We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but check your car before you leave!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Ranked #6 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 February 2014

My expectations for this hotel were very high, perhaps too high. Don't get me wrong the hotel is really nice, very posh. Our room on the fifth floor was nice but not the largest and nothing out of the ordinary in terms of furnishings etc. I really liked the turn down service at night where we got a weather forecast for the next day and a lip balm. The bathroom was very nice with underfloor heating and a huge bath!! Breakfast was okay but we had to wait 15minutes one morning just to get toast!
We used the spa which is visually very nice and we enjoyed an afternoon here. The bar lounge at night was very nice.
The downside is the parking, I think £20 a night when you are already paying for an expensive hotel is too much and I really think they should let you park your car there for the day you check out (instead of charging you more) The hotel park your car for you and bring it back for when you leave. Unfortunately I didn't check my car and it wasn't until the following morning I noticed a very large scuff on the front bumper!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katy_Craig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,008)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,314 - 2,320 of 4,008 reviews

Reviewed 6 February 2014

Excellent staff who were extremely helpful and welcoming especially the men who took our car away to be parked and carried our luggage - absolutely brilliant service -Thank you. The rooms are very clean and nicely decorated. We have stayed in many hotels across the UK over the years and this one is definitely top of the list. The breakfast was delicious.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Goodtripseekers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Couldn't fault this hotel, good location, fantastic building, and superb facilities.

Can be quite expensive but you get what you pay for, the spa is very smart and the standard rooms are more like suites than rooms.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

We stayed at this Hotel in January for my girlfriends 50th birthday. When we arrived we were overwhelmed by doorstaff, who couldn't do enough for us. However, that was where the wow stopped. The room we were given was beautiful and spacious, but the shower did not get above luke warm to cold on the first two days. We only got hot water on the monday and tuesday morning (probably less peak times/use in the rest of the hotel). Outside the room we were given, was the meeting place for the maids when they were cleaning the other rooms, so if you wanted a lie in you couldn't have one as from early in the morning was the sound of bottles and bins being banged together. The additional £20 parking charge per night is very steep. Also because of its location we were directed to drive over Lendal Bridge in order to get to the Hotel, and were met with a £60 fine on our return home for driving over the bridge which is apparantly now restricted access. Although you would not know this as cars were driving over it all the time when we were there. Whilst the hotel is beautiful and comfy, what we paid for the three nights would have paid for a week abroad and it really didn't feel like it was that special.

Room Tip: Make sure the room that holds all the stores for replenishing rooms, etc used by the maids is no whe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

We visited the hotel for our 9 year anniversary at the beginning of January and it didn't dissapoint.

The hotel is stunning and our room was wonderful. The bathroom in particular had every feature you could possibly need including underfloor heating (essential this time of year) and a steam-proof mirror meaning I didn't have to wait hours to do my makeup after a shower.

The spa was also wonderful (if a little small) and we spent a lovely afternoon in the pool, sauna and steam room all included in the price of the room. As we were at the back of the hotel we were also able to use the more private staircase at the back meaning we could wander up and down in our robes.

Breakfast was also lovely. Both the buffet and cooked breakfasts were delicious. The staff were also incredibly helpful.

Staff also get a special mention in the bar. They met everyone of our needs with a smile and were very knowledgeable. Do make the most of the extensive whisky list and gin list. Fabulous!

A fantastic location if you want to explore the city of York and a wonderful place if you intend to relax and never leave!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

The service in this hotel was exceptional. I had a great stay, the spa facilities all though minimal are very relaxing. I didn't eat at the hotel but had a couple of drinks in the very cool and relaxed bar area. Excellent room and facilities. Would highly recommend business or pleasure.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PrideInService
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

This hotel was amazing, our room was huge and had lovely decor, the staff truly do make you feel special! Total luxury staying here, I'd reccomend to anyone is they were planning a special night away.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank darcystewartturner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#11 of 47 in York
1,379 reviews
1.9 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
0.6 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
651 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#21 of 47 in York
1,522 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel & Spa

Address: | Station Rise, York YO1 6HT, England (Formerly Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in York
#3 Luxury Hotel in York
#3 Romantic Hotel in York
#3 Family Hotel in York
#3 Spa Hotel in York
Price Range: £142 - £370 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grand Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With stunning views of the Minster and the city’s ancient walls the Grand Hotel & Spa enjoys an enviable central location as York’s only five star hotel. Built in 1906 as one of the great railway buildings of York, the hotel’s graceful Edwardian architecture is complemented with fine dining and a luxurious spa complex that features an indoor pool and treatment rooms. All 107 guest rooms are individually designed and furnished to an extremely high specification, creating an indulgent yet unpretentious environment for both leisure and business travellers. And private dining facilities, an open air roof garden and elegant function rooms, provide a plethora of unique options for events and meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Prestigia, TravelUp, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Grand Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Court Grand Hotel And Spa
Cedar Court Grand Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing