grand Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing