We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4* hotel at 5* prices”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Ranked #6 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
tyne and wear
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“4* hotel at 5* prices”
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Stayed last evening. Nice hotel and friendly staff. One major isssue checking in at 3pm was that one of our rooms was not ready. We waited in our other room and was informed by the receptionist that it would be ready in a few minutes and keys would be delivered to us for our other room. One hour later we had to ring reception, we were obviously forgotten about as within 5 minutes keys were delivered to our door. Breakfast was overpriced and another mix up occurred on the guest list as we were already down as having eaten. Really wanted to like this hotel but mistakes made took the edge off out stay.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tigertizzy777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,843 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,849
    628
    219
    101
    46
See reviews for
489
2,342
74
216
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (698)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

Had a wonderful short break here Staff are very helpful courteous and knowledgable.Room was very comfortable with large comfy bed and bedding.Can highly recommend filet steak on the bone in the restaurant too.Had no time this time to visit the Spa but hopefully next time .

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BigGNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

We stayed at the Cedar Court Grand for the second time this year. After a lovely weekend here last year, we decided to visit again for our anniversary. It didn't disappoint - we have completely fallen in love with this hotel. The staff are so friendly and the facilities excellent. This time, I got a manicure at the Spa which was great, and we asked the concierge for his recommendation for dinner, also spot on. We will most definitely be back next year.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GavinandJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

We stayed in the Cedar Court Hotel this week for two nights and I would heartily recommend. Wonderful old fashioned hospitality in a lovely setting. We were welcomed from the moment we arrived to the moment we left. Hotel location also excellent. Comfortable beds and good food. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cyprian1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013 via mobile

One of the nicest hotels I have stayed in, a real Victorian architectural gem very close to centre of York. Service was exceptional and nothing was too much trouble. Having the car parking and collection service makes it effortless. Spa facilities lovely. Well worth the extra expense and will stay again 100%.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Portised
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I can't comment on the spa, gym or restaurant because we didn't have time to use them. However, everything else during are stay was of an excellent standard.

We stayed in a Junior suite which was both immaculately clean and very well proportioned. The staff were all helpful and extremely courteous. The breakfast choice was expansive and delicious.

The building itself is hugely impressive and it's good to see that great effort has been made to retain many of the original features.

A great hotel worthy of its place in a beautiful city.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Properlush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Loved this place! Treated like royalty from start to finish. The staff are charming, we were greeted with a smile and cheerful comment from every staff member we encountered. The hotel is palatial, evocative of a bygone era, spacious, comfortable and luxurious. We arrived before 3pm just hoping to leave our luggage but were delighted to not only be welcomed in but upgraded to a Suite! Our Suite of rooms on the 3rd floor were perfect in every way. A Very comfortable bed, plenty of storage space, Moulton Brown goodies, a delicious array of teas & Nespresso coffees & best of all a sitting room complete with a 5ft Christmas tree! Graham, our concierge settled us in, arranged for complimentary hot drinks to be served (in our private sitting room, of course!) and was a mine of information on the hotel itself and all the things we needed to know about York to make the most of our trip. We had dinner in the Hotel's Grill Room on both evenings and where I would agree that it is a fairly limited menu, it suited us well enough. We dined on such delights as Lobster Bisque, scallops, rib eye steak & The king of fish, Turbot. Unhappily the lobster in the bisque was tough, chewy & quite unpalatable but Everything else was superb. We both ordered desserts only to be surprised by chef with a pre-dessert! (Chocolate brownie, red fruit compote & ice cream) Now be assured it was lovely but two desserts each? Strange idea you either have two desserts or none at all! Breakfasts were delicious, huge choice on the continental tariff & a £5.00 surcharge for the cooked options. Can definitely recommend the Yorkshire fry up & the Eggs Florentine. Our only gripe? Rooms are serviced quite late into the afternoons. I didn't realise how late and found it quite inconvenient, by the time we were 'done' there was little time left for my usual pre-dinner bathing & primping & preening. I now know that you can request Houskeeping to be done at a time to suit you, I will be taking advantage of that next visit.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OrkneygalPenicuik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
1,203 reviews
1.9 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
0.1 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#10 of 46 in York
1,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.6 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#20 of 46 in York
1,467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel & Spa

Property: The Grand Hotel & Spa
Address: | Station Rise, York YO1 6HT, England (Formerly Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in York
#3 Romantic Hotel in York
#3 Luxury Hotel in York
#3 Spa Hotel in York
#3 Family Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grand Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With stunning views of the Minster and the city’s ancient walls the Grand Hotel & Spa enjoys an enviable central location as York’s only five star hotel. Built in 1906 as one of the great railway buildings of York, the hotel’s graceful Edwardian architecture is complemented with fine dining and a luxurious spa complex that features an indoor pool and treatment rooms. All 107 guest rooms are individually designed and furnished to an extremely high specification, creating an indulgent yet unpretentious environment for both leisure and business travellers. And private dining facilities, an open air roof garden and elegant function rooms, provide a plethora of unique options for events and meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Prestigia, TravelUp, Odigeo, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Grand Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Court Grand Hotel York
Cedar Court Grand Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing