We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Ranked #5 of 45 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Driffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

Put simply, excellent! The level of service from greeting to goodbye is impeccable, with a clearly refined team of staff making our stay incredibly comfortable. Our room was a "standard double" but it was more akin to a deluxe room at most other hotels I've stayed at. To cut a long story short I simply cannot recommend this hotel enough, if you are looking to stay in York for any reason, be sure to book yourself as nothing else comes close.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Matthew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,741 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,783
    610
    211
    96
    41
See reviews for
481
2,283
73
207
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (680)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
106 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

Stayed for two nights in an executive room and was truly impressed. Bedroom was spacious, comfortable armchairs and a super comfortable king sized bed was an added bonus. Loved the Moulton Brown toiletries which added to a sense of pampered luxury. Good breakfasts, served by friendly and efficient staff.
Excellent spa, the treatments are well worth the cost.
All in all an excellent hotel very close to the railway station and a short stroll from the Minster and many of York's must see and do attractions. Would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra and go for an executive room,
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

Stayed for a weekend hotel break and was very impressed. Nice room with very good service (great tip from a porter to visit the house of trembling madness!) and really enjoyed the spa facilities as well. York is a lovely city and really easy to explore from here.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theswarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Andrews, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

My husband and I stayed for 2 nights last week. We had the classic standard double room and it was very spacious. The bed was very comfortable and we loved the underfloor heating in the bathroom. We were on the first floor overlooking a parking /service area which was very noisy early in the mornings. Rooms would be better at the front of the hotel and possibly higher up too. The whisky bar was excellent and the staff were very friendly and helpful. There were beautiful big fireplaces in the bars but unfortunately the fires were not lit, it would have been lovely if they had been as it was a little cool at times. The reception and concierge staff were pleasant and helpful. The swimming pool was great although the last treatments at the spa were 5.30, which was a little disappointing. I would certainly recommend the hotel and would not hesitate to return on my next trip to York.

Room Tip: The standard room is a very good size, but we had a first floor room at the back of the hotel and we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anne f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
61 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

The hotel is beautiful room lovely .On arrival one staff member on reception was quite frosty faced and not very helpful. Had spa treatment and checked in at 3.45 its was very hectic in reception but must admit we did receive a call later to apologise and check everything was ok. Evening meal was fine and staff in restaurant very helpful.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreaSCCG, Front Office Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear Leeds007uk

Thank you for your review. I am sorry that you arrived at busy time and did not receive our usual friendly Yorkshire Welcome.I hope that our courtesy call later on made you feel a little more welcome. I certainly will address this with our team, as we take great pride in the customer service we provide.
I trust you enjoyed your treatment in our lovely Spa and managed to relax and enjoy the rest of your stay with us.

Warm regards
Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

My husband & I stayed here for one night last week-end. We had an Executive room, very spacious, with comfortable beds and everything you could need. I particularly liked the under floor heating in the bathroom and the Molton Brown toiletries (however, we were only supplied with one small shower gel, but 2 of each of the other items, eg shampoo). The staff were very friendly, especially the doormen. We used the excellent valet parking service, which saved us a lot of hassle with parking our car.
We had coffee, bacon muffins and danish pastries in the hotel bar on arrival on the Saturday morning, which were very nice. We then went to walk around York - the hotel is in a very good location for exploring York. The hotel phoned me at 1:15 to say our room was ready. On returning to the hotel later in the afternoon, we were brought a complimentary tray of tea & biscuits to our room, which was a lovely welcome touch.
We had drinks in the bar, prior to going to a concert at The Barbican, and drinks and sandwiches later in the evening. All very nice, with good service.
We slept well and enjoyed a superb breakfast the next day. We didn't have time to use the Spa, but would like to return and use it another time. We enjoyed the luxury of this hotel, even if it was quite expensive!
My one small complaint was that the bath towel I had was covered in horrible brown stains!! (Possibly from fake tan?? Or was it something else? Yuk!) I didn't want to use it and so had to dry myself after showering with a small hand towel. (My husband had used the other bath towel which was now wet!) I do think a 5 star hotel should have towels without stains!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alison29Yorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreaSCCG, Front Office Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear alison29Yorkshire

Thank you for your review - I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us at The Grand in York. I was sorry to read that you had a couple of issues with regards to the towel and toiletries. Please accept my apologies for the inconvenience, naturally all our linen and towels are cleaned to the highest standards and I have advised our Executive Housekeeper of your comments, as I know she would want to investigate this to prevent this for the future.

Once again, thank you for taking the time reviewing your stay.

Warm regards
Andrea Schipper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Didcot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

Loved this hotel. It is one of the best we have stayed in, but the bar and restaurant get a bit chilly in the evening. We find this unacceptable, and for that reason would not use this hotel again, which is a shame.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank marjieO871
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreaSCCG, Front Office Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear Norma F

Thank you for your review. I was delighted to read that you found The Grand one of the best hotels you ever stayed in, but naturally was saddened that you did not plan to return. Our restaurant and bar temperatures are set to comfortable 21 C, but are only to pleased to amend this if it feels a little too cold. I have passed your comments on to our restaurant team, who were equally disappointed that you did not feel comfortable.

Regards
Andrea Schipper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#11 of 45 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,048 reviews
1.9 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
0.3 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 45 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,093 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
St Denys Hotel
St Denys Hotel
#1 of 45 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel & Spa

Property: The Grand Hotel & Spa
Address: | Station Rise, York YO1 6HT, England (Formerly Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in York
#2 Business Hotel in York
#3 Family Hotel in York
#3 Romantic Hotel in York
#3 Luxury Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grand Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With stunning views of the Minster and the city’s ancient walls the Grand Hotel & Spa enjoys an enviable central location as York’s only five star hotel. Built in 1906 as one of the great railway buildings of York, the hotel’s graceful Edwardian architecture is complemented with fine dining and a luxurious spa complex that features an indoor pool and treatment rooms. All 107 guest rooms are individually designed and furnished to an extremely high specification, creating an indulgent yet unpretentious environment for both leisure and business travellers. And private dining facilities, an open air roof garden and elegant function rooms, provide a plethora of unique options for events and meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Grand Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Court Grand Hotel York
Cedar Court Grand Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing