We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go on , treat yourself”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Ranked #6 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

Attention to detail evident throughout and didn't want to leave. A real treat and special weekend in a fabulous city.

We stayed in a suite and were blown away by the standard . Granted it does come with a slight premium but ideal for a special occasion. Book with confidence.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank BennyBonnassi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,976)
There are newer reviews for The Grand Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,411 - 2,417 of 3,976 reviews

Reviewed 21 November 2013

Stayed here for my mum's 60th on the 17th and 18th November. I booked a year in advance and paid the rack rate to ensure that we stayed at the same time as other family members. I told the hotel it was for a special occasion and booked an Executive Twin.

On arrival the woman on reception looked like she had chewed a wasp and ignored me for a good five minutes. It was 12 o'clock so I assumed our room wasn't ready and asked to valet park my car. The concierge was friendly and helpful so he dealt with the car.

We had spa treatments booked for 2pm so just before I asked if my room was ready. The receptionist looked like she wanted to rip my face off and informed me the room wasn't ready. The facilities were lovely - clean and luxurious. The therapist I had was excellent but my mums has a "sinus issue" and sniffed for the entire duration of her facial. Not the most relaxing experience!

At 4 we went to check in and as we did not have our luggage we waited in reception (which as freezing) with wet hair and no make up on. Not really an enjoyable experience. The systems had gone down so we had to wait for someone to show us to our room and cut the key. The room was a double. Not a good start.

We went back down to another room which was a double but could be turned into a twin. It backed on to a car park and once the housekeeping ladies had split the beds the table leg fell off the side table. A lovely screeching noise then occurred every few minutes.

We went back down to reception to request a different room. The Duty Manager found a room on the fifth floor which again was not a twin but could be split. We were told several times that the issue was everyone was really busy as the system had gone down. As a guest in a five star hotel I don't really care what the issue is. I expect great service - guests should never know that there are any problems.

We then waited half an hour for our luggage. At this point everyone else with us was ready to go out for the evening. We were not as it had taken so long to get a room. We missed our reservation at a restaurant I had booked in York. The experience ruined our first night in York. My poor mum was in tears.The duty manager ran away from us every time he saw us the next day in the hotel and no-one apologised or took responsibility on check out.

The hotel itself is stunning, the bar staff were lovely and the concierge service was fantastic. But the Duty Manager and Receptionists were terrible.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank alex90Manchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

This was our second stay at the Cedar Court and again it didn't let us down, however the only reason [again] that stops me giving it 5 stars are three things one of which I think is out of the control of the Hotel.

1) Given that the building is listed, and it really is a beautiful old building full of character and history, the windows are the original sash windows which if there is a wind blowing at them they can rattle (a tad annoying in the middle of the night) and during the Winter despite a good heating system they allow very cold air through into the room.


More in the control of the Hotel:-

2) The Hotel doesn't have its own car park which if you use your own car can add as much as £20 per day to park your car via the Hotel. Maybe if the Hotel could negotiate with NCP a reduced rate for Hotel guests this would help.

3) If your stay doesn't include breakfast then a cooked breakfast would set you back £20 each!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank schrodinger56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile

Was hear for my second stay .
The first time was wow not as wow this time not as welcoming and no call asking was the room ok .
One of the extras was missing but replaced with some thing else it lacked a little of sparkle this time . When leaving the staff seemed a bit more friendly on arrival it was not the same breakfast also felt rushed because the room was lovely and the place is amazing that's why still I would go back this time was not as good as my first stay and I am a little disspointed but will be back for a 3rd go ! X

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Res2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Our experience of the Cedar Court Grand is such that we would like to go back for more!
From the moment we arrived we were looked after with all members of staff who were friendly, efficient and extremely helpful.
We had an executive room which was of a good size and really comfortable, with many extra's such as dressing gown, slippers, tea and coffee making facilities, fridge, safe....and many more.
Breakfast was lovely, but we had to pay extra for anything that was cooked, including porridge. None the less, the restaurant staff were very attentative and we started the day, 'fully charged'.
There is no car parking at the Cedar Court Grand, but the hotel does offer valet parking - this does come at a cost of £20 per day.
The hotel was about 6-7 mins to the minster with many other attractions not too far away.
You can get a 1 or 2 (and maybe a 3) day pass to all the attractions, but would recommend that you pay as you go. There are savings to be made but you would be rushing around from attraction to attraction without absorbing the history behind them. Furtrhermore, during the late autumn/winter months, many attractions close early, so we found the pass to be a waste of money. In the 3 days that we were there, we just didn't have enough time to visit everywhere and will get back next year.
There is a fabulous train museum - do visit, even if you are not a train lover. There are some beautiful old steam trains.
For he ladies - York has a fabulous shopping area, with plently of different restaurants.
All in all - a really great city and can't wait to get back there again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lockemup1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

I do get very upset reading some of the reviews for The Cedar Court my husband and I have revisited for the third time this weekend with friends who had come to stay with us cannot say we had the same experience as previous stays. Our first room smelt of smoke and we were straight away changed to an alternative room. Unfortunately there was no hot water for our shower and basin in the main bathroom fortunately we did have a separate basin in the toilet.the receptionist said they would check it out for us.Staff were as usual helpful and can't do enough for you and the food excellent !
There had been a wedding and 40th birthday party the night we were there so the hotel was busy!
so checking out was mayhem!!
The wonderful experience of the doorman taking your bags to the car was no where to be seen they looked very harassed dealing with the larger parties !Saying that we still love the hotel and would not stay anywhere else but not a great way to end a 5star stay

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GREE5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Booked a classic room, room only £145. The hotel is the former North Eastern Railway HQ and a massive, elegant Edwardian pile well-placed for station and city. Corridors feel a bit ex-office, but all are well-lit and spacious. Very grand staircase. Didn't sample the public rooms - food and drink looked are massively overpriced; certainly expensive - but did sneak a peek in the meeting room called the Chairman's Suite: very period grandeur.

This is a very sound hotel. The Classic Room was very high-ceilinged, clean, well-maintained and spacious with separate bath and loo, both with underfloor heating; good cupboards; robe, slippers, minibar; magazines; comfortable chairs, comfortable bed; good linen; fresh (new) towels. Sash windows opened; aircon was easy to use; light switches not too complex. overnight (though mediocre) shoeshine service. Walls thick enough not to hear neighbours. All sounds quite basic hotel-keeping but all-too-depressingly rare.

Minus marks for: noisy minibar fridge (unplugged it) and aircon; un-necessarily complicated taps; too-high food prices (good Indonesian place opposite for dinner; McDonalds in the city for breakfast - they want £20 here) and having pictures of stations/railways on the wall (concept good) that aren't of the NER (execution bad!).

Would go again and would recommend.

Room Tip: x01 is a corridor end room and, I suspect, a bit more spacious than the average.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheOldTiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#10 of 47 in York
1,334 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,342 reviews
1.9 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
648 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#19 of 47 in York
1,507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel & Spa

Address: | Station Rise, York YO1 6HT, England (Formerly Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in York
#3 Romantic Hotel in York
#3 Family Hotel in York
#3 Luxury Hotel in York
#3 Spa Hotel in York
Price Range: £131 - £407 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grand Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With stunning views of the Minster and the city’s ancient walls the Grand Hotel & Spa enjoys an enviable central location as York’s only five star hotel. Built in 1906 as one of the great railway buildings of York, the hotel’s graceful Edwardian architecture is complemented with fine dining and a luxurious spa complex that features an indoor pool and treatment rooms. All 107 guest rooms are individually designed and furnished to an extremely high specification, creating an indulgent yet unpretentious environment for both leisure and business travellers. And private dining facilities, an open air roof garden and elegant function rooms, provide a plethora of unique options for events and meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Prestigia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Grand Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Court Grand Hotel And Spa
Cedar Court Grand Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing