We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday weekend.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Ranked #6 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 November 2013

My partner booked this for a surprise birthday weekend for me. We arrived on the Saturday afternoon, shared a lunch in the bar which was very nice. He had booked for me a manicure and pedicure for that afternoon, when I got to the spa I was informed it was a file & polish not what he had booked. The varnish on my hands was terrible & was redone the next day. I sat in the bar and our room for 4 hours before putting shoes on, surprise surprise my big toe nail smudged. They did only charge £30 for my finger nails but quite frankly I get a better job done locally for £5. Our room was lovely apart from housekeeping turning the heat up from 17 degrees. We only had breakfasts in the hotel, on the 1st morning the scrambled egg & salmon was nearly cold, looked like a chopped up omelette. Thankfully food improved. Great hotel with a central location for exploring York.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue3127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,010)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,463 - 2,469 of 4,010 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2013

Stayed for dinner, bed and breakfast and thought it lived up to its 5 star rating, the dinner was excellent, the service was excellent and the room was excellent.

Nothing was to much for the staff and the dinner was of the highest quality, the sweets that are served with the coffee just finish of the meal. Also felt the cheese board was as good as I have had.

Will book again as I couldn't fault it, its in my top 3 all time hotels.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 218 which I think was an executive, it was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Damon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreaSCCG, Front Office Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Dear Damon W

Thank you for your fantastic review. We are proud that we are one of your top 3 hotels of all times.

Warm regards
Andrea Schipper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

We stayed in an executive room a couple of years ago. The room was large with an extremely comfortable bed and sheets. The restaurant served great food and the wine menu was good. We only used the spa once but it wasn't very busy at the time and had a good sauna and steam room. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beepop10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreaSCCG, Front Office Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Dear Beepop10

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to York.

Warm regards
Andrea Schipper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Stayed for 1 night with the wife, fantastic room, very spacious, great bed, huge bathroom. Service was sensational, breakfast superb and a great location. Cannot fault it in any way and can't wait to come back!!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tails09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreaSCCG, Front Office Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Dear Tails09

Thank you for lovely review! I am delighted that you had such wonderful stay with us and we look forward to your return.

Warm regards
Andrea Schipper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Wonderful trip with my mother; spent 3 nights in an executive twin -room 338, overlooking the wall and river. The beds were extremely comfortable with the linnen changed daily, good tea and coffee facilities. The bathroom was spacious and a lovely walk in shower and I enjoyed using all the molton brown toileteries. The turn down service was great -especially leaving mouthwash and lip slave for our use and cleaning the tea cups! The spa was great and I had fun using the resistance jet stream in the swimming pool. I had a massage and a pedicure, both extremely well delivered and I would definately book these treatments again.
The breakfast was fantastic- with an amazing array of freshly prepared fruits, hams,cheeses, fish, pasteries and cereals and smoothies. Plus the waitress/table service was excellent and prompt, remembering our little quirks after our first visit. They do a very good scamble egg with smoked salmon!. I tried an omelete one evening which was lovely and a coronation chicken sandwhich the next - and although it took some time to prepare it correctly (as it had to go back due to it being plain chicken) - it was lovely but a huge portion - 3 slices of bread in each sandwhich and 3 large pieces!
The only disappointment was the afternoon tea -which I cannot recommend and will review separately. However, this did not mar our joy and I will definately return. Additionally, all the staff were freindly and helpful throughout the stay and it seemed genuine, not put on. Thank you to all of you.

Room Tip: ask for view of city walls and higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fjwr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreaSCCG, Front Office Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Dear fjwr

Thank you for taking the time review your stay with us at The Grand. I am delighted that you had a truly wonderful stay and enjoyed all our facilities, but I was saddened that you were disappointed with your afternoon tea. We will comment on that review separately.

Warm regards
Andrea Schipper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We stayed for one night in a deluxe room. The room was very large, extremely well furnished, clean and comfortable . The bathroom was large with underfloor heating and a gorgeous waterfall shower.
The bed was large and very comfortable , fantastic toiletries, hair dryer, bathrobes, iron, free safe- everything and more we could need.
We had an evening meal in the restaurant which was delicious and served very quickly to suit us as we needed to leave to go to the theatre. Breakfast was also superb with an amazing choice of cold and hot dishes.
We had a fantastic stay and can't wait to return!!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank sarah w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We stayed here in an executive room recently and it was lovely. The hotel itself is very impressive and the bedrooms and well equipped and spacious. The bed was very comfortable and there were two bathrooms which was very useful. During our stay we used to spa facilities (massage, pool, sauna, steam room and jacuzzi) and were very pleased with them. The whisky lounge is a nice area which has an impressive range of single malts and other whiskeys. Breakfast was very good also. The hotel is in a good location and it is highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonathan999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#11 of 47 in York
1,386 reviews
1.9 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
0.6 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
651 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#20 of 47 in York
1,526 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel & Spa

Address: | Station Rise, York YO1 6HT, England (Formerly Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in York
#3 Luxury Hotel in York
#3 Spa Hotel in York
#3 Family Hotel in York
#3 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range: £143 - £390 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grand Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With stunning views of the Minster and the city’s ancient walls the Grand Hotel & Spa enjoys an enviable central location as York’s only five star hotel. Built in 1906 as one of the great railway buildings of York, the hotel’s graceful Edwardian architecture is complemented with fine dining and a luxurious spa complex that features an indoor pool and treatment rooms. All 107 guest rooms are individually designed and furnished to an extremely high specification, creating an indulgent yet unpretentious environment for both leisure and business travellers. And private dining facilities, an open air roof garden and elegant function rooms, provide a plethora of unique options for events and meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotelopia, Ctrip TA, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Grand Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Court Grand Hotel And Spa
Cedar Court Grand Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing