We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“THE Place To Stay In York” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Grand Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Ranked #6 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“THE Place To Stay In York”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013 via mobile

I booked this hotel for a two night stay from Friday to Sunday at the end of June for my girlfriend's birthday and to celebrate her recent promotion.

After reading the highly commendable reviews on TripAdvisor I thought it would be worth outlaying a little extra cash to stay in what is York's first and only five star hotel - have to say the reviews rang very true indeed and I was shocked to see that some mindless idiots had the bare-faced cheek to write a negative review of this hotel. Worth every penny. Yes there are cheaper places to stay in York, but I'd highly recommend the Cedar Court Grand and it is well worth paying the extra.

At the outset, the staff could not do enough for you, from the warm welcome from the doorman to the check in staff, bar staff and the concierge Graham managed to get us a last minute table in Piccolino when we were struggling for an evening meal on our second night, despite it being fully booked for the evening - top job!

Upon arrival we were given a very smooth check in and my girlfriend's birthday was acknowledged and we were shown to our room by the porter without haste. He explained to me the workings of the room including the taps which are a little bit tricky to operate due to the design. I booked the champagne & strawberry package which was sat in splendour on the dressing table, nicely chilled, delicious and the strawberries looked and tasted as if they were just picked that morning. Went down well with the girlfriend!

We used the spa facilities (pool, jacuzzi, steam room, sauna) on both evenings of our stay, ideal for relaxing after a day's walking around. The spa facilities were very clean, very pleasantly decorated and best of all, nice and quiet! We also enjoyed some delicious cocktails in the main bar before heading out in to York for dinner, again well recommended.

We didn't dine in the hotel so couldn't comment on the food as we felt that we wanted to explore York - would highly recommend The Whippet Inn for a tasty steak for dinner but book before you go. For breakfast, Georgina's Cafe does a nice 'Yorkshire Breakfast' for half the cost of the hotel equivalent.

Finally, if you wish to be a bit flash, by all means use the valet parking facility however it is £20 a day to use what is effectively driving your car to an NCP car park. We used the York commuter car park across the road from the which cost us approximately £12-13 from Friday evening through to Sunday afternoon and is literally a 5 minute stroll away from the hotel main entrance.

Overall I couldn't recommend this hotel enough and we agreed we would definitely go back.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank JCS1878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,683 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,739
    600
    208
    95
    41
See reviews for
472
2,247
73
202
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (669)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

From the moment we pulled up in the car outside we were treated like royalty,The doorman opened the car door" Good Afternoon Sir/Madam are you staying with us?" yes we are bags were taken before we even knew it,car was valet parked for us for us while we checked in,i arranged The Grand Package for my wife in our room on arrival (Champagne,flowers,Molton Brown gift set,chocolates and strawberries dipped in chocolate).room outstanding we visited the spa facilities in our (robes and slippers which are supplied by the hotel) which were excellent drinks in the bar before we went out for the evening.Breakfast was wonderful Yorkshire breakfast, on check out the car was waiting for us luggage in the car(the even put the seat belt round the flowers for us) The only downfall was having to leave.On returning home we booked again for our anniversary in September CAR'NT WAIT 5 * star treatment all the way from arriving to departure WELL WORT THE VISIT.see you in September Cedar Court

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank biglad19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle,Cumbria
Level Contributor
33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

As previously stated this hotel has certainly got it`s customer service policy exactly right. From the moment we left our car at the entrance (valet parking) to the moment we checked out, staff were friendly , welcoming and helpful. Special mention to Danny who assisted us with our reservation , an absolute asset to the hotel, professional, kind and above all friendly, he is a star! Would not hesitate returning to the hotel, rooms large and well appointed and beautifully air conditioned throughout, much needed in this warm weather. Keep up the excellent standards, I would not hesitate in recommending this hotel. York a great city to visit with excellent shopping , eating and dinking options and this hotel ideally located in `staggering` distance to all amenities.

Room Tip: We were upgraded to an executive room, huge room in a quiet location, room number 4!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank luibaty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

An excellent hotel which is in a great location. From meeting the doorman on arrival, to the cleaners farewell when departing, all were wonderful staff who came across as happy and they took pride in their work. Great facilities in a beautiful old building.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Floridanut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

What a fantastic experience from start to finish.

We had a weekend break in York and decided to splash out on the hotel. After reading good reviews on TripAdvisor and hearing good reports, we decided to try the Cedar Court Grand, and were not disappointed.

We were warmly welcomed by the reception staff. Check in was effortless.

We were directed to our room, which was generously spacious and finished to an extremely high standard. Molton Brown toiletries were abundant. The room comprised a large king-size bed, two comfortable chairs around a small glass coffee table, generous wardrobes, dressing table and minibar. Complimentary refreshments included mineral water, a selection of teas, coffee (fresh coffee and a cafetiere).

After an evening in York we returned to the hotel for drinks in the lounge - there is a great cocktail menu, which we enjoyed in the relaxed lounge, finished to an even higher standard than the bedrooms. On returning to our room we were surprised that the bed had been turned down, including further complimentary mineral waters being placed at the side of the bed in addition to slippers and Molton Brown lip balm. Our towels and toiletries had also been replaced, having used them before going out that evening.

The continental breakfast was great - a varied selection of fresh fruit, yoghurts, pastries and cereals, in addition to hot and cold drinks served at the table. Although we didn't try them, there looked to be a good list of hot breakfast items available too.

Every bit of our stay was fantastic - we would thoroughly recommend staying at this hotel. Its more expensive than we'd normally pay... however I think this experience will make us pay more in future! We cannot praise it enough!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelT81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
234 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

Excellent hotel well situated within the city walls and only a short walk into the oldest part of York and the Minster. So easy access to all the main attractions, restaurants and bars. Restaurant and bar/terrace within the hotel. Free WiFi, but need new password every 24hrs.
Large clean rooms and excellent staff. Spa looked nice in basement with a good size pool/sauna etc but unfortunately did not get to use on our short stay. Lifts a bit slow and only appeared to be one in service during our stay, no real problem as we stayed on 2nd floor, but it is a refurbished/converted older building so wasn't originally designed for hotel requirements.
No parking at the hotel but drop of point and valet parking out front. Parking cost as an extra £20/day. NCP car park adjacent, which the hotel use for valet parking, and short walk to station if travelling by public transport. Really enjoyed our short stay in York and was pleased with our choice of hotel through TA

Room Tip: Lifts a bit slow/busy if staying on upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Howard-Moon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

We had our second trip to this hotel this week having spent a few days earlier in hotels in Newcastle. We came to see the train gathering at the museum. We had a lovely room which was comfortable and spacious. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. Great breakfast and spa area. We will definitely visit again as like the attention to detail. Also short walk to the station and town centre.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KateMark_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#11 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 982 reviews
1.9 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
0.3 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,036 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
St Denys Hotel
St Denys Hotel
#1 of 46 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel & Spa

Property: The Grand Hotel & Spa
Address: | Station Rise, York YO1 6HT, England (Formerly Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in York
#3 Luxury Hotel in York
#3 Romantic Hotel in York
#3 Family Hotel in York
#3 Spa Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grand Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With stunning views of the Minster and the city’s ancient walls the Grand Hotel & Spa enjoys an enviable central location as York’s only five star hotel. Built in 1906 as one of the great railway buildings of York, the hotel’s graceful Edwardian architecture is complemented with fine dining and a luxurious spa complex that features an indoor pool and treatment rooms. All 107 guest rooms are individually designed and furnished to an extremely high specification, creating an indulgent yet unpretentious environment for both leisure and business travellers. And private dining facilities, an open air roof garden and elegant function rooms, provide a plethora of unique options for events and meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Grand Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Court Grand Hotel York
Cedar Court Grand Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing