We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best hotel in uk”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Ranked #6 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“best hotel in uk”
Reviewed 2 February 2014

just spent 2 nights in junior suitte room 2.to sum up perfection.from moment we were met outside hotel & had car valet parked we entered a sanctury of total luxury & excess.room brilliant bathroom had centre bath & no less than 3 showers.bed so comfy.there is some noise from the exclusive clientel of nearby nightclub.prlerhapd they shout so much as deafened by the music? but this is not hotels fault & we are both heavy sleepers.the bar is lovely with cocktails to die for.the restaurant kenu is super and the spa tranquil and wonderful.all in all if this is second best hotel in york i think this eebsite should have a recount! cannot wait til our next visit in august ten out of ten.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luxurythekey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,838 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,846
    627
    218
    101
    46
See reviews for
488
2,338
74
216
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (696)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Level Contributor
118 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

We called in for coffee this morning on a day trip to York with a couple of friends. We were so impressed with the hotel, service and our coffee, that we decided to return for coffee in the afternoon. The same waitress came to take our order and just asked if we would like the same we had earlier. Totally impressive! Unfortunately we failed to get he name. We enjoyed our exchanges with the concierge Mareck. All the staff were extremely courteous, helpful and friendly. We would love to return and enjoy other facilities in this hotel.

Last but not least... Why have coffee in some coffee house when you could enjoy the real 5* experience for around the same price.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank estelleManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 31 January 2014

My partner and I have just returned home from our two night stay at the amazing Cedar Court Hotel. We were made to feel very welcomed as we arrived from all of the staff with the consyer providing his services. Our classic double room was perfect in every way from the space and comfort to the cleanliness and use of products such as the mini bar and Molten Brown shampoo, body lotion etc. The spa facilities were excellent, providing a tranquil and calming experience. We had a continental breakfast which had a wide variety and the waiting staff were very polite. I highly reccomend this hotel and we are already planning our next visit. The only flaws is they could prewarn residents of the £200 direct debit deposit on arrival. Other than that, a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SJKerr90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

High standard of room (executive). Service was excellent in the restaurant and throughout.
Breakfast had a great variety of choices including vegetarian. I would recommend the eggs benedictine. Spa, gym areas brilliant and relaxing. Staff were friendly and courteous and could not ask for more. Top class for a 5* hotel and well done to the Staff for making our experience special!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cazzie42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blyth, Northumberland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

Our daughter treated us to a night for our golden wedding the staff were wonderful and we were up graded to a suite it is in a great position for everything would definitely recommend this hotel















Eeverythingwonderful

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Marlyn27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria UK
Level Contributor
56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

We have now visited the Hotel four times, we have just stayed again for two nights & had a wonderful time, the staff give First Class Service in all areas of the Hotel.
We also had a lovely meal in the Grill Room Restaurant , having just been on the Queen Mary Ship at Christmas & dinning in the Queens Grill Restaurant each evening we would like to say we enjoyed the food in your Hotel far better !!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beethoven1CumbriaUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

We stayed at this beautiful hotel in January. All the staff were very professional and welcoming. We were upgraded to a suite and were treated so well. We would certainly recommend this hotel and would definitely go back there if we were up in York again. The best hotel we have stayed in by far.

Room Tip: All rooms are extremely good, the higher floors have less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank malo17_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
1,198 reviews
1.9 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
0.1 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#10 of 46 in York
1,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.6 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#20 of 46 in York
1,467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel & Spa

Property: The Grand Hotel & Spa
Address: | Station Rise, York YO1 6HT, England (Formerly Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in York
#3 Romantic Hotel in York
#3 Luxury Hotel in York
#3 Spa Hotel in York
#3 Family Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grand Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With stunning views of the Minster and the city’s ancient walls the Grand Hotel & Spa enjoys an enviable central location as York’s only five star hotel. Built in 1906 as one of the great railway buildings of York, the hotel’s graceful Edwardian architecture is complemented with fine dining and a luxurious spa complex that features an indoor pool and treatment rooms. All 107 guest rooms are individually designed and furnished to an extremely high specification, creating an indulgent yet unpretentious environment for both leisure and business travellers. And private dining facilities, an open air roof garden and elegant function rooms, provide a plethora of unique options for events and meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, TravelUp, Ctrip TA, Prestigia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Grand Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Court Grand Hotel York
Cedar Court Grand Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing