We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Grand Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Ranked #6 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very nice stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

Stayed for a weekend hotel break and was very impressed. Nice room with very good service (great tip from a porter to visit the house of trembling madness!) and really enjoyed the spa facilities as well. York is a lovely city and really easy to explore from here.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Theswarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,675 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,731
    600
    208
    95
    41
See reviews for
468
2,244
73
202
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (668)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St Andrews, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

My husband and I stayed for 2 nights last week. We had the classic standard double room and it was very spacious. The bed was very comfortable and we loved the underfloor heating in the bathroom. We were on the first floor overlooking a parking /service area which was very noisy early in the mornings. Rooms would be better at the front of the hotel and possibly higher up too. The whisky bar was excellent and the staff were very friendly and helpful. There were beautiful big fireplaces in the bars but unfortunately the fires were not lit, it would have been lovely if they had been as it was a little cool at times. The reception and concierge staff were pleasant and helpful. The swimming pool was great although the last treatments at the spa were 5.30, which was a little disappointing. I would certainly recommend the hotel and would not hesitate to return on my next trip to York.

Room Tip: The standard room is a very good size, but we had a first floor room at the back of the hotel and we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anne f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
56 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

The hotel is beautiful room lovely .On arrival one staff member on reception was quite frosty faced and not very helpful. Had spa treatment and checked in at 3.45 its was very hectic in reception but must admit we did receive a call later to apologise and check everything was ok. Evening meal was fine and staff in restaurant very helpful.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leeds007uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreaSCCG, Front Office Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear Leeds007uk

Thank you for your review. I am sorry that you arrived at busy time and did not receive our usual friendly Yorkshire Welcome.I hope that our courtesy call later on made you feel a little more welcome. I certainly will address this with our team, as we take great pride in the customer service we provide.
I trust you enjoyed your treatment in our lovely Spa and managed to relax and enjoy the rest of your stay with us.

Warm regards
Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

My husband & I stayed here for one night last week-end. We had an Executive room, very spacious, with comfortable beds and everything you could need. I particularly liked the under floor heating in the bathroom and the Molton Brown toiletries (however, we were only supplied with one small shower gel, but 2 of each of the other items, eg shampoo). The staff were very friendly, especially the doormen. We used the excellent valet parking service, which saved us a lot of hassle with parking our car.
We had coffee, bacon muffins and danish pastries in the hotel bar on arrival on the Saturday morning, which were very nice. We then went to walk around York - the hotel is in a very good location for exploring York. The hotel phoned me at 1:15 to say our room was ready. On returning to the hotel later in the afternoon, we were brought a complimentary tray of tea & biscuits to our room, which was a lovely welcome touch.
We had drinks in the bar, prior to going to a concert at The Barbican, and drinks and sandwiches later in the evening. All very nice, with good service.
We slept well and enjoyed a superb breakfast the next day. We didn't have time to use the Spa, but would like to return and use it another time. We enjoyed the luxury of this hotel, even if it was quite expensive!
My one small complaint was that the bath towel I had was covered in horrible brown stains!! (Possibly from fake tan?? Or was it something else? Yuk!) I didn't want to use it and so had to dry myself after showering with a small hand towel. (My husband had used the other bath towel which was now wet!) I do think a 5 star hotel should have towels without stains!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alison29Yorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreaSCCG, Front Office Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear alison29Yorkshire

Thank you for your review - I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us at The Grand in York. I was sorry to read that you had a couple of issues with regards to the towel and toiletries. Please accept my apologies for the inconvenience, naturally all our linen and towels are cleaned to the highest standards and I have advised our Executive Housekeeper of your comments, as I know she would want to investigate this to prevent this for the future.

Once again, thank you for taking the time reviewing your stay.

Warm regards
Andrea Schipper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Didcot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

Loved this hotel. It is one of the best we have stayed in, but the bar and restaurant get a bit chilly in the evening. We find this unacceptable, and for that reason would not use this hotel again, which is a shame.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank marjieO871
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreaSCCG, Front Office Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear Norma F

Thank you for your review. I was delighted to read that you found The Grand one of the best hotels you ever stayed in, but naturally was saddened that you did not plan to return. Our restaurant and bar temperatures are set to comfortable 21 C, but are only to pleased to amend this if it feels a little too cold. I have passed your comments on to our restaurant team, who were equally disappointed that you did not feel comfortable.

Regards
Andrea Schipper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

My partner booked this for a surprise birthday weekend for me. We arrived on the Saturday afternoon, shared a lunch in the bar which was very nice. He had booked for me a manicure and pedicure for that afternoon, when I got to the spa I was informed it was a file & polish not what he had booked. The varnish on my hands was terrible & was redone the next day. I sat in the bar and our room for 4 hours before putting shoes on, surprise surprise my big toe nail smudged. They did only charge £30 for my finger nails but quite frankly I get a better job done locally for £5. Our room was lovely apart from housekeeping turning the heat up from 17 degrees. We only had breakfasts in the hotel, on the 1st morning the scrambled egg & salmon was nearly cold, looked like a chopped up omelette. Thankfully food improved. Great hotel with a central location for exploring York.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue3127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Ayton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

Stayed for dinner, bed and breakfast and thought it lived up to its 5 star rating, the dinner was excellent, the service was excellent and the room was excellent.

Nothing was to much for the staff and the dinner was of the highest quality, the sweets that are served with the coffee just finish of the meal. Also felt the cheese board was as good as I have had.

Will book again as I couldn't fault it, its in my top 3 all time hotels.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 218 which I think was an executive, it was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Damon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreaSCCG, Front Office Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear Damon W

Thank you for your fantastic review. We are proud that we are one of your top 3 hotels of all times.

Warm regards
Andrea Schipper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#11 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 976 reviews
1.9 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
0.6 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.6 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
St Denys Hotel
St Denys Hotel
#1 of 46 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel & Spa

Property: The Grand Hotel & Spa
Address: | Station Rise, York YO1 6HT, England (Formerly Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in York
#3 Family Hotel in York
#3 Spa Hotel in York
#3 Romantic Hotel in York
#3 Luxury Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grand Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With stunning views of the Minster and the city’s ancient walls the Grand Hotel & Spa enjoys an enviable central location as York’s only five star hotel. Built in 1906 as one of the great railway buildings of York, the hotel’s graceful Edwardian architecture is complemented with fine dining and a luxurious spa complex that features an indoor pool and treatment rooms. All 107 guest rooms are individually designed and furnished to an extremely high specification, creating an indulgent yet unpretentious environment for both leisure and business travellers. And private dining facilities, an open air roof garden and elegant function rooms, provide a plethora of unique options for events and meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Prestigia, Hotels.com and TravelUp so you can book your The Grand Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Court Grand Hotel York
Cedar Court Grand Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing