We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Felt Like Royalty”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Ranked #6 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Felt Like Royalty”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Highly recommend small hotel. Spent 3 days here last week and have never experienced anything like this hotel. Everything about it was perfect. The Junior Suite we stayed in was big enough for a small army. Loved every minute of it and every member of staff we encountered in our stay was polite, helpful and very friendly. The location of the hotel is brilliant.

Will 100% be visiting this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dougie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,805 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,828
    620
    215
    99
    43
See reviews for
486
2,320
73
212
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (691)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Upgraded to an executive room which was lovely . Staff were all friendly and helpful. Breakfast was just ok, tricky to work out if anything hot e.g. porridge was £5 extra because it was hot. HQ restaurant nice had afternoon tea £26 per person but lots of options in town at half the price. Same for dinner ( expensive ) and other equally nice options very close by.
Spa a little disappointing ...never any staff on reception to give you a towel, never checked the sign in sheet (swam one night at 9.30pm) when I left day sheet removed, still no-one at reception...no-one had checked I was still in!
Very small chill out room.

Pleasant break, hotel is lovely close to station and city centre.

Room Tip: All seem to be comfortable from wide carpeted corridors . Higher up better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RioSriOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We checked in for a 55th Wedding Anniversary afternoon tea and were delighted that everything went so well. From the early booking with special dietary requirements for two guests, through the hassle-free check-in (despite a technical glitch with all room keys causing some delay) to the pleasant and friendly service throughout, we couldn't have been happier. It is a real pleasure these days to be met with such flawless service - and so rare indeed! Happy and smiling at all times the entire staff could not have done more for us all. Rooms are huge and well appointed, the building of enormous proportions and the location perfect for a short stroll across the bridge into town. Ended the evening with drinks in one of the many bars in the hotel…a perfect end to a perfect short stay. Will definitely be back!

Room Tip: three couples travelling, three perfect rooms, hard to recommend any specific one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanL212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
95 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. As we lay in the huge bath sipping Bollinger we both agreed that this hotel has everything. The location is ideal for York exploring. The building is impressive. The room was superb, a BIG BED and fab bathroom with separate shower. The spa is great and even the pool temp was spot on. Breakfast was amazing, especially the Eggs Florentine! The staff deserve a special mention as they were key to making the whole thing work. Overall the best hotel we've ever stayed in.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Cass09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We held our fathers 70th birthday lunch here as a surprise to him. It was an informal meal in the chairmans suite brilliant room. The staff were so helpful and could not do enough nothing was too much trouble. They even suggested extras like a bet for the grand national as it was racing that day and everyone got a bet. The food was delicious and plenty. I really cannot recommend this hotel highly enough they went above and beyond to make sure our fathers birthday was very special catering for all individual needs. This is what a hotel should be customer service at its best. The staff should be commended for their efforts.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lountony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We stayed here last Easter and had a fantastic 4 day city break in York. The staff are very welcoming and the rooms are very specious. Overall it is a very good quality hotel in a good spot in York, plenty to see and do in the surrounding area.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OCOX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We stayed here as a group of six ladies in our family for Mother's Day. We were met my very formal but friendly and welcoming door staff who were very eager to take our bags from us. We were shown to our room, given a tour of our room, told history of the building and offered maps and information on the city. We were very impressed with the standard of our rooms.

In and around the hotel were plenty of staff who really could not do enough for us, we were made to feel really special.

Evening meal was delicious and staff were attentive and informative.

Breakfast was wonderful.

We spend our second day in the spa, the general facilities were lovely and the treatments were amazing, the staff were great, we even had champagne in the relaxation room.

In short there was not one thing we could fault. If you are looking for a real treat in a luxury hotel then you would have to go a long way to beat this place x

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#11 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,120 reviews
1.9 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
0.3 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,145 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 46 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel & Spa

Property: The Grand Hotel & Spa
Address: | Station Rise, York YO1 6HT, England (Formerly Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in York
#3 Luxury Hotel in York
#3 Family Hotel in York
#3 Romantic Hotel in York
#3 Spa Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grand Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With stunning views of the Minster and the city’s ancient walls the Grand Hotel & Spa enjoys an enviable central location as York’s only five star hotel. Built in 1906 as one of the great railway buildings of York, the hotel’s graceful Edwardian architecture is complemented with fine dining and a luxurious spa complex that features an indoor pool and treatment rooms. All 107 guest rooms are individually designed and furnished to an extremely high specification, creating an indulgent yet unpretentious environment for both leisure and business travellers. And private dining facilities, an open air roof garden and elegant function rooms, provide a plethora of unique options for events and meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your The Grand Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Court Grand Hotel York
Cedar Court Grand Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing