We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Ranked #6 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 15 March 2013

What a lovely relaxing hotel. fantastic spa area, and the staff were just perfect, so friendly and helpfull from arriving to leaving. Would love to go back again, Oh and the food was amazing.
We went by train and the station was just across the road, and as far as getting into York centre , it was just a short walk, The hotel is in a really great position and I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank colour0191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,890 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,881
    639
    221
    101
    48
See reviews for
501
2,368
75
216
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (700)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
england
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Lovely and well located hotel. Service was great from our arrival, having our car taken for parking (fee for valet parking about the same as weekend parking locally), being greeted and having our bags taken to our room. Didn't have chance to use the spa. Room was huge, clean and comfortable. A little bit more expensive but worth it for position and service. Will definitely return for longer stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank EnglandWeggers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

We had a lovely valentines stay at the Cedar Court Grand. The staff couldn't have been more helpful! The atmosphere in the bar was lovely and the overall feel of the place was comfort and luxury.

Got a wonderful price on the room and check in and out was a doddle.

Rooms were lush, left sweets out for us and a little card indicating tomorrow's weather which we thought was a nice touch.

The location was second to none, within walking distance of all of York's main attractions and a stones throw away from the station.

Only thing I will mention to everyone is that if you're paying my debit instead of credit card they charge the full room price plus an extra £100 on check in :) no biggy but some people might be interested to know this. The £100 is refunded on check out minus anything you've charged to your room.

We'll stay here again anytime we choose to visit York. It was our most favourite short city break stay yet!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sophielinley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 March 2013 via mobile

Gorgeous rooms, great location, enjoyed some lovely drinks in the bar and although didn't eat there the restaurant looked good too! Well definitely be back! Remember to turn down the hearing in the rooms though before you fall asleep! I woke up in a sauna.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gmarie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

I stayed just one night at this lovely hotel. It's extremely elegant with beautiful decor and flowers, especially in the reception area. Most of all I was extremely impressed by the kind and helpful staff, who were much less formal and impersonal than you might find in an similar hotel in somewhere like London. I would thoroughly recommend it. It's ideally placed for sightseeing in York itself, right on the river and a very short distance from York Station if you arrive by train.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CornishGirl1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013 via mobile

We have never stayed in York before as it isn't too far from home and an easy commute however we decided to book the best when it came to staying over. We were booked in for two nights and received a warm welcome on arrival. Our room was very grand and immaculate. We didn't use the spa due to lack of time but we were informed the facilities can be used on the day of checkout even once you have vacated your room, we will definitely bear this in mind next time we visit.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting York.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank GirlsAbroadx9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainsborough, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013

We had an absolutely wonderful stay at the Cedar Court Grand this weekend. We are not usually 5 Star travellers, we don't have designer luggage and didn't arrive in a luxury car, so we were a little wary of how our visit would go. However, we do work hard, and saved hard and like nice things, so we were looking forward to a couple of days of luxury.

We arrived just after lunch on Friday, the hotel is a beautiful building, with a very imposing entrance. The door staff and reception staff were very welcoming and friendly, our booking was checked and we were told that our room was ready for us. We were happy to carry our two smallish bags up to our room ourselves. We arrived on the 4th floor, and found room 408 which is just gorgeous.

A huge bed with beautifully laundered duvet and sheets, a throw and extra cushions. The room has lots of storage space, both hanging and drawer space. A giant TV and complimentary tea and coffee making facilities. Yorkshire Tea, Ground Coffee, Hot Chocolate and Shortbread biscuits. Fresh milk was delivered to our room in a china jug when we asked for it. There is an iron and ironing board, hairdryer and safe in the room. Luxury soft towelling robes and slippers. The bathroom is gorgeous, we had a sunken bath and a walk-in double power shower. There is a heated towel rail and an assortment of luxury Molten Brown toiletries. The bathroom has underfloor heating. There are two easy chairs and a coffee table in the room, with lots of space.
The mini-bar is well stocked, but a little pricey - bottled water is complimentary.

My husband went down to the Spa and used the Sauna, Steam Room and Jacuzzi, he was really impressed by the facilities, very clean and well thought out.

We went into York for the evening and finished our night with a couple of Baileys Coffee in the bar - again, these were pretty expensive, but the bar area is really nicely done out, a pleasure to sit and relax for a while.

When we returned to our room. the turn-down maid had serviced the room. The bedding was turned down, some more complimentary toiletries were left for us, bottled water and slippers by the bedside.

We slept really well, the room was warm and there was no noise from either the rest of the hotel, or from outside.

Breakfast is served in the Grill, we had continental breakfast included in our price and it really was fabulous. We were seated and served with tea and coffee and toast and then went to the buffet area, to help ourselves. The selection was huge and included: cereals, museli, bread rolls, doughnuts, muffins, cold meats, smoked fish, selection of cheeses, fruit, yoghurts, pastries and croissants. We really couldn't ask for more, the food was fresh and very tasty. We didn't order a hot breakfast but for a small supplement there was full English, kippers, eggs etc available. There were complimentary newspapers available for guests.

Without fail, every member of staff was friendly and welcoming. We were greeted with a cheery smile and enquiry as to whether we were enjoying our stay by everyone we met.

The hotel and staff are top-class and very professional. It is clear that the staff are proud of the hotel, and rightly so. We were treated very very well, made to feel welcome and have no criticism at all about our stay. We will most certainly be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Annec14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,259 reviews
1.9 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
0.1 mi away
The Principal York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#18 of 47 in York
1,485 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel & Spa

Property: The Grand Hotel & Spa
Address: | Station Rise, York YO1 6HT, England (Formerly Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in York
#3 Romantic Hotel in York
#3 Family Hotel in York
#3 Spa Hotel in York
#3 Luxury Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grand Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With stunning views of the Minster and the city’s ancient walls the Grand Hotel & Spa enjoys an enviable central location as York’s only five star hotel. Built in 1906 as one of the great railway buildings of York, the hotel’s graceful Edwardian architecture is complemented with fine dining and a luxurious spa complex that features an indoor pool and treatment rooms. All 107 guest rooms are individually designed and furnished to an extremely high specification, creating an indulgent yet unpretentious environment for both leisure and business travellers. And private dining facilities, an open air roof garden and elegant function rooms, provide a plethora of unique options for events and meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Odigeo, TravelUp, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Grand Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Court Grand Hotel York
Cedar Court Grand Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing