We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faultless”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Ranked #6 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 October 2012

Visited York many times previously but never stayed at the Cedar Court before & will be returning very soon. On arrival we was teated to the full 5 star works & check in was smooth & easy. After Alan had showed us to our room & explained all the details about the room & hotel our bags were delivered along with complimentary coffee's.
Nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff, my good lady rang room service for fresh milk & it arrived even before the kettle had boiled!

We ordered breakfast in bed for the next morning & it arrived bang on time with some of the best black pudding i have ever tasted. Although some may find £20 for a full breakfast & £15 for a continental a little pricey, these little luxurys make the weekend that more special.

We decided on having afternoon tea in the grill room & was treated to a very charming & very English afternoon & will certainly be joining the team for tea again on our next visit.

The spa facilities were also of a high standard with a good size pool, jacuzzi, steam room & sauna along with many treatments available (nails, facials etc)

The cocktails in the Whiskey room were of a great standard including the Irish Coffee's we had to finish our night off!

All in all a fantastic weekend & will certainly be returning on our next to York, regardless of price as you get what you pay for!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 422 which overlooks the the front of the hotel looking towards the York eye.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Till2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreaSCCG, Front Office Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write such a marvellous review following your recent stay with us.
I’m delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay, found time to visit our Spa and sample our delicious, and very popular, afternoon tea.

On behalf of myself and the rest of the team here at The Grand, we look forward to welcoming you back to us in the future.

Best Wishes
Andrea Schipper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,974)
There are newer reviews for The Grand Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,044 - 3,050 of 3,974 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights to celebrate our wedding anniversary. The hotel was great, from the moment we arrived early the service from the all the staff was exceptional. we were meet at the entrance we were had our luggage taken from the car up to our room and the car parked. We were a little early but our room was ready and we had been upgraded, an added bonus. The room was great, even fresh coffee! We used the spa every day and also had treatment there, all exceptional! We didn't have dinner but did have breakfast and thought it was superb! Sure you pay for the level of service but we thought it was great value and were looking forward to coming back. A great way to celebrate our anniversary, we'd recommend this hotel to many as you just have to experience these things in life, just wish we could do it more often.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tomboswell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreaSCCG, Front Office Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2012

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write such a fantastic review following your recent stay with us.
I’m delighted you chose us to celebrate your wedding anniversary and that you enjoyed your stay throughout.

On behalf of myself and the rest of the team here at The Grand, we look forward to welcoming you back to us in the future.

Best Wishes
Andrea Schipper
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2012

Firstly I should point out this is a 5 star Hotel and priced as such. However compared to prices of other hotels in the area (which arent significantly lower) you are getting every pennies worth here. On arrival we were told that our room wasnt ready and therefore would be getting a free upgrade to the full suite. While we waited for that room we were offered a free drink in the lounge until someone came to collect us. Our car was parked and our luggage taken to our room for us by the very helpful and attentative Concierge. The room we had was perfect. A small bathroom and baggage room adjacent to the door before opening out into the spacious living space which included a few tasty freebies (cookies, 2 Bottle Green drinks and a box each of Fudge by our pillows) The bathroom was more than adequate and was well equipped should we have forgotten anything. The bedroom included one set of bath robes and slippers and the bed was very comfortable and had numerous pillows. We went out for the evening and when we got back the room had been made again for us (with lip balm waiting for us on our pillows). On check out day the Concierge again were very helpful taking our bags to our car and bringing it back to the front of the hotel while we ate breakfast and we were able to leave our car there while we spent the afternoon in York. Overall the service was fantastic, helpful at every turn, the room was faultless (especially the huge bathroom) and the breakfast we had (the full Yorkshire breakfast) was delicious. Considering that the Best Western in town is only £30 less for a night (entry level rooms), it makes sense to pay the little bit extra for a whole different level of service and quality. Unfortunately we did not have the chance to use the Spa facilities on this occasion but will certainly make time if we ever return.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelinman9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreaSCCG, Front Office Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write such a fantastic review following your recent stay with us.
I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay throughout.

On behalf of myself and the rest of the team here at The Grand, we look forward to welcoming you back to us in the future.

Best Wishes
Andrea Schipper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2012

It should be lovely - given the nature of the building. But the rooms are soulless in their furnishing and decoration and smack of a business hotel rather than having a personal touch. The only saving grace is their large size - with high ceilings.
Having arrived after a five hour drive I was told my room was not ready (it was 2.30pm) despite the hotel being half empty. When I complained a room magically appeared.
A glass of rioja was £13 and breakfast is £20 a head. For this I would expect more than a few bits of fruit and cheese on a sideboard as well as the cooked option. My eggs benedict were not poached properly - not runny - but I couldn't be bothered to complain by this stage.
I have stayed in many five star hotels and this isn't up to scratch. Ironically I stayed in a family owned relais and chateux hotel for not much more a few days earlier and it put this hotel in its place.
And as for the concierge - he may have thought he was being friendly. I found him far too familiar.
The plus side is its location - within walking distance of the Minister - and its swimming pool and spa in the basement.
But I wouldn't stay here again or recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank vikki0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr_Graeme_Clark, Food & Beverage Operations Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback following your recent stay with us.

I’m obviously disappointed in reading some of your comments but of course respect your views. I will pass on your comments to our team. It is only by receiving feedback such as this that we can improve our service standards.

As always, we welcome all direct guest feedback, so it is disappointing that we have only been made aware of your dissatisfaction on this forum.

Best Wishes
Graeme Clark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

booked into this hotel for 2 nights and could not have asked for a better hotel. all staff friendly and efficient. we went out for afternoon and came back to beds turned down and curtains closed,there was even a little gift on pillow. great location,only few minutes walk from railway station and near shops and bars. would stay here next time i'm in york.

Room Tip: we were on ground floor at back of hotel and could hear road cleaners at about half 6 but only for f...
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happytrip0949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr_Graeme_Clark, Food & Beverage Operations Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write such a fantastic review following your recent stay with us.
I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay throughout, in particular your afternoon tea.

On behalf of myself and the rest of the team here at The Grand, we look forward to welcoming you back to us in the future.

Best Wishes
Graeme Clark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012 via mobile

The hotel is conveniently close to the train station, with less than a 5 minute walk. As we consistently lost track of time, the proximity to the station was a great feature. It was still also very close to the city center, and convenient to attractions, restaurants and shops. It is just past the wall that used to surround the city and you can actually walk on top of this wall. I thought it was a pretty impressive structure, but my husband commented that the Chinese tourists that we passed by probably were thinking "you call this a wall?"

We reserved a Classic Double room and they directed us to the second floor. The room numbers were a little odd as they counted down one side of the hall and then around to the other (as opposed to counting up on either side of the hall as you walk further down). Our room was therefore at the end of the hall, past some fire doors, next to what I would call the back or servants stairs. The stairs weren't the nicest, but at least I thought it was good that we were near a fire exit. 

However, we were pleasantly surprised when we got into our room. It had a bedroom off the main entrance, but to the left and down the stairs was a sitting area plus closet and tea service/mini-bar. Past the sitting area was the large and luxurious bathroom.  It had heated floor tiles, a towel warmer, and you could turn on the sound from the TV. The bathtub was large and comfortable but my husband complained that the half-sized shower enclosure was not large enough and caused the water to splash out onto the floor. The rooms had lovely leaded windows and nice window treatments. 

They provide slippers and robes, an awesome hairdryer and sewing kit (which came in handy to mend the hubby's coat button). There is also complimentary still and bubbly water plus tea/coffee. They provided decaf tea, which was great as we had bought some tasty cakes from Betty's to enjoy at night. 

The "internets" worked well but you had to actually install an app if you didn't want to sign in each time with an annoyingly long ID. 

Our room package came with the continental breakfast, which was convenient but not worth the money if you paid for it separately. We didn't opt to buy up to the hot meals, which I suppose if you were a carnivore, would have been worth it. The continental breakfast had fresh fruit and juices, cereal with fruit and nut toppings, pastries (muffins, donuts, and croissants), cheeses, and some sort of cold meats and fish. They were accommodating and brought me some soy milk to have with the cereal, so I was able to get some protein. The tea was fine, but the coffee, although made in a French press, appeared to be from pre-ground beans as it was not very good. We got spoiled in our B&B in Bath, where the Italian owner made coffee from a selection of freshly ground beans. It seems like a fancy hotel should be a bit more discriminating about the coffee they serve but perhaps the English aren't too particular about coffee since most appear to drink tea. 

The hotel met our standards of "fancy worth paying for", and we would stay here again if we ever revisited York. 

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Konnichiwawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr_Graeme_Clark, Food & Beverage Operations Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write such a fantastic review following your recent stay with us.
I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay throughout, in particular your bedroom and breakfast.

On behalf of myself and the rest of the team here at The Grand, we look forward to welcoming you back to us in the future.

Best Wishes
Graeme Clark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Stayed at the Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa this weekend, hotel itself fabulous. Concierge, Porters and Hotel Staff fantastic, very welcoming apart from one receptionist frosty and rude. Our room was excellent, fantastic bed and linen to die for, bathroom and toiletries what you would expect from a five Star. The only let down was tepid water for Bath/Shower. The continental breakfast fantastic range of food. We upgraded to a cooked breakfast which was served on a very hot plate but the actual food was cold which when you consider you have paid £20.00 was a let down and not what you would expect from a Five star. Other than that fantastic hotel and would return again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JULIEC891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr_Graeme_Clark, Food & Beverage Operations Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write this review following your recent stay with us.

I’m delighted you enjoyed most aspects of your stay, in particular the service you received from our team. I’ll be sure to pass on all of your other comments to the appropriate members of our team for their consideration.

On behalf of myself and the rest of the team here at The Grand, we look forward to welcoming you back to us in the future.

Best Wishes
Graeme Clark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#11 of 47 in York
1,330 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,340 reviews
1.9 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
646 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#17 of 47 in York
1,506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel & Spa

Address: | Station Rise, York YO1 6HT, England (Formerly Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in York
#3 Spa Hotel in York
#3 Family Hotel in York
#3 Luxury Hotel in York
#3 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range: £132 - £427 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grand Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With stunning views of the Minster and the city’s ancient walls the Grand Hotel & Spa enjoys an enviable central location as York’s only five star hotel. Built in 1906 as one of the great railway buildings of York, the hotel’s graceful Edwardian architecture is complemented with fine dining and a luxurious spa complex that features an indoor pool and treatment rooms. All 107 guest rooms are individually designed and furnished to an extremely high specification, creating an indulgent yet unpretentious environment for both leisure and business travellers. And private dining facilities, an open air roof garden and elegant function rooms, provide a plethora of unique options for events and meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Prestigia, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Grand Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Court Grand Hotel And Spa
Cedar Court Grand Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing