We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful hotel, a real treat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Ranked #5 of 45 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel, a real treat”
Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night in a deluxe room. The room was very large, extremely well furnished, clean and comfortable . The bathroom was large with underfloor heating and a gorgeous waterfall shower.
The bed was large and very comfortable , fantastic toiletries, hair dryer, bathrobes, iron, free safe- everything and more we could need.
We had an evening meal in the restaurant which was delicious and served very quickly to suit us as we needed to leave to go to the theatre. Breakfast was also superb with an amazing choice of cold and hot dishes.
We had a fantastic stay and can't wait to return!!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank sarah w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,738 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,782
    609
    210
    96
    41
See reviews for
481
2,280
73
207
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (678)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We stayed here in an executive room recently and it was lovely. The hotel itself is very impressive and the bedrooms and well equipped and spacious. The bed was very comfortable and there were two bathrooms which was very useful. During our stay we used to spa facilities (massage, pool, sauna, steam room and jacuzzi) and were very pleased with them. The whisky lounge is a nice area which has an impressive range of single malts and other whiskeys. Breakfast was very good also. The hotel is in a good location and it is highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
173 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

It's 2 years since we last stayed here, and enjoyed it so much, we decided to go back for the "Ultimate in Luxury" package. Our Executive room was lovely, beautiful bathroom, separate toilet, lounge area and really comfortable bed, with free wi fi for our 2 night stay. As part of the deal there was a beautiful bouquet of flowers, bottle of champagne, strawberries dipped in white chocolate, and a Moulton Brown gift set in the room.The cocktails in the bar were great. I didn't enjoy our evening meal in the restaurant as much as last time, it was good, but thought it was the best in York last time. Yorkshire breakfast excellent. Had a full body massage , the girls in the Spa were very good. I didn't feel the service was as consistently good this time, some colleagues were amazing, others weren't. For example the girl on reception in the Spa wasn't aware of our package, so was going to charge our treatment to the room, the guy serving the amazing cheeseboard in the restaurant wasn't as knowledgeable , and both mornings our cooked breakfast arrived before cereal bowls removed. Not big issues, good service, but not consistently 5 star. Would still go again, it is a lovely hotel in a great location.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewcastleLucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Great location for visiting York. Hotel itself was not 5* had a room on second floor and was woken up by building works outside early on a saturday morning . Some TV channels were not working, air conditioning was not that effective. Night doorman was rude when we came back to hotel and asked us what we were doing there, when told we were guests of the hotel he just muttered something about keeping noise down (we were hardly teenagers comming home from a club ).. !! All in all we were disappointed with Yorks only 5* hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jahdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013 via mobile

A friend and myself stayed for two days in a executive room. When we arrived we were a little early for check in and our room wasn't quiet ready so we went for a drink and reception offered to come and tell us when it was. Franco took us to our room and pointed everything out to us he was very friendly and helpful. The room was so spacious and comfortable. In the bathroom we were supplied with complimentary Molton Brown toiletries
We booked to eat in the restaurant that evening but went in the bar for a drink first, was very impressed with the extensive drinks menu.i had a wonderful gin flavoured with rhubarb
We were taken through to the restaurant and could not fault the food or service
The spa was very quiet we had it to ourselves it was spotless and relaxing
We booked afternoon tea which was a little disappointing as our pot of tea came then we had a long wait for food 40 minutes. The small cakes were very sickly and looked brought in not homemade
I know it is very anti social to smoke these days but I did mention to the night porter that the ash trays on the terrace were all full and spilling over plus 2 empty packets thrown on the floor they were still full 2 days later I would have thought he would have acted on it . Also it would have been nice for the staff to put one of the parasols up to stand under as it was raining quiet heavily, just a couple of observations as it is a five star hotel
The breakfast was wonderful
This is a lovely hotel close to centre of York and can't wait to return

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Elaine4939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreaSCCG, Front Office Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear Elaine4939

Thank you for your review. I was delighted to read that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. I took note of your comments regarding the Afternoon Tea and our smoking area on the Terrance. I certainly will share your comments with my colleagues and I am sorry that we fell short in those areas.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Regards
Andrea Schipper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013 via mobile

... A little bit disappointing.

Superb building and location, immaculately presented and refurbed to a great standard.

On our arrival, we were checked in efficiently (though not warmly) and directed to our room - no offer to accompany or carry luggage (which we probably would have refused, but nevertheless was not offered or intimated) - just pointed down the hall. Our room was well equipped, though actually smelt of mothballs of all things (reminded me of my grandmother's!). Excellent comfy bed, comfy pillows and crisp immaculate bedlinen.

Nice bathrooms, very spacious, heating floors etc. Tick, tick, tick.

I think the thing that let it down slightly was the staff - A little bit uninterested; a little cold. I was unimpressed by the young lady in the cocktail bar with all her banging and crashing around and obvious desire to get out of the place. We overheard her on the phone saying 'oh Christ, I don't want salad' - presumably that was for her food order. It just wasn't really quite good enough. I don't care whether she wants salad or not, I just don't want to hear about it! Drinks in the cocktail bar were also very pricey.

We had a stay at Rockliffe Hall earlier in the year and I'm afraid that the Cedar Court Grand was found 'wanting' in comparison. I don't think it was good VFM and the attitude of the staff could definitely be warmer.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Turnpig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreaSCCG, Front Office Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear Turnpig

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at The Grand in York. I was disappointed to read that you did not feel welcomed and charmed by our team. This is out of character; we pride ourselves that we provide a friendly, warm and personalised service to all our guests.

We taken on board your comments regarding the noise at the bar when disposing of bottles or placing food orders for guests and thank you for the feedback.

Warm regards
Andrea Schipper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We spent three nights at what can only be described as a truly stunning property.

The building has been exquisitely fitted with high quality EVERYTHING, from the carpets to the showerheads. The professional yet friendly and - personally what I consider to be some of the best service I've ever encountered starts as soon as you are greeted by the doorman and continues up until you find your bed turned down, with a personal note and Molton Brown goodies on your pillow.

Every inch of this place oozes luxury, our "standard" room was very spacious with a deliciously comfortable bed, two bathrooms with complete with a large tub and walk in shower, excellent dressing area and ample storage for any length of stay.

In a beautiful central setting in the gorgeous city of York and continues to be one of my favourite ever hotels, I cannot recommend this place enough.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rach241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreaSCCG, Front Office Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear Rach 241

Thank you for your lovely review. It sounds like you had a truly wonderful stay and enjoyed every minute of your Grand experience.

Kind regards
Andrea Schipper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#11 of 45 in York
1,038 reviews
1.9 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
0.3 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 45 in York
1,083 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
St Denys Hotel
St Denys Hotel
#1 of 45 in York
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel & Spa

Property: The Grand Hotel & Spa
Address: | Station Rise, York YO1 6HT, England (Formerly Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in York
#2 Business Hotel in York
#3 Luxury Hotel in York
#3 Romantic Hotel in York
#3 Family Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grand Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With stunning views of the Minster and the city’s ancient walls the Grand Hotel & Spa enjoys an enviable central location as York’s only five star hotel. Built in 1906 as one of the great railway buildings of York, the hotel’s graceful Edwardian architecture is complemented with fine dining and a luxurious spa complex that features an indoor pool and treatment rooms. All 107 guest rooms are individually designed and furnished to an extremely high specification, creating an indulgent yet unpretentious environment for both leisure and business travellers. And private dining facilities, an open air roof garden and elegant function rooms, provide a plethora of unique options for events and meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Grand Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Court Grand Hotel York
Cedar Court Grand Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing