We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply wonderful!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Ranked #7 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 September 2012

The staff at this hotel went out of their way to make our 1st wedding anniversary celebrations extra special, with a complimentary room upgrade, complimentary drinks and treats placed in our room upon arrival...what more do I need to say?

With tastefully decorated spacious rooms, delicious food, a wonderful city centre location and welcoming staff, this hotel in my opinion is a cut above the rest. In addition, this hotel has gone all out to source the best of everything, from the Molton Brown toiletries to the bouquet of flowers delivered to our room the morning of our anniversary, every detail has been thoughtfully considered.

Our only regret was not having enough time to visit the spa (so I'm unable to comment about that), there's always next time though =)

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrs_G_Forshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr_Graeme_Clark, Food & Beverage Operations Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write such a fantastic review following your 1st anniversary stay with us.

I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay throughout and that you appreciated the efforts our team went to in making the experience so memorable for you.

On behalf of myself and the rest of the team here at The Grand, we look forward to welcoming you back to us in the future.

Best Wishes
Graeme Clark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,093)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,214 - 3,220 of 4,093 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2012

Stayed here last weekend with my boyfriend and the room was absolutely fabulous with the comfiest bed I have ever stayed in. We had an executive room which was plenty big enough and featured his and hers sink and his and hers showers with a great sunken bath. We were amazed at the speakers in the bathroom and the heated floor. Everything about the room was perfect including the chocolate and Molton Brown gift bag by boyfriend had put in the room. Graham who showed us to our room was lovely and the night time turn down service was a lovely touch. We had afternoon and ate in the hotels restaurant, both were excellent with great service. The spa is lovely to relax in after a busy day exploring York and we had the whole pool to ourselves which was a real bonus. We were really sad to leave and it made our engagement weekend even more special. Will definitely be back to this hotel, you can see why it is the only 5 star hotel in Yorkshire.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EleMcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr_Graeme_Clark, Food & Beverage Operations Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write such a fantastic review following your recent celebratory stay with us. Many congratulations on your engagement!!

I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay throughout, especially your time spent in our award winning Spa and Restaurant for Afternoon Tea.

On behalf of myself and the rest of the team here at The Grand, we look forward to welcoming you back to us in the future.

Best Wishes
Graeme Clark

Ps, we cater for wedding parties too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

We booked the hotel as a first wedding anniversary treat, and were unsure what to find as the hotel is reasonably new. But we were quite simply blown away from start to finish by everything, from our greeting by the conceirge, to the wonderful valet parking, the historical tour of the hotel and of our bedroom. Nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff, they were all totally professional and courteous at all times, they made you feel like friends, and would do anything to help and accomodate us. It was total indulgent luxury from start to finish, words fail me, the hotel was stunning, the spa was stunning, the rooms were beautiful. The perfect place to spend a long weekend. We will certainly be returning to our favourite hotel again. It was unbeatable.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dano1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr_Graeme_Clark, Food & Beverage Operations Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write such a fantastic review following your 1st anniversary stay with us.

I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay throughout, especially your time spent in the Spa and the hospitality you received from our team.

On behalf of myself and the rest of the team here at The Grand, we look forward to welcoming you back to us in the future.

Best Wishes
Graeme Clark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012

Absolutely fantastic hotel.Really warm and friendly staff made me and my wife very welcome.The rooms were beautiful with all the comfort you expect from a 5 star hotel.Valet parking available which is 20 pound but at least you know your car is safe.Would definitely recommend!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank freshasapolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr_Graeme_Clark, Food & Beverage Operations Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write such a fantastic review following your recent anniversary stay with us. I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay throughout.

Thank you also for paying special mention tom our hard working & dedicated team who are of course the hotel’s best asset.

On behalf of myself and the rest of the team here at The Grand, we look forward to welcoming you back to us in the future.

Best Wishes
Graeme Clark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012

Every experience we had at the hotel was fantastic, including spa treatments and facilities, the room and the restaurant! I would highly reccomemt this hotel to anyone who is looking for a luxurious weekend away in a beautiful city! I stayed at the hotel for a surprise off my boyfriend for my birthday and everything was brilliant from flowers and chocolates arranged for me in the room to a fantastic experience at the spa not forgetting the lovely meal and breakfast at the grill room! Best get saving for another stay! :)

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saz53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr_Graeme_Clark, Food & Beverage Operations Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write such a fantastic review following your recent stay with us.
I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay throughout, especially your time spent in our award winning Spa and Grill Room Restaurant.

On behalf of myself and the rest of the team here at The Grand, we look forward to welcoming you back to us in the future.

Best Wishes
Graeme Clark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012

Treated my lovely wife to a visit to York for her birthday and stayed at the Cedar Court Grand hotel. Tremnedous from start to finish. The bedroom, spacious and comfortable, great breakfasts, superb dinner in he dining room, excellent service and wonderful Spa. Also they have kept some of the fine old touches from being the former Railway Headquarters in York.
Plenty to see and do in York and excellent location.
Thoroughly recommend. Regards Gary Saunders

Room Tip: I imagine they would all be great rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr_Graeme_Clark, Food & Beverage Operations Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write such a fantastic review following your recent celebratory stay with us.

I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay throughout, especially your time spent in our award winning Spa and Grill Room Restaurant.

On behalf of myself and the rest of the team here at The Grand, we look forward to welcoming you back to us in the future.

Best Wishes
Graeme Clark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012

Me and my wife celebrated our 11th wedding anniversary, it was absolutely wonderful , thanks to everyone in the hotel who made our stay very enjoyable. Stress buster treatment in the spa was out of this world. Thank you

Room Tip: Executive room is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erkan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr_Graeme_Clark, Food & Beverage Operations Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write such a fantastic review following your recent anniversary stay with us.

I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay throughout, especially your treatments in our Spa.

Thank you also for paying special mention tom our hard working & dedicated team who are of course the hotel’s best asset.

On behalf of myself and the rest of the team here at The Grand, we look forward to welcoming you back to us in the future.


Best Wishes
Graeme Clark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
1.9 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
0.6 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,457 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#12 of 47 in York
1,464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
669 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#39 of 47 in York
2,947 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#17 of 47 in York
1,543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel & Spa

Address: | Station Rise, York YO1 6HT, England (Formerly Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in York
#3 Family Hotel in York
#3 Spa Hotel in York
#3 Romantic Hotel in York
#4 Luxury Hotel in York
Price Range: £142 - £359 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grand Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With stunning views of the Minster and the city’s ancient walls the Grand Hotel & Spa enjoys an enviable central location as York’s only five star hotel. Built in 1906 as one of the great railway buildings of York, the hotel’s graceful Edwardian architecture is complemented with fine dining and a luxurious spa complex that features an indoor pool and treatment rooms. All 107 guest rooms are individually designed and furnished to an extremely high specification, creating an indulgent yet unpretentious environment for both leisure and business travellers. And private dining facilities, an open air roof garden and elegant function rooms, provide a plethora of unique options for events and meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Lastminute, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Prestigia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Grand Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Court Grand Hotel And Spa
Cedar Court Grand Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing