We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing overnight stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Ranked #6 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 March 2013

My husband and I stayed here on a friday night. We would have liked to have stayed two nights but the saturday rate was double the price! We were very impressed with the service and accommadation. The room was extremely clean and well equipped and the high ceilings make it feel even more spacious and grand. The fact that the toilet was in a a room of its own, seperate to the bathroom was great. We used the spa facilities in the hotel which was a very much needed and relaxing experience. Lovely products provided in changing rooms and showers. Overall, we thought the hotel was fantastic and in a great location for the attractions in York and bars/ restaurauts in York city centre. The only negative comment would be that the bhotel bar is very expensive and put us off having a drink in the hotel. For the price we paid, we were very happy. We would reccommend a meal at Ate O'Clock restaurant on higher ousegate- beautiful food! x

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ilovewarthogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,972)
There are newer reviews for The Grand Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,811 - 2,817 of 3,972 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2013

Myself and partner stayed here for 2 nights (Saturday and Sunday). I was worried we would be looked down on/feel out of place as we are relatively young and could only afford this as it was a special occasion.
The hotel is spotless, in a great location and all but one of the staff were extremely friendly and as helpful as possible. We never really required anything from the hotel staff but the odd time we did they couldn't of helped more.
I think if you are looking to take advantage of the 5-star luxury and the staff then this is the place for you.
The only negative was the young lad on reception when we checked-in and out. He did make me and my partner feel uncomfortable and I felt as though he was looking down at us; he may not of been but that's only my opinion. He was no older than us but seemed to think he was something special.
Would visit again but only for a special occasion.

Room Tip: 410 was the room we stayed in. It was perfect
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

We called the Grand the night before as a last minuets get away for a date night, the website stated room only basis was £154, when husband called it was £139 room only so we booked a classic room. Parking was an additional £20 which was off site which the valet/concierge sorted out. On our arrival we drove into the hotel, we were met at the doors by a door man very smartly dressed in tails and a bowler hat how opened the doors and welcomed us. We checked in and from then on in it was pure 5 Star luxury, our luggage was taken by a lovely concierge gentleman who gave us a history debrief on the Grand, and who gave us tour of our room. We then appropriately tipped him and he bid us a wonderful stay. What a stunning room, we had a beautiful double room beautifully decorated in teal and mink, then you had a few stairs down into an area with a glass topped at table, Leather chairs and solid dark wood furniture. It had triple wardrobes and a sideboard which had a well stocked fridge and selection of fresh coffee, tea and biscuits. There were also nuts and sweets in cute little lass bottles. The price list was included. However Harrogate spring water was complimentary. Then the under heated luxury bathroom with a marble topped bath and surround sound audio. Molton brown products were all complimentary and there were huge fluffy white dressing gowns and pool side slippers that were availed for use in the spa and room however they were not complimentary they had to be left or could be purchased for £50. So for a classic room there were three separate areas over a vast space. There were stationary items for use and telephones and free wifi. On our return in the evening, our bed had been turned back and a Molton brown lip salve was placed on my side of the bed, a very classy touch. Thie attention to detail is what makes this hotel 5 star. The whole hotel was amazing. No words can explain how luxurious and amazing the Grand is a visit is a must. The only one comment would be the room we stayed in had two telephones and for a 5 star hotel perhaps a docking station for iPod/iPhone could replace one phone, no faults to mention. Perfect for a romantic weekend as the whole package is spectacular.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Spacejam1038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

I could not find any fault with this hotel. Very deserving of it's 5 stars. The concierge service was extremely helpful, knowledgable and very friendly. EVERYONE we spoke to in the hotel gave first class service without being pompous. Nothing was too much trouble. The hotel is very central to everything we wanted to do in York so we were able to walk everywhere. The hotel is very grand and unique, lovely decor. Breakfast a little pricey but appreciated the individually cooked/fresh hot breakfast and waitress service as opposed to the buffet style service for continental. I asked for a Cocktail that was not listed and the young waiter was more than happy to accommodate my request. We would definitely recommend a trip as a treat. Enjoyed the Spa/pool/jacuzzi and luxurious robes. My husband forgot to pack his coat for the weekend and the weather was dismal as we were at the main entrance ready to sightsee. The doorman overheard our dilemma and offered us a large umbrella for the day. Having stayed at many 4 and 5* hotels I would rate the service I received at this hotel as the best!!!!- they definitely made us feel very special. Other hotels would do well to follow their lead in customer service.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room after reading previous reviews and that is what we got. Lovely large rooms...
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seds1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Spacious room (No. 110 - Executive Double) on the first floor with VERY high ceiling. As a result the room was never warm despite the air con being turned up to max 26 degrees. There was a loud whistling noise from the water pipes in the adjoining room but this was fixed quite quickly. The lighting in the room was very poor, bedside lighting was fine but otherwise there were only a couple of wall lights and a standard lamp. Cupboards and drawers were in an alcove...fine during the day when the curtains were open but hopeless at night; there was a small strip light in the double cupboard which gave just about enough light to find stuff but if you have anything hanging on the long cupboard it was pitch dark so you could take out the ironing board rather than your overcoat. Lots of electric point near the cupboards so no excuse for such poor lighting. Requested foam pillows which were very soft and very thin so had to request more. The Television is very high on the wall opposite from the bed, in a large room, I don't know why it had to be so high, it could have been on the table in an alcove to the side of the fire place, also wires visible which should be tucked neatly behind the TV. Bed was large but lumpy, probably two beds zipped together but not uncomfortable. Bathroom was very nice, spacious, good shower, underfloor heating, nice fluffy towels and bathrobes.

We had tea on arrival in the bar...fine but don't expect tea bags in a 5* hotel; leaf tea is served at Betty's in York for half the price (10 minute walk)!

Dining room was uncomfortably warm and the service was slow. We waiting nearly 15 mins in the Grill Room from being given our menus before our order was taken. The Grill Room menu is limited, especially if you are with a vegetarian but the steaks were good. Breakfast was fine and the Yorkshire hot breakfast looked very good if you can stomach the calories! I ordered scrambled egg with smoked salmon on a bagel and sent it back...the salmon was cooked into the egg and the egg was overcooked; it looked and tasted very unappetizing ... I have never seen smoked salmon cooked in with the egg. No questions asked although it was not easy to understand our very softly spoken waitress but she smiled a lot!

On checking out we left our bags with the front desk and asked for our car to be brought round by valet parking for 13.00. When we arrived back at the hotel from a morning walk, I was given the key and told the car was in front of the hotel; it wasn't! The car was subsequently brought round while we waited front of house with our luggage; the porter left us with our luggage as he had "things to do". When the car arrived, the valet left the keys in the car with the engine running and did not offer to help us to load our luggage in the car! We have booked rooms for mid July when we return to York for our son's graduation but, as we drove away, we were thinking where else we might stay in the lovely city of York!

Room Tip: Might be best not on the first floor as we the higher floors may not have such high ceilings!
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PRR50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

Very welcoming staff and valet parking made our arrival easy. Room and bathroom very spacious and well appointed, staff all friendly, spa well equipped and not crowded although slightly shabby in places. However, having stayed in a 'luxury' B&B earlier in the week, where everything was provided, the absence of: suitcase rack, goose down pillows, water carafe, iPod dock, clock, earl grey tea (!) or a fridge that was cold was a surprise in a 5* hotel.....but the location was excellent and the restoration and renovation of this important building is excellent.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frances M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

We organised a family funeral reception/night's stay with the help of the hotel staff, who were so kind and caring yet professional and efficient at all times. They really helped us at a difficult time. The hotel itself is beautiful and has been sympathetically and expensively restored. We stayed in an executive room which had everything we could wish for Fantastic food and wine for the reception, with elderly guests sympathetically cared for.
Fantastic service and a wonderful team; thanks agin.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judith P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#10 of 47 in York
1,327 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,339 reviews
1.9 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
646 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#17 of 47 in York
1,505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel & Spa

Address: | Station Rise, York YO1 6HT, England (Formerly Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in York
#3 Spa Hotel in York
#3 Romantic Hotel in York
#3 Luxury Hotel in York
#3 Family Hotel in York
Price Range: £131 - £425 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grand Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With stunning views of the Minster and the city’s ancient walls the Grand Hotel & Spa enjoys an enviable central location as York’s only five star hotel. Built in 1906 as one of the great railway buildings of York, the hotel’s graceful Edwardian architecture is complemented with fine dining and a luxurious spa complex that features an indoor pool and treatment rooms. All 107 guest rooms are individually designed and furnished to an extremely high specification, creating an indulgent yet unpretentious environment for both leisure and business travellers. And private dining facilities, an open air roof garden and elegant function rooms, provide a plethora of unique options for events and meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Grand Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Court Grand Hotel And Spa
Cedar Court Grand Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing