We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Ranked #6 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
161 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“A perfect stay!”
Reviewed 5 December 2013

The Cedar Court is truly an exceptional hotel. We stayed at the hotel for 5 nights. Our room was very spacious, well kept and quiet. The spa/pool area is lovely and the temperature for the pool/wet/dry sana was perfect. No freezing cold or heat stroke hot. The hotel is within easy walking distance of all the major sights.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveNewAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,844 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,850
    628
    219
    101
    46
See reviews for
489
2,343
74
216
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (698)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013 via mobile

I thought that this was a very nice hotel. The staff were extremely helpful at all times and the rooms, particularly the bathroom were very nice.
We did not eat at the hotel in the evening, but had a nice drink in the bar on both evenings, which was very comfortable and cosy.
It is very close to the train station for those travelling by rail and a very short walk into the city centre.
The Continental breakfast buffet was very nice. The only slight moan, was I do think a £5 surcharge for a hot breakfast is a bit of a cheek and when we did order a cooked breakfast, although the food was nice, was quite cold.
That aside, I would certainly stay there again.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KentNick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wakefield
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

I booked the Cedar Court as a surprise for my husband for a "special" birthday. We stayed in room 230, a master suite, which more than exceeded our expectations! First impressions were "wow" and these impressions stayed with us for the 2 nights that we there. We even had a christmas tree in the lounge area, which was a lovely touch! The suite was huge, the bathroom amazing, with heated floors, and the bed was so comfortable.The room was immaculately cleaned, and all the domestic staff were so friendly.
In fact, ALL the staff were extremely friendly, helpful, knowledgable and couldn't do enough to help. All are a credit to the hotel. Special thanks to Debra on front of house for making our stay a memorable one! A definite 5 star hotel. We hope to return again soon!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jules4star
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We really enjoyed our three night stay at Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa in York, our room (503) was very nice (5th floor, very quiet and good view of sunsets - clean and comfortable) and the spa facilities were outstanding. The staff were helpful, courteous and friendly. Very close to city centre. We hope to return and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to friends or family. Not the cheapest hotel but definitely worth the money.

Room Tip: our room (503) was very quiet and a lovely room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk UK
Level Contributor
113 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

After some minor problems over internet booking on a price comparison site, and a rather cool reception at check in, everything was perfect from there on in. I had been upgraded to an executive room on the 5th floor and the room was spacious and spotlessly clean. The internal decor of the hotel is really something special and the staff and guests seemed proud to be part of it. Breakfasts were excellent and the staff very helpful. The price I eventually paid was not too expensive for that sort of quality, and the attentiveness of staff. I would recommend this hotel to anyone for a special treat, and will certainly stay there again if I am in York

Room Tip: There are only 5 rooms on the fifth floor. The penthouse and four others. I was lucky enough to be u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nagsSuffolkUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

My husband and I came here for our first wedding anniversary and stayed for three nights. We had e a lovely stay in one of the deluxe rooms. The bed was so comfy, and there was an abundance of toiletries provided. Breakfast is fab with lots of choice, so you dont have to have the cooked breakfast, even though it's nice to treat yourself just once.

Head down to the spa if you can. They have a sweet little pool in the old vaults of the building. All of the staff were helpful and friendly, and when we had a problem with the TV in our room it was fixed very quickly. A great place to stay in York.

Room Tip: Higher rooms woudl have less noise form the street. Just 3 mins walk form the train station as well...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louisa847
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Situated inside and within sight of the ancient city walls, this hotel feels elegant and luxurious from the moment you step into the front hall (probably with someone opening the door for you). Staff are exceptionally friendly and professional. We had an executive size room (on a good rate through Internet booking) and it was as large and as well equipped as junior suites in many other hotels.
Some small faults in the room were remedied as soon as we mentioned them. Spa facilities and pool were good although changing rooms can be crowded at busy times. Hotel restaurant is very good in terms of service and food although not the cheapest place to eat in York, it's worth it for a special meal. Great place for a special trip or short break to York. We will definitely be back here.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with a view out over the city Walls. You'll see the roof of the rail station but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyMoEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
1,205 reviews
1.9 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
0.1 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#10 of 46 in York
1,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.6 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#20 of 46 in York
1,467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel & Spa

Property: The Grand Hotel & Spa
Address: | Station Rise, York YO1 6HT, England (Formerly Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in York
#3 Romantic Hotel in York
#3 Family Hotel in York
#3 Luxury Hotel in York
#3 Spa Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grand Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With stunning views of the Minster and the city’s ancient walls the Grand Hotel & Spa enjoys an enviable central location as York’s only five star hotel. Built in 1906 as one of the great railway buildings of York, the hotel’s graceful Edwardian architecture is complemented with fine dining and a luxurious spa complex that features an indoor pool and treatment rooms. All 107 guest rooms are individually designed and furnished to an extremely high specification, creating an indulgent yet unpretentious environment for both leisure and business travellers. And private dining facilities, an open air roof garden and elegant function rooms, provide a plethora of unique options for events and meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Prestigia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your The Grand Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Court Grand Hotel York
Cedar Court Grand Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing