We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent weekend!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Ranked #6 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Cheshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent weekend!”
Reviewed 24 December 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with my partner for 1 night in December and we were treated like royalty from the moment we walked though the door. The staff were so helpful and polite. I'd also suggest dinning in the hotel as the food was incredible. The room was huge and the bed was extremely comfy the only down side was the high winds that made the windows rattle and woke us up in the night but I guess that couldn't be helped. I would certainly stay here again and recommend it to friends.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank vk_25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,837 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,845
    627
    218
    101
    46
See reviews for
488
2,338
74
215
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (696)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brit
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2013

Well this review is nothing but praise for this hotel, we had nothing but excellent service throughout our two night stay, has a pre Christmas get away.
From the rooms to the staff i have nothing but praise.
The rooms were decorated to the highest standard, the bathroom even had speakers in that relaid whatever was on the tv at the time, excellent feature, to put music channel on while you relax into one of the biggest bath i have come across in a hotel.
The separate shower was excellent too, big and roomy, and there were warm towels always on hand which was wonderful.
There was tea and coffee in the room, but both were of the highest quality no maxwell house to be seen anywhere. ha ha.
We had an evening meal at the hotel in "The Grill" the food was wonderful, my only slight compliant if there was one would be that the chose on the menu was limited, and i personally found it hard to find something to order.
But what i did have was lovely,
And if i am honest the other only very slight let down to our stay which is going to sound very picky is that the cocktail i had after out meal, was dreadful and i could not drink it. I ordered a margareta and my husband had a new york sour and they tasted both the same. In fact the waiter who did them and something i have never seen before in my life actually tasted them both through a straw before he served them to us.... very strange !!!
But that was the worse margareta i have ever tasted in my life and for £10 and over each cocktail it was a waste of money.
The breakfast in the morning was continental, the selection was fine, my husband really enjoyed the smoothies, and the yogurts were to die for.
So yes would totally recommend this hotel, and we will be staying here again i hope soon, just will not be ordering any cocktails ha.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReaBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
Level Contributor
69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Arrived at 9.30am for a family wedding. Valet parking costs £20. Valet said we should get a room soon as there were 35 not used the night before. The receptionist had other ideas. No room available until 3pm. All we wanted was a room somewhere to get changed for the wedding. She checked again but "computer said NO". We left our luggage and clothes with one of the many the concierges who we found to be sullen and indifferent. We had a very cold walk around York and on returning still no room. We were allowed by the very nice helpful spa staff to use the changing rooms to get ready for the wedding. Not ideal but it was that or the corridor.
The wedding was a success, food nice and staff were excellent.
We got to our room at 11.30pm but after a dreadful nights sleep due to running water from room above, a venting system that omitted a loud squeal every few minutes we checked out at 7.30am.
Receptionist was already aware of the noises reported by another guest.
We decided to skip the £40 breakfast. ( how expensive can sausage and bacon get?)
All in all this hotel is beautiful, rooms well appointed, food nice and staff at wedding reception faultless. However in order to make this a great hotel front of house staff need to be far flexible and accommodating and not so condescending.
Would we stay here again? No I am afraid not.

Room Tip: Do not accept room 207.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ColDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

We got off to a bad start with the concierge telling us we couldn't park outside the hotel even though we had our disabled mother with a disabled badge with us. After going into reception and sorting it out them saying it was absolutely no problem to park outside the hotel! Everything got better after that we went into the lounge bar and had a relaxing pre-lunch drink. The service in the restaurant was second to none fantastic! Sunday lunch was beautifully served and roast beef cooked to perfection. Well done restaurant and reception staff. Concierge you need to make allowance for the elderly and disabled!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindaWakefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scottish borders
Level Contributor
125 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

My wife and I stayed here recently and all we can say is that the rooms , service and food were wonderful . We were so impressed with the relaxed atmosphere that we have decided to stay for longer next time

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glorian2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

This was our second visit as we enjoyed it so much the last time. Wonderful building and rooms up to five star standard - great spa and marvellous service at breakfast and in the grill room. The evening menu is limited but the salmon three ways was one of the best plates of food I have enjoyed. However we totally agree with the review below about the cold, unhelpful, uninterested receptionist who being the first port of call needs to be addressed. We too arrived at 1pm to be told no rooms until 3pm - no warmth and no engagement with us to soften the blow after a long journey - management need to sort this out!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Globalbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Fantastic in every way from the moment we arrived until the moment we left! We were made to feel very special and with complimentary Molton Brown products in our room, what more could you ask for? Well worth the money, can't wait to go back! Perfect for a special occasion.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank figaromoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
1,197 reviews
1.9 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
0.1 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#10 of 46 in York
1,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.6 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#20 of 46 in York
1,466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel & Spa

Property: The Grand Hotel & Spa
Address: | Station Rise, York YO1 6HT, England (Formerly Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in York
#3 Family Hotel in York
#3 Spa Hotel in York
#3 Luxury Hotel in York
#3 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grand Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With stunning views of the Minster and the city’s ancient walls the Grand Hotel & Spa enjoys an enviable central location as York’s only five star hotel. Built in 1906 as one of the great railway buildings of York, the hotel’s graceful Edwardian architecture is complemented with fine dining and a luxurious spa complex that features an indoor pool and treatment rooms. All 107 guest rooms are individually designed and furnished to an extremely high specification, creating an indulgent yet unpretentious environment for both leisure and business travellers. And private dining facilities, an open air roof garden and elegant function rooms, provide a plethora of unique options for events and meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Prestigia, Priceline, TravelUp, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Grand Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Court Grand Hotel York
Cedar Court Grand Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing