We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 days of wonderful service and comfortable room.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Ranked #6 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 December 2012

We have just returned from a 3 night break, and cannot rate too highly. We have recently stayed in a variety of 4 and 5 star hotels, at home and abroad, but nowhere compared with the outstanding service provided by each and every member of staff.The weather turned very cold
while we were there, and our room was a little chilly, probably because of its size.We hope to return in the spring to sample more of this wonderful hospitality.

Room Tip: If the weather is really cold, just ask for an additional heater, it will appear in a flash!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,006)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,002 - 3,008 of 4,008 reviews

Reviewed 11 December 2012

We went the first weekend in December. York was exceptionally busy as it was the same weekend as the Chrstmas Market. The hotel staff were very efficient, room service food was delicious and the breakfast in the room was lovely but far too much of it really.

The afternoon tea was pleasant but cakes were not to my liking :(

The pool, steam room and massages were a great way to relax after a cold busy day in the city centre.

Definitely stay there again (just need to start saving!).

Expensive but worth it.

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd floor but could not really comment either way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NLSACSJRE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2012

I cannot recommend this hotel enough, beautiful building, outstanding service from arrival to departure, Franco in particular was very helpful showing us around our suite.

One minor gripe was the night club spilling out onto the street in the early hours was quite noisy but the overall experience totally out weighs this, we will return but will remember to request a room on the opposite side of the hotel

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jak001ymail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2012

We stayed here in Dec 2011 on a Christmas shopping trip to York. We decided to return and enjoy another 2 night stay in York.

The Cedar Court is conveniently located, a couple of mins from York station and less than a 5 min walk from the centre of York's shopping area.

From the moment you arrive to the moment you leave the staff are welcoming and attentive. They know how to look after their guests.

The concierge staff are great and have very useful information, they enjoy engaging with you as you enter and leave the hotel

We booked an executive room, the room was spacious, the bathroom was large, with a bath and double shower.

One negative was that complementary water should have been provided daily but was not.

The spa area is great, a good way to unwind after a days shopping.

Overall, a great stay again...

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kulih
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2012

Went to Cedar Court for tea and carols as a Christmas present for mum , brother and sister-in-law. We were originally underwhelmed when having booked for 5, the confirmation came through for 2! This was sorted out following a phone call.
As stated in other reviews, the doormen are brilliant - very welcoming and helpful - I was already thinking we might stay here on future trips to York! Again good welcome at the room where the tea is held.
Unfortunately this was where things started to go wrong...nearly every other table was served (despite having arrived after us) with silver cake stands containing an attractive array of sandwiches, scones and cakes. Still none for us. We beckoned over the maitre d' to point this out. A few more silver stands appeared with some confusion where they should go. Finally our food came out - 4 sandwiches for each of the 4 fillings...then the scones and cakes came out - it was only then with there being 4 scones that I realised they had given us food for a party of four not five.
Our sandwiches were neatly arranged on a plain white plate, the cakes and scones looked as if they had been thrown onto a gold rimmed plate. When the sandwiches arrived I asked the waitress if we might have a few more (16 between 5 of us seemed a bit measly) and she said she thought that might be alright. When the scones came out and the penny dropped for me re what had happened I pointed this out to the waitress who agreed this appeared to be the case and got her manager to talk to me. He apologised but I am afraid by this time the occasion was spoiled.
This event was not cheap and we left feeling that we had been treated like second class citizens and indeed would have been cheated (having paid for 5 guests but been served for 4) had we not complained...not ideal when this was a gift to others.
So why as much a 3 stars? Well as stated above, the doormen were excellent as was the food quality. However a 5 star hotel has no excuse for this terrible experience

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HeatherDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2012

From the moment you pull up outside the lovely entrance & have your bags taken & the car valet parked, the 5 star experience has begun!! I have been coming for 3 years and this was my second stay in 3 months & we were kindly upgraded to an executive room! The concierge staff are excellent, they cannot do enough for you, to ensure your stay is first class!
We opted for our continental breakfast in our room & it came on a fantastic silver trolley, converted into a table once in situ, amazing!!
It really is a fabulous place to stay and so conveniently situated for York centre! Not to be missed!!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusieProctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2012

Just come back from two nights in York the hotel was absolutely excellent. We stopped in a classic room and had a bath and shower in the bathroom. We didn't book for breakfast as they only do continental and my partner just wouldn't eat that. Booked this hotel because of the good reviews it had on trip advisor. Really nice place and great location it was only 2 mins walk into town. Would recommend!! Staff were very welcoming and very pleasant. Will definitely be booking here again on our next visit.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#11 of 47 in York
1,377 reviews
1.9 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
0.6 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
651 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#21 of 47 in York
1,522 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel & Spa

Address: | Station Rise, York YO1 6HT, England (Formerly Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in York
#3 Spa Hotel in York
#3 Luxury Hotel in York
#3 Family Hotel in York
#3 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range: £142 - £370 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grand Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With stunning views of the Minster and the city’s ancient walls the Grand Hotel & Spa enjoys an enviable central location as York’s only five star hotel. Built in 1906 as one of the great railway buildings of York, the hotel’s graceful Edwardian architecture is complemented with fine dining and a luxurious spa complex that features an indoor pool and treatment rooms. All 107 guest rooms are individually designed and furnished to an extremely high specification, creating an indulgent yet unpretentious environment for both leisure and business travellers. And private dining facilities, an open air roof garden and elegant function rooms, provide a plethora of unique options for events and meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Prestigia, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Grand Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Court Grand Hotel And Spa
Cedar Court Grand Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing