We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Ranked #7 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 November 2013

We stayed in an executive room a couple of years ago. The room was large with an extremely comfortable bed and sheets. The restaurant served great food and the wine menu was good. We only used the spa once but it wasn't very busy at the time and had a good sauna and steam room. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beepop10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreaSCCG, Front Office Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Dear Beepop10

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to York.

Warm regards
Andrea Schipper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,059)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,514 - 2,520 of 4,059 reviews

Reviewed 9 November 2013

Stayed for 1 night with the wife, fantastic room, very spacious, great bed, huge bathroom. Service was sensational, breakfast superb and a great location. Cannot fault it in any way and can't wait to come back!!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tails09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreaSCCG, Front Office Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Dear Tails09

Thank you for lovely review! I am delighted that you had such wonderful stay with us and we look forward to your return.

Warm regards
Andrea Schipper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Wonderful trip with my mother; spent 3 nights in an executive twin -room 338, overlooking the wall and river. The beds were extremely comfortable with the linnen changed daily, good tea and coffee facilities. The bathroom was spacious and a lovely walk in shower and I enjoyed using all the molton brown toileteries. The turn down service was great -especially leaving mouthwash and lip slave for our use and cleaning the tea cups! The spa was great and I had fun using the resistance jet stream in the swimming pool. I had a massage and a pedicure, both extremely well delivered and I would definately book these treatments again.
The breakfast was fantastic- with an amazing array of freshly prepared fruits, hams,cheeses, fish, pasteries and cereals and smoothies. Plus the waitress/table service was excellent and prompt, remembering our little quirks after our first visit. They do a very good scamble egg with smoked salmon!. I tried an omelete one evening which was lovely and a coronation chicken sandwhich the next - and although it took some time to prepare it correctly (as it had to go back due to it being plain chicken) - it was lovely but a huge portion - 3 slices of bread in each sandwhich and 3 large pieces!
The only disappointment was the afternoon tea -which I cannot recommend and will review separately. However, this did not mar our joy and I will definately return. Additionally, all the staff were freindly and helpful throughout the stay and it seemed genuine, not put on. Thank you to all of you.

Room Tip: ask for view of city walls and higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fjwr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreaSCCG, Front Office Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Dear fjwr

Thank you for taking the time review your stay with us at The Grand. I am delighted that you had a truly wonderful stay and enjoyed all our facilities, but I was saddened that you were disappointed with your afternoon tea. We will comment on that review separately.

Warm regards
Andrea Schipper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We stayed for one night in a deluxe room. The room was very large, extremely well furnished, clean and comfortable . The bathroom was large with underfloor heating and a gorgeous waterfall shower.
The bed was large and very comfortable , fantastic toiletries, hair dryer, bathrobes, iron, free safe- everything and more we could need.
We had an evening meal in the restaurant which was delicious and served very quickly to suit us as we needed to leave to go to the theatre. Breakfast was also superb with an amazing choice of cold and hot dishes.
We had a fantastic stay and can't wait to return!!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank sarah w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We stayed here in an executive room recently and it was lovely. The hotel itself is very impressive and the bedrooms and well equipped and spacious. The bed was very comfortable and there were two bathrooms which was very useful. During our stay we used to spa facilities (massage, pool, sauna, steam room and jacuzzi) and were very pleased with them. The whisky lounge is a nice area which has an impressive range of single malts and other whiskeys. Breakfast was very good also. The hotel is in a good location and it is highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonathan999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

It's 2 years since we last stayed here, and enjoyed it so much, we decided to go back for the "Ultimate in Luxury" package. Our Executive room was lovely, beautiful bathroom, separate toilet, lounge area and really comfortable bed, with free wi fi for our 2 night stay. As part of the deal there was a beautiful bouquet of flowers, bottle of champagne, strawberries dipped in white chocolate, and a Moulton Brown gift set in the room.The cocktails in the bar were great. I didn't enjoy our evening meal in the restaurant as much as last time, it was good, but thought it was the best in York last time. Yorkshire breakfast excellent. Had a full body massage , the girls in the Spa were very good. I didn't feel the service was as consistently good this time, some colleagues were amazing, others weren't. For example the girl on reception in the Spa wasn't aware of our package, so was going to charge our treatment to the room, the guy serving the amazing cheeseboard in the restaurant wasn't as knowledgeable , and both mornings our cooked breakfast arrived before cereal bowls removed. Not big issues, good service, but not consistently 5 star. Would still go again, it is a lovely hotel in a great location.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NewcastleLucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Great location for visiting York. Hotel itself was not 5* had a room on second floor and was woken up by building works outside early on a saturday morning . Some TV channels were not working, air conditioning was not that effective. Night doorman was rude when we came back to hotel and asked us what we were doing there, when told we were guests of the hotel he just muttered something about keeping noise down (we were hardly teenagers comming home from a club ).. !! All in all we were disappointed with Yorks only 5* hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jahdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
1.9 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
0.6 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,435 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#12 of 47 in York
1,435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
659 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#38 of 47 in York
2,920 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#17 of 47 in York
1,534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel & Spa

Address: | Station Rise, York YO1 6HT, England (Formerly Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in York
#3 Romantic Hotel in York
#3 Family Hotel in York
#3 Spa Hotel in York
#4 Luxury Hotel in York
Price Range: £138 - £409 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grand Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With stunning views of the Minster and the city’s ancient walls the Grand Hotel & Spa enjoys an enviable central location as York’s only five star hotel. Built in 1906 as one of the great railway buildings of York, the hotel’s graceful Edwardian architecture is complemented with fine dining and a luxurious spa complex that features an indoor pool and treatment rooms. All 107 guest rooms are individually designed and furnished to an extremely high specification, creating an indulgent yet unpretentious environment for both leisure and business travellers. And private dining facilities, an open air roof garden and elegant function rooms, provide a plethora of unique options for events and meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Ctrip TA, Prestigia, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Grand Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Court Grand Hotel And Spa
Cedar Court Grand Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing