We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A weekend of indulgence”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Ranked #6 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A weekend of indulgence”
Reviewed 7 July 2013

The hotel stands within the historical city walls and is very near the places of interest, about a 5-10 minute walk. The hotel is decorated to a high standard but unfortunately our window over looked the delivery area which also contained the rubbish bins so was quite noisy when the bottles were tipped out. The food was excellent. There is no onsite parking so our car was valet parked in a nearby carpark that is at an extra cost. What I would like to praise were the staff, they were wonderful, helpful, very pleasant and nothing was too much trouble.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the historical walls instead of the delivery yard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j_brunger_jb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,805 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,828
    620
    215
    99
    43
See reviews for
486
2,320
73
212
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (691)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Wonderful stay with service which was second to none. Staff were friendly and took real pride in the hotel. We were greeted by enthusiastic and efficient reception staff who checked us in early and our car was whisked off and looked after. Little touches like complementary coffee brought to the room on our arrival, attention to detail on every level, weather forecast and lip balm on pillow placed by turn down service, bellinis on the Ruinard terrace - a wonderful oasis to relax in during a weekend in York during the heatwave. Good spa, great meal in The Grill and spacious bedroom ( we stayed in an Exec double) - what more can I say. Try the continental breakfast in your room - smoothies, bagels, cold meats, porridge with honey and hot coffee that stayed hot - in short we will be back!!! Great location close to railway museum, we had view of York's version of the London Eye and could see the Minster too.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanCWinchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

I have not historically had much luck with hotels in the UK, particularly when traveling for business, but this time out I was pleasantly surprised. The Cedar Court is well located, not unreasonably priced for the quality, and the room was really comfortable. Excellent bathroom, super comfortable bed. Breakfast was good (if pricey), being additional to the room rate I had. Walking distance to the center of York. All in all I will stay here again on my next trip to York.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ofarreb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Having celebrated our wedding at Cedar Court Grand in July 2012 we decided it would be nice to revisit the hotel. As expected we weren't disappointed, the staff are fantastic (special mention for the concierge, Graham who'd helped us during the wedding and made us feel like 'regular' guests even though we've only visited the hotel twice). The spa facilities were great, the weather outside was hot and humid so a dip in the pool was a treat. Our room was large, comfortable and stylish and breakfast in the Grill Room was delicious. All in all a great stay, 36 hours in York is not a long trip but it felt like we'd been away for a week....roll on the next time.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 201....very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
59 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

We stayed one night for my partner's birthday. Check in at 3.00 pm was friendly and efficient and we were shown to our room with our bags being delivered shortly afterwards. We paid £20 for the valet parking but parking in York IS expensive so it was worthwhile. The car was waiting for us when we checked out at 11.00 am the next day. The hotel is in a great location within walking distance of all the major tourist attractions. The building itself is charming and lives up to the word grand. The room was large, clean and nicely decorated. The bed and bedding were comfortable and the bathroom was excellent with a very good shower. As the weather was very hot it was nice to have the air conditioning. There were always lots of staff in evidence and they were all friendly and polite. The only meal we had in the hotel was breakfast which was very good. On the next table was a toddler who was playing up a bit and a member of staff brought him some children's games and books - nice touch. The only criticism I would make was it took an inordinately long time to be served a drink on the terrace even though it was not busy and there were plenty of staff on duty. Unfortunately we did not have time to make use of the spa and I think to get the most out of this hotel you need to stay for at least two nights. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clemenceau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

We stayed at this hotel just over 18 months ago and were impressed by its overall ambience and quality of service. Returning recently for a second visit, it was obvious that a certain amount of “Tweaking” had taken place to make it a really top-notch hotel. There is a constant staff presence at the hotel door, ready to assist with luggage etc. The check in at reception was rapid and we were escorted to our room by a staff member who carried our bags and highlighted the room’s facilities to us. The room was spacious, well appointed and spotless. The hotel is lovely with its restored interior and original wood panelling. The bar is cosy and has an extensive cocktail list and attentive staff, ensuring that you never have to leave your seat. The restaurant has a well balanced choice of items, plus a large grill menu. We couldn’t fault the food or the service. If you want luxury and personal service in York, then this is certainly the hotel to stay at. It is well worth the cost and provides genuine 5 star service and comfort. Would recommend upgrading to a superior room, they are excellent. We hope to return soon!

Room Tip: Upgrade to a 4th floor room. They are spacious, quiet and exclusive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BritishTraveller53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Workington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

My boyfriend booked this as a birthday treat for me and it was amazing! It was my 21st birthday and they upgraded us to a full suite! The staff were very attentive and the room was beautiful. We will definitely be returning, hopefully soon!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#11 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,120 reviews
1.9 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
0.3 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,145 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 46 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel & Spa

Property: The Grand Hotel & Spa
Address: | Station Rise, York YO1 6HT, England (Formerly Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in York
#3 Luxury Hotel in York
#3 Family Hotel in York
#3 Romantic Hotel in York
#3 Spa Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grand Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With stunning views of the Minster and the city’s ancient walls the Grand Hotel & Spa enjoys an enviable central location as York’s only five star hotel. Built in 1906 as one of the great railway buildings of York, the hotel’s graceful Edwardian architecture is complemented with fine dining and a luxurious spa complex that features an indoor pool and treatment rooms. All 107 guest rooms are individually designed and furnished to an extremely high specification, creating an indulgent yet unpretentious environment for both leisure and business travellers. And private dining facilities, an open air roof garden and elegant function rooms, provide a plethora of unique options for events and meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Grand Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Court Grand Hotel York
Cedar Court Grand Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing