We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Ranked #6 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent!!!!!!”
Reviewed 16 January 2014 via mobile

Just returned from York, easily without doubt the best hotel me and my partner have ever stayed in! 5 start treatment from the moment we arrived until even after we had left! (After checking out you can still leave your luggage in the safe hands of the concierge until our train was due).
Already we are planning our next visit! Not to fussed about seeing York - even though it's ideally placed - just an absolute pleasure in this hotel and spa.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DaleGould
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,839 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,847
    627
    218
    101
    46
See reviews for
488
2,339
74
216
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (697)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hartlepool
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Had a lovely stay here, rooms are very nice. Had a spa day on the saturday which was very nice ( the hot stones massage was very good).

We ate in The Grill Room restaurant on the Friday night, the food was excellent but the service a little slow. we received our main course then all had to sit for what seemed like 5 minutes waiting for the veg to arrive. Similarly with the deserts, I was having the cheese trolley with the others having a desert . The sheese trolley arrived and I chose my selection but then had to sit and wait for an unacceptable length of time waitng for their deserts to arrive.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

From the moment you step into this hotel it is certainly worthy of the name GRAND.
It is our second stay in this lovely hotel, it is so sparkling clean( especially the all mirrored lifts how do they do that) Nothing is to much trouble the staff are all polite and friendly,all rooms are amazing, bedrooms & bathrooms large and spotless.
Pool and spa area nice too.
Can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Both rooms we stayed in were on second floor,both lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hyacinth666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

This hotel was booked for an overnight stay... Which I wish had of been longer! Absolutely beautiful hotel with an amazing location!

As soon as we arrived - me and my boyfriend - we were greeted with polite door men who took our bags. We went to the desk and as we were early (check in at 3) they took our number and would ring if our room was ready for us early. They kept our bags for us during the day which was safe... They give you a ticket and nobody enters the luggage room except the men who give and take your luggage.

We shopped around York and then our room was ready. My boyfriend had bought the champagne package which is worth the price and had also arranged for balloons and banners as it was my 21st birthday... The staff did this without hesitation and what a lovely touch it was!

The room - double shower, huge bath, huge comfy bed, TV, huge windows, iron, hairdryer... The list goes on but what a fab room it was (executive double room).

We dined at The Grill restaurant within the hotel, although pricey very much worth it! Gorgeous, we'll cooked food and the waiters and waitresses were fab too.

I would like to say a special thank you to the 'bell boy' who went to the shop for Lemsip for my boyfriend who was feeling under the weather. Touches like this really make your stay where the staff cannot do enough to help!

Within the hotel there is a spa, we both had nech, shoulder and back aromatherapy massages which were gorgeous and then used the spa facilities which were also fab!!

I'd definitely recommend a visit to the hotel, restaurant, spa and bar! Definitely worth the 5 stars it has! We will be revisiting soon! :-)

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmnpb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Top to bottom, the Cedar Court Hotel & Spa is a great British 5*. Worth the extra few quid over your average 4* in the city!!

The building is immaculate, perfeclty located and very impressive - interior decor is grand but classy. The staff are all very well trained, extremely polite and helpful. We utilised the valet parking, porter, early check-in, housekeeping and bar - all spot on.

The 'room' we had (313 I think) was enormous, and I mean enormous! Would of been classed as a suite at most hotels. Couldn't fault it at all.

The Spa was ok, can't comment on treatments as we didnt use any but the staff seemed good. The pool/jacuzzi/sauna/steam were all very clean, nice relaxing setting.

I could go on, but needless to say, if I return to York I wouldn't consider booking anywhere else.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TP_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We have just returned from a weekend break at The Cedar Court to celebrate our ruby wedding anniversary and we would return in a flash. We stayed in a luxurious, spacious and comfortable room on the fourth floor. We had booked a deluxe room with the classic package and were given extra treats to make our stay memorable .All the staff throughout the hotel were extremely helpful and attentive, especially in the restaurant where we had breakfast and dinner one night. The food was tasty and the service excellent. We thought the hotel had a welcoming and peaceful atmosphere. The hotel is well located, a short walk from the station and in the other direction the town centre and attractions are all within a short walking distance. A wonderful 5* experience.

Room Tip: Room 401 is huge, quiet and well appointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hitchinphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Just returned from our first visit to the Cedar Court Grand Hotel in York for my Husband's birthday and we were not disappointed. Great location (it is 'grand'), with friendly and efficient service, huge room (the former Paymaster General's Office) with all the treats and comforts you would expect of a 5 star hotel. We didn't eat in the hotel as we had travelled to York to sample the 'Star Inn the City'. This hotel is not cheap but it is a great hotel for a special occasion or a pamper break in a lovely historic city and I'd go back tomorrow if I could!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
1,198 reviews
1.9 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
0.1 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#10 of 46 in York
1,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.6 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#20 of 46 in York
1,467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel & Spa

Property: The Grand Hotel & Spa
Address: | Station Rise, York YO1 6HT, England (Formerly Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in York
#3 Luxury Hotel in York
#3 Family Hotel in York
#3 Romantic Hotel in York
#3 Spa Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grand Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With stunning views of the Minster and the city’s ancient walls the Grand Hotel & Spa enjoys an enviable central location as York’s only five star hotel. Built in 1906 as one of the great railway buildings of York, the hotel’s graceful Edwardian architecture is complemented with fine dining and a luxurious spa complex that features an indoor pool and treatment rooms. All 107 guest rooms are individually designed and furnished to an extremely high specification, creating an indulgent yet unpretentious environment for both leisure and business travellers. And private dining facilities, an open air roof garden and elegant function rooms, provide a plethora of unique options for events and meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Grand Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Court Grand Hotel York
Cedar Court Grand Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing