We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home from home.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Ranked #5 of 45 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Ipswich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home from home.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

My wife booked us a night in the Cedar Court Grand Hotel and Spa for our first wedding anniversary.
We were over the moon in regards to the 'second to none' service that we received. Nothing was a problem, all the staff were very friendly and helpful, and made us feel truly welcome and at home.
Our room was upgraded from a suite at no extra cost when the staff found out that it was our anniversary. The room was stunning, with high ceilings and separate ensuite shower and bathroom room. The standard of finish and upholstery of the room was excellent, very clean, no evidence of any prior guests. The attention to detail in the room was fantastic, and loads of little extras were present, and of very high quality.
The spa facilities were very good, although we did not book any treatments. Pool, sauna, steam room and Jacuzzi were great.
The décor throughout the hotel was in keeping with the old building, but was modern at the same time.
Breakfast was very good with the best quality local ingredients, and a large spread including all the usual continental breakfast items. A separate breakfast menu was available to order from and the coffee was good.
Location couldn't be better, a 2 minute walk will get you to the edge of the town center, next to the York museum gardens. York minister is around 10 minutes walk.
There are a number of lounges available to relax in on the ground floor, and the bar serves top cocktails and a range of spirits and drinks not typical of your average pub / bar.
We will definitely be staying at the Cedar Court Grand Hotel again, we highly recommend it to anyone. There was never a problem to any request that we made, as proved when my wife arranged to have a bottle waiting for us in our room when we arrived.
Best weekend we have had in a long time, a big thank you to all the staff.
Gordon and Kim Cairns.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gordon c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,740 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,783
    609
    211
    96
    41
See reviews for
481
2,282
73
207
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (679)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

We visited the hotel in August for an overnight stay, spa treatment and afternoon tea, From the greeting at the door to leaving the following day the staff were always courteous and helpful, and made our stay a pleasure. The hotel is quite imposing and centrally situated within easy walk of the railway station, the Minster and City Walls. The spa treatment was really enjoyable with friendly staff. The afternoon tea was delicious with everything freshly baked, and locally made jam. Fortunately we had not booked for Dinner, as we were very full! Breakfast was excellent with many choices. The bedroom was spacious and clean and overlooked the Terrace, so was very quiet. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 199Nori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

There are some absolutely lovely things about this hotel but small slips and oversights do let this hotel down.

I booked a night at the hotel as a birthday present to my husband. On booking, I was asked for my husband's name so that a card could be written to him. "What a nice touch," I thought -- except that when we arrived the card was addressed to me and no mention of my husband's birthday was made! This small detail was indicative of the kind of thing I think this hotel suffers from -- promises of attention that are not quite met. A few days before our stay, I was sent a form before we arrived, asking for the reason for our stay, general requirements etc., and I received another email saying that the information would be transferred over to our booking details. So the card shouldn't really have been mis-addressed given the information was given twice. A very small thing but if you say you're going to do something, you really ought to do it!

I emailed the hotel to let them know of our delayed arrival time, explaining that we were having a nightmare journey (our one-hour train trip took five hours). I got a reply that was polite and professional, but on arrival they did not take advantage of the opportunity to offer us sympathy (or even just a cup of tea). (But the woman on reception was very nice and efficient so I don't want to sound too critical here -- it was just that in a hotel of this rank, you expect more).

We were left three pieces of fruit in the room but the apples were bruised and soft -- this really shouldn't happen in a four-star hotel at the kind of prices being charged.

The member of staff who showed us round the room was friendly but took a long time to show us everything and in more detail than needed. We were tired after a very long journey of several delays and so not on the ball enough to give him a tip. He made a joke about selling my husband a map of the city "without the shops marked on it". Pretty sexist and irritating to me as I don't even like shopping! I just laughed it off at the time but thought it both inappropriate and a little unprofessional. Not a huge thing but again a small detail that left a poor impression.

We went down to the spa for a swim and had a lovely Jacuzzi and swim in the pool. I agree with other reviewers that it is a shame there is no room to relax on loungers but the space is limited and I thought this area was probably the highlight of the hotel. Everything was clean and I very much enjoyed my two swims there.

Our bathtub needed attention as the drain was clearly blocked -- every time we had a shower the water filled in the bath and took a long time to clear. I would have mentioned this at reception but there was a queue at the time. I was surprised that something like that had not been picked up and addressed by the cleaning team .

The air conditioning was extremely noisy but the bed exceptionally comfortable -- the pool and the quality of the bed were what saved this hotel from being disappointing.

We thought it was hilarious that you are charged £12 to watch a film on the TV -- even for films that have been out for months or years! And the mini bar items feel extremely overpriced -- we might have had something had the mark-up been so ridiculously over the top.

The general feel was nice, but not luxurious, and though the staff were friendly, I didn't feel as welcome as I expected to. (The staff who dealt with our bags when we left them at the hotel for a few hours after checking out were superb though.)

The building is beautiful and the décor tasteful. The location couldn't be better. The spa is clean and very nice. Overall the service is very good. I think I would have been much happier with the whole trip if this hotel was marketed as a four-star hotel -- part of the problem is that the hotel proclaims to be of an extraordinary standard and just misses being so and therefore disappoints expectations. It just needs to pay attention to the details.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KatiaM M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

We were met outside, on arrival and they parked the car and cases were taken to the room, we were escorted to the room and shown all the facilities. The hotel was great and in a great location, we had an exec room that was large and very comfortable, the bathroom had underfloor heating, as did the separate toilet,(nice to have separate loo), we had dinner and breakfast both great! The staff were exceptional, nothing was to much trouble and very friendly but professional too. Overall a great hotel for a weekend away or business meeting

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank F4V-Wendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed in a suite (room 420) that was in a corner of the hotel. It was big, spacious with a hallway, nice bathroom and a separate additional loo with a roof window. The main room was large, had a seating area and the bed was at an elevated level. The ceiling was at least twice normal height and a huge church like window on the wall.

There was an echo in the room due to the huge space. We were unhappy with the fact that while there two 32" TVs provided, the buttons on the TV and on the remote had been disabled. As a result, there was no possible way to reduce the brightness or the contrast and these had been preset to max. This made it impossible to view TV in the evenings or from bed.

The bathroom was really nice with underfloor heating with double showers. However, the standalone bathtub was too long for one person to sit in comfortable position without sliding down as there were no handles to hold on to, no foot position and no headrest. Definitely a slip risk for a slightly drunk person!

We liked the second loo as it was really spacious with lots of light coming in. Great place to read a book :-) Would've liked a shelf or something to rest my literature on!

We ordered room service a couple of times. Good coffee, great desserts and breakfast delivered to the room.

We used the spa and the swimming pool - where the water was unexpectedly very warm.

Overall, a nice hotel to stay for a weekend in York.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pranay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Two friends, my wife and I shared lunch at the Cedar Court Grand in York. They live in Harrogate, where there is also a hotel belonging to this chain, but we made a decision to meet and dine in York.
We made an excellent choice. The Hotel is impressive on entry and the staff helpful and courteous. Aperitif's were served promptly, menus too were soon provided but no undue haste surrounded our visit. Exactly as we wished!
The food was expertly cooked, presented and served, with the quantities perfectly judged.
Excellent all round and good value for money.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brian_sellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Cedar Court was a perfect blend of location - walking distance from Rail Station, yet quiet, close to all sites. A true 5 Star hotel at amazing affordable rates. The room was large, comfortable with all amenities. Staff were superb. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#11 of 45 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,046 reviews
1.9 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
0.3 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 45 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,090 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
St Denys Hotel
St Denys Hotel
#1 of 45 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel & Spa

Property: The Grand Hotel & Spa
Address: | Station Rise, York YO1 6HT, England (Formerly Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in York
#2 Business Hotel in York
#3 Romantic Hotel in York
#3 Luxury Hotel in York
#3 Family Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grand Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With stunning views of the Minster and the city’s ancient walls the Grand Hotel & Spa enjoys an enviable central location as York’s only five star hotel. Built in 1906 as one of the great railway buildings of York, the hotel’s graceful Edwardian architecture is complemented with fine dining and a luxurious spa complex that features an indoor pool and treatment rooms. All 107 guest rooms are individually designed and furnished to an extremely high specification, creating an indulgent yet unpretentious environment for both leisure and business travellers. And private dining facilities, an open air roof garden and elegant function rooms, provide a plethora of unique options for events and meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Grand Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Court Grand Hotel York
Cedar Court Grand Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing