We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OMG.This was truely amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Ranked #7 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This hotel was booked as a birthday get-away. And to say l tripped over my bottom jaw on arrival is so much the truth. On arrival the doorman arrived beside the car and requested our keys, asked us what cases we wished to take into the hotel, unpacked the boot, Called two other bell boys and had our bags and cases taken to reception, on a big trolly like swanky USA hotels. Nothing was too much trouble and the guy who showed us to our room gave us a lovely history lesson about the building. The dinner was just so out of this world, as was breakfast the next morning. The swimming pool and healthy club were great as well. To surprise someone with a night in this Hotel as a present is just never ending browny points. The memories it gave us have not dulled and will never go. Costly but worth every penny as a surprise.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Station Mastered office, just amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank witchy446305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben_M_Deputy_GM, Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear Witchy

We are delighted that you had such a memorable stay with us, and as the video on our website says, we aim to create memories for all our guests, so it delights us that this is the case with you.

Our historic building is most certianly memorable but it is the service and hospitality that our team give to our guests that I believe makes us so different from other hotels.

I do hope that you can return to us again soon.

Kind Regards

Ben Morcombe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,067)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,210 - 2,216 of 4,068 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Went to this beautiful hotel abiut 3yrs ago and reebooked this april 2014 and the standards havent changed at all. Still as spotless and staff are so friendly you dont have to be posh to stay here its down to earth folk if you want to make or if you want lap up the courtesy the staff can offer. The pool and spa is lovely and usually empty. The beds in room are so comfy and big. Molten brownie bathroom accessories to take away if you dont use them but are replenished daily. Bettys tearoom flavoured teas inroom. Mini fridge well expensive so get your chocs and beers from the sainsburys express 2min walk away. Perfect location bang in the centre of york.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulineBolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben_M_Deputy_GM, Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear Pauline

Thnak you for your kind words on your visit to us at the Cedar Court Grand Hotel and Spa.

We pride ourselves on being Yorkshire's only 5 star hotel - and therefore providing a proper Yorkshire welcome. This means we are approachable, friendly and we look after our guests with a smile on our face.

I am pleased that our relaxed approach made for such an enjoyable stay, we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards

Ben Morcombe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I really should have left a review sooner, as we have stayed at the Cedar Court Grand three times now, and it just gets better.
Our last visit was earlier this month, and it was faultless. The building has so much character with a beautiful reception area, wide corridors and excellent rooms and bathrooms. The bar manages to be both comfortable and luxurious, and the staff are, without exception, friendly and exceptionally helpful.
We haven't dined in the hotel in the evening, but breakfast is delicious.
Very well located for the station too, and an easy walk to anywhere you need to get to in the city centre.
I would highly recommend this hotel, and will look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leighandnigel7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben_M_Deputy_GM, Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear Leigh and Nigel

It is always so nice to hear from guests who have stayed with us more than once who can evaluate the changes we have made to try and make our hotel a better place to stay in.

To hear that these changes have been a success is a real credit to the hard working team we have, so thank you for the feedback.

As regular guests I would like to add you to our VIP list so please email me on ben.morcombe@cedarcourtgrand.co.uk with your details and I would be delighted to do this for you.

Kind Regards

Ben Morcombe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I just can't rave about this place enough! The staff were so friendly and very helpful - you felt like you were important to them which helps to make a stay relaxing.
The room (an executive double) was huge with simply the best bed I've ever slept in! Perfect double shower and deep bath and all the extras you'd expect from a 5 star.
We ate in the restaurant and, although not cheap, it was worth every penny, as were the cocktails in the sumptuous lounge afterwards.
We managed to prise ourselves from the comfy bed in the morning and enjoyed an hour in the spa, I just wished we'd thought ahead and booked a treatment. A special thanks to Jordi and reception for making us feel so welcome.
The hotel is really close to both the centre of York and the train station and I just can't wait to go back!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank LynseyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben_M_Deputy_GM, Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear Lynsey

So lovely to hear that you had such a great stay with us on your visit to York.

I would most certianly agree that our rooms are certainly spacious and more than relaxing if you are staying for more than a couple of nights.

It is also pleasing to hear that you enjoyed our spa and some treatments whilst you were here.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Ben Morcombe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We went in winter, before Christmas and it was lovely. York was lovely enough but we found ourselves just staying to the hotel. The hotel has amazing amenities you really don't have to leave to go anywhere! The whisky bar was superb, but after a few, remember please that some of the glasses you're ordering are very pricey!!! But amazing nonetheless! We ate at the restaurant, and it was five star dining. Definitely understand why it has earned a few rosettes. I had a really amazing steak, and for dessert I sampled their cheese tray! Second to none in England, I haven't had the pleasure of having a cheese trolley carted to your table for you to pick and choose. The cheeses could have been a little warmer but I imagine they had been out and it was just generally cold. Overall the room was wonderful with a big shower and a heated floor. Really lovely experience as the staff really accommodated your every need. I had a wonderful massage at the spa. The Hotel is situated just inside the city walls and it was a wonderful quick walk to anywhere local. Definitely will be staying here again when in the area.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Regina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben_M_Deputy_GM, Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear Regina

Thank you so much for your lovely review on our hotel and we are pleased that you had such an enjoyable stay with us.

York is such a vibrant city with so many historic places to see and things to do, so to hear that you stayed within the hotel and still had such a wonderful time is testament to the facilities we have and our welcoming team that looked after you.

I do hope you come and stay with us again soon.

Kind Regards

Ben Morcombe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Just wanted to say thank you to all the friendly staff at this hotel who made our weekend visit simply fantastic.
Stayed for one night room was very clean house keeping very helpful front desk very helpful well done.

Room Tip: All rooms are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charles b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreaSCCG, Front Office Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Charles

Thank you very much for your lovely feedback. We were very pleased to read that you enjoyed your weekend with us and found our staff very friendly and helpful - in particular our Housekeeping and Front of House team.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon

Best regards
Andrea Schipper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

The hotel is fantastic and so is the service. The Spa is small but nice, If you want a treatment you need to book in advance. I love Sundays is a offer good. The Car park £20 but nice they park it for you. The ideal spot to discover York. Great service and rooms. Enjoy

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caroline k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreaSCCG, Front Office Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Caroline

Thank you for your comments.

I could not agree more, the I Love Sunday package is a fabulous offer. accommodation, continental breakfast, 30mins treatment each in the Spa, late check out until 12noon on Monday and full use of our Spa facilities. What a relaxing way to spend a Sunday.

I am glad you enjoyed your time with us and we hope to see you back soon.

Warm regards
Andrea Schipper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
1.9 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
0.6 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 47 in York
1,439 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#12 of 47 in York
1,439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
663 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#39 of 47 in York
2,927 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#17 of 47 in York
1,537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel & Spa

Address: | Station Rise, York YO1 6HT, England (Formerly Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in York
#3 Spa Hotel in York
#3 Romantic Hotel in York
#3 Family Hotel in York
#4 Luxury Hotel in York
Price Range: £138 - £390 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grand Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With stunning views of the Minster and the city’s ancient walls the Grand Hotel & Spa enjoys an enviable central location as York’s only five star hotel. Built in 1906 as one of the great railway buildings of York, the hotel’s graceful Edwardian architecture is complemented with fine dining and a luxurious spa complex that features an indoor pool and treatment rooms. All 107 guest rooms are individually designed and furnished to an extremely high specification, creating an indulgent yet unpretentious environment for both leisure and business travellers. And private dining facilities, an open air roof garden and elegant function rooms, provide a plethora of unique options for events and meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TravelUp, Booking.com, Prestigia, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Grand Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Court Grand Hotel And Spa
Cedar Court Grand Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing