We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Birthday treat.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Ranked #6 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night for my wife's birthday. We had dinner bed and breakfast everything was first class. Ok it's expensive but you get what you pay for as the saying goes. We can't wait to stay again, the service and room were simply magnificent.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
Thank Colinjyorkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreaSCCG, Front Office Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

Dear Colinjyorkie

A happy belated birthday to your wife and thank you for choosing our hotel to mark this special occassion.

I was pleased to read that you found your room and our service magnificient - a credit to our excellent team, who work so hard to cater for our guests needs.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa

Warm regards
Andrea Schipper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,976)
There are newer reviews for The Grand Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,136 - 2,142 of 3,976 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2014

From the concierge parking and friendliest of welcomes to the immaculate room and excellent food, we cannot fault this lovely characterful hotel. We stayed for three nights and enjoyed every minute. The location of the hotel is excellent - we drove our car out of York each day and its straightforward to get out of the city without congestion. Its also walking distance from the station.

The hotel has been created in an older building and done with great taste and imagination - the wide corridors were particularly impressive. The whole place was spotlessly clean, one day I found a cleaner on her knees cleaning the skirting board - that shows the attention to detail here.

The pool area is beautifully done with the old safe room doors being a feature. There is also a sauna, steam room and spa bath.

We ate in on two nights. The menu is keenly priced and the food lovely. My steak was one of the best I have ever had.

All in all we are already telling our friends about this hotel and looking forward to our next stay there.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreaSCCG, Front Office Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

Dear John

Thank you for such lovely review. We are so delighted to that you enjoyed your stay, the facilities, the building and the food!

We look forward to welcoming your family & friends and, of course, we look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to York.

Warm regards
Andrea Schipper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Lovely hotel great spa / pool area. Rooms are immaculate, bar is very nice for a drink did not eat here so not sure on restaurant. Parking will cost you £20 as they will not allow you to park outside the hotel, but website does mention this, breakfast ok but no veggie option to full English. Hotel also charged me for cooked breakfast even though I had already paid for this via amoma booking, so not impressed by that error but amoma refunded. Would stay again as rooms and location great.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreaSCCG, Front Office Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

Dear Mark

Thank you for your feedback. I am pleased that you enjoyed a drink in our bar and found the found our rooms immaculate.

I am disappointed that you were not offered vegetarian sausages for your Vegetarian Full Breakfast, I will pass this comment on to our Breakfast Manager. Please also accept my apologies for the breakfast charge on your statement, I trust our reception team removed the charge immediately when it was mentioned.

I am delighted to read that you will stay with us again and we look forward to having you back.

Warm regards
Andrea Schipper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Stayed here for two nights 12th May, Had an executive room on 3rd floor, everything was perfect from start to finish, staff could not do enough for you and they were all so pleasant.Unfortunately we did not eat in the hotel which was our biggest regret.Breakfast was excellent we had booked continental but took the option of full english so glad we did..As I am a Travel Agent and have stayed in many hotels around the world I can honestly say this hotel would be very near the one of the best, I will certainly recommend the Cedar Court to my customers.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 601Lol1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreaSCCG, Front Office Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

Dear 6012Lol1954

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa.

We were delighed that you enjoyed your Executive room and I was particularly pleased that you found our team pleasant and accommodating.

You must come back and sample our restaurants, in addition to our Hudson's restaurant we recently opened our fine dining restaurant the 'HQ'.

We look forward to seeing you again =.

Warm regards
Andrea Schipper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

For and "old world" style this is a really good (but expensive) hotel! The rooms are exceptionally big by both European and American(!) standards, and the fixtures/fittings are well appointed too with quality of upkeep & small luxuries / features associated with top rated hotels. Staff are excellent and very attentive. Was here on business but York is a fairly small city and being about 30 feet from the edge of the City Wall should be easily within 5- 10 mins walking distance for most of York attractions (the red sightseeing tour buses go right past too!). It is 3-5 mins walk from train station so ideal location.

Stayed: May 2014
Thank Captain_JD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben_M_Deputy_GM, Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Dear Captain JD

So pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

It gives us great pleasure that the staff in particular made you feel so welcome, as we pride ourselves on providing a true Yorkshire welcome.

It was equally pleasing to hear that you enjoyed our spacious and luxurious rooms, and we certainly are blessed with having such a great location in the city centre - and you are correct the citys sightseeing buses do stop right outside the hotel as do the sightseeing boats on the river.

Thank you once again and hope to see you soon.

Kind Regards

Ben Morcombe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

Across the board excellent choice of hotel for trip to York. Right next to station and easy walk to City. Stylish design and use of materials, finishes creating contemporary feel in an interesting georgian building. Food and service bang on the money. Ranks with best breakfast ever.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank RLMorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben_M_Deputy_GM, Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dear RLMorgan

So nice to hear that you had an enjoyable visit to us recently.

It was lovely to hear that you enjoyed our Yorkshire breakfast and that is credit to Susana Ramos our breakfast manager and her team who work hard from the early hours of the morning to ensure everything is right for our guests when they rise. We also use the freshest local ingredients at breakfast and our head chef sources our sausages, balck pudding and various other local ingredients from the best suppliers in Yorkshire.

It was also pleasing to hear that you found it such great value for money.

Once again many thanks

Kind Regards

Ben Morcombe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

A group of 8 friends stayed at The Cedar Court Hotel this past weekend to celebrate a 60th birthday. What a find! The hotel is in a great location, in a beautiful building with wide corridors, high ceilings, lots of natural light and many original characteristics - which make it a completely unique property. We had a deluxe room, on the 4th floor, which was really spacious and well equipped. Lovely bathroom, and comfy beds! The staff were all super friendly and knowledgeable - especially the concierge, Jordi. Great bar area, with additional small sitting rooms, ideal for a group such as ours. Afternoon Tea and breakfast were excellent, as was the meal we had in the evening @ Hudsons. The ONLY disappointment was the length of time we waited to be served for dinner. Our table was booked at 8pm, and we did not get our mains until 10.15. To be fair, the restaurant was very busy but, even so..... Despite this, we would definitely return. Highly recommended for a city break.

Room Tip: We were very happy with our corner room on the 4th floor - as were our friends on the ground and 2nd...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben_M_Deputy_GM, Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dear Lynn

We are so pleased to hear that you had a lovely visit to our beautiful hotel.

We are equally delighted to hear that you took advantage of all the different facilities within the hotel. We have recently revamped our new afternoon tea menu to offer some delicious new cakes for the summer so it was very pleasing to hear you enjoyed them.

Our rooms are very spacious and it is nice to know these do not go unnoticed. Our Deputy Head Concierege Jordi Vacca has recently been inducted into the golden keys association for concierge and is a real credit to the hotel so it is very pleasing to hear that he and the concierge team looked after you so well.

We am sorry about the delays at dinner, you are right the restaurant was particularly busy on that evening with big tables, and a group of 17 did arrive late which sadly delayed a couple of tables. So please accept our apologies about that.

Many thanks once again and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards

Ben Morcombe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#10 of 47 in York
1,334 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,342 reviews
1.9 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
648 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#19 of 47 in York
1,507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel & Spa

Address: | Station Rise, York YO1 6HT, England (Formerly Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in York
#3 Romantic Hotel in York
#3 Family Hotel in York
#3 Luxury Hotel in York
#3 Spa Hotel in York
Price Range: £131 - £407 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grand Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With stunning views of the Minster and the city’s ancient walls the Grand Hotel & Spa enjoys an enviable central location as York’s only five star hotel. Built in 1906 as one of the great railway buildings of York, the hotel’s graceful Edwardian architecture is complemented with fine dining and a luxurious spa complex that features an indoor pool and treatment rooms. All 107 guest rooms are individually designed and furnished to an extremely high specification, creating an indulgent yet unpretentious environment for both leisure and business travellers. And private dining facilities, an open air roof garden and elegant function rooms, provide a plethora of unique options for events and meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Prestigia, Expedia, TravelUp, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Grand Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Court Grand Hotel And Spa
Cedar Court Grand Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing