We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Ranked #6 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Luxurious”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

My husband and I stayed here one night at the end of a 3 1/2 week trip. Our room was luxurious and spacious. We had stayed in some lovely B&B's and hotels but didn't always have the room to spread our things out. The separate areas with counter and sink space were especially nice for us at this point in our journey. We loved the underfloor heating in the bathrooms...a very nice touch. The room was quiet and the bed was very comfortable, making for an excellent night's sleep.

The staff was friendly, helpful and anxious to please. The location is excellent for seeing the sights and also very close to the train station. We walked to the station coming and going. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben_M_Deputy_GM, Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Leah

It delights us to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us at the Cedar Court Grand hotel and spa.

We are so pleased that as a team we were able to make your stay go so well and that we looked after you throughout. It also pleases us that those little touches like underfloor heating added that touch of luxury to your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future

Kind Regards

Ben Morcombe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,877 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,873
    635
    220
    101
    48
See reviews for
497
2,363
75
215
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (700)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Just returned from an absolutely sublime stay at the cedar grand court. The staff , and facilities delivered on every level. its rare to find a 5 star hotel that strikes the perfect balance between attentive service and remaining relaxed , but the cedar in York does that wonderfully. I cant say enough nice things about it. Peter the concierge was brilliant from the moment we got within 10ft of the front door, until we left 3 days later. I am disappointed to only be able to give 5 stars for the breakfast - it was worthy of much more !

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jonty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Riding of Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

I have stayed here many times, it is without doubt one of best hotels in Yorkshire. It Ouse's quality & class and it always delivers on every level. The terrace area is lovely perfect for summer nights eating or just relaxing with a drink. Although it can be a little windy and you need to position yourself to catch the sun, it's the location of the terrace In between two buildings it feels at times like your in a wind tunnel. Not complaining that's just how it is. We had a suite on the 4th floor where we were told by a staff member any of the HRH's who stay use these rooms. So really don't have to say much about the rooms if they are up to royal approval. The bar area is a relaxing chilling place with a very rich feel about it, love that bar, once your sat there you really don't want to move. Breakfast is excellent although not the quickest service but a Sunday morning and the hotel full it's hardly something to moan about
The staff here are excellent they have a very professional team at the Cedar Court
The location of the hotel is perfect if you are arriving by train only a 7 min walk from the station but by car it will be parked for you it is a pretty perfect set up , it's what you expect from a 5 star hotel and they deliver
I could go on about the spa gym and the many other relaxing rooms here but you really need to go and enjoy the experience yourself

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altrincham
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

From the moment we approached the hotel from the railway station , dragging our suitcases behind us and were greeted by a concierge who assisted us with them, to the moment we left, again assisted all the way to the railway station , the experience of this hotel was amazing. Any query was attended to immediately. We felt we got the personal service of a small hotel combined with the proffessional service of a five star luxury establishment. Cleanliness second to none. I would like to especially mention Jordi for going the extra mile during our stay, with his knowledge of all things York , which helped us to make the most of our stay in the city.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Moe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Cedar Court is probably among the best that York has to offer but is really a solid four star hotel with ambitions to be a little more. My views were probably coloured by recent experience as I arrived in York having just spent a couple of days at the recently re-furbished Cafe Royal, London Piccadilly Circus, but although the price tag for a suite there was comparable to this hotel the quality and service were certainly not.

The arrangements for check in / check out are inadequate particularly at busy times and this was compounded by a computer problem which left only one functional terminal when I checked in. Very frustrating after a long journey. The room itself was spacious but very traditional in style and without the wow factor. The underfloor heating in the bathroom made it uncomfortably warm during the night.

The spa and pool are basic and a little cramped, smelling heavily of Chlorine and with no real area to sit and relax. When we visited on a Saturday in the early evening it was overrun with noisy children and not a place to linger.

The bar and restaurant were all OK.. but again not really 5 star quality or service. All in all the whole experience from start to finish was really just OK. This is a solid business hotel but I would hesitate to book for a long weekend break.

Room Tip: Suite 405 is certainly quiet spacious and comfortable but somehow trapped in the 80's.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Hugh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warlingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

So sorry for the late review. Family stayed here for 3 nights in October 2013 and the whole stay was fantastic. The Hotel were brilliant with the kids. The room was amazing, double height with huge windows. Swimming Pool, Spa and Gym were great. Had a great time in York and for a short stay in Winter / Half Term it was cracking.

Room Tip: For a family see if you can get a double height room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KKIS-Surrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton-le-Willows, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I first stayed here last month for a couple of nights with my husband and couldnt wait to go back. I booked the 'I love Sundays' package and couldnt believe the value for money.
We arrived early ,the valet parking was great, no hassle around parking and worth the cost. After the day spent round York we checked in ,the room was lovely ,two good sized beds, dressing gowns and slippers and fabulous Molton Brown goodies.We headed to the Spa as the package included a thirty minute treatment.. I opted for the neck, shoulder and back massage. It was divine I cant rate the spa staff highly enough, friendly and probably the best massage I have had .
We didnt eat in the hotel but had cocktails in the bar ,and although they are a bit pricey ,the Apple Crumble martini was sublime, in fact we ended up having three but they were sooo good, and by the second we didnt care how much they cost.
The continental breakfast the next day was good ,with a good selection ,however we were asked for our room number 3 times, no one else was, so made us feel as though they didnt think we should be having breakfast.
Good checkout ,friendly staff ,excellent valet service.
I cant wait until I can go again, and cant recommend this hotel enough .

Room Tip: If you are using the spa ,the ground floor rooms are good for accessing the spa via the stairs, avoi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juliee41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,245 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#10 of 47 in York
1,208 reviews
1.9 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.6 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#18 of 47 in York
1,476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel & Spa

Property: The Grand Hotel & Spa
Address: | Station Rise, York YO1 6HT, England (Formerly Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in York
#3 Family Hotel in York
#3 Spa Hotel in York
#3 Luxury Hotel in York
#3 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grand Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With stunning views of the Minster and the city’s ancient walls the Grand Hotel & Spa enjoys an enviable central location as York’s only five star hotel. Built in 1906 as one of the great railway buildings of York, the hotel’s graceful Edwardian architecture is complemented with fine dining and a luxurious spa complex that features an indoor pool and treatment rooms. All 107 guest rooms are individually designed and furnished to an extremely high specification, creating an indulgent yet unpretentious environment for both leisure and business travellers. And private dining facilities, an open air roof garden and elegant function rooms, provide a plethora of unique options for events and meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Prestigia, Ebookers, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your The Grand Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Court Grand Hotel York
Cedar Court Grand Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing