We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My experience was too short!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Ranked #7 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Made a weekend out of an invitation to friends 70th. I used to work in these offices so thought I would treat myself and see how them conversion had gone. I was not disappointed. Stepped off the train into hotel. Service and staff first class and friendly. Although a standard room really top class with the most comfortable bed, pillows and duvet that I have experienced. Had the best nights sleep in a hotel that I recall in a long time. Sadly due to the pressure of my social engagement I did not have time to experience the facilities such as the bar and the spa. They looked after our bags on the day of departure and I collected them as we passed on the way to the station. I am now looking for an excuse to return.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mikehse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben_M_Deputy_GM, Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Dear Mike

Thank you for your lovely review of your stay with us.

We are so glad that you had such a pleasant nights sleep, or hypnos beds are some of the best available and certainly provide for a relaxing night.

Welcoming back former workers or employees from this historic old building is such a treat, and we regularly hold open days for local residents to do just that. On you next visit our concierge team would be delighted to show you round and give your a tour of some of the back of house areas you may remember. In fact there is your excuse for a return visit.

Hoep to see you soon.

Kind Regards

Ben Morcombe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,216)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,321 - 2,327 of 4,216 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights as a birthday present. Clearly a 5 star hotel in a beautiful old building. The staff were excellent, very helpful and personable.
The location couldn't be better for exploring York, right opposite the City Walls (well worth the walk round these) and 5 minutes from all the shops, restaurants and Cathedral.
We stayed in a classic double, which was larger than I thought it would be with comfortable chairs and a very nice bathroom.
We used the spa, including having treatments. This is well worth a visit, although small it had everything we wanted and the staff and treatments were very good.
Breakfast was £15 for continental or £20 for cooked. All the food was lovely, a good variety of options on the cooked menu, cereals, fruit, pastries etc.
We also ate at Hudson's restaurant one evening, again the food was lovely with a great choice and excellent service.
The outdoor terrace was very large and a great area to have a drink from the extensive cocktail menu. Both the lounges were lovely and cosy, always well attended by the bar staff who were friendly.
We had Afternoon Tea which was very good. We would especially recommend the 'Hendricks Afternoon Tea' - delicious!
Overall an excellent hotel, but you would expect that for the price, well worth it for a special treat.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KB13AJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben_M_Deputy_GM, Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Dear kb13aj

What a lovely post on your stay with us and so nice to hear that all aspects of your stay were so enjoyable.

To hear that the food, spa, room and service excedded your expecatations is so rewarding or the team here, how work so hard to deliver this to all our guests.

In particular you mentioned our stunning Hendricks afternoon tea, which really is a unique way to enjoy afternoon tea, sipping on hendricks gin and tonics.

Once again thank you for taking the time to post a review and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Ben Morcombe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

What a fabulous experience. Arrived a little too early to check in, however we were made to feel extremely welcome & car valet parked. Impeccable service received from Peter in concierge, very friendly, professional, courteous & knowledgeable, gave us fab directions & recommendations for our York experience! Hotel, room & spa facilities were first class, wouldn't hesitate to recommend, just sad the weather wasn't as kind, as bubbly on the terrace would have been fantastic! We'll be back!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elviemoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We love staying at the Cedar Court in York, York has so much to offer but we still just stay in the hotel sometimes. The pool is always warm and inviting and the food is so good too. Pull up outside and your car is taken care of until you leave, no worries about parking.

Room Tip: Penthouse is worth the money....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jackdee12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Holy moly. What a fantastic place. Possibly the most luxurious hotel I've ever stayed in. It was, after all, as the concierge reminded us, the only 5-star hotel in Yorkshire. (Or possibly the first?)
Super convenient to the train station, huge rooms (15' ceilings?), very comfortable beds, great big bathtubs, and friendly, helpful staff. No complaints whatsoever. Can't even imagine what anyone might possibly find to complain about.

Stayed: June 2014
1  Thank Erynn_Marie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Never been to York and decided to celebrate our anniversary there, chose the hotel based on reviews. Couldn't fault it. Will be going back to make more use of the facilities. The hotel even waived the bill for the meal in the Hudsons restaurant, thank you cedar court absolutely fantastic

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lambretta2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Myself and two girl friends had a spa package at this wonderful hotel,it included afternoon tea and an hours spa treatment overnight stay and continental breakfast and apart from a tiny hickup on checkout I cannot fault the place, the staff are very friendly and helpful (all of them) rooms were sheer luxury, drinking a Hendricks gin out of a china cup and saucer was a different experience and I had the best back massage ever, looking forward to our next trip.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karen p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
1.9 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
0.1 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#12 of 47 in York
1,578 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#18 of 47 in York
1,571 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel & Spa

Address: | Station Rise, York YO1 6HT, England (Formerly Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in York
#3 Spa Hotel in York
#3 Romantic Hotel in York
#5 Luxury Hotel in York
Price Range: £122 - £331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grand Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With stunning views of the Minster and the city’s ancient walls the Grand Hotel & Spa enjoys an enviable central location as York’s only five star hotel. Built in 1906 as one of the great railway buildings of York, the hotel’s graceful Edwardian architecture is complemented with fine dining and a luxurious spa complex that features an indoor pool and treatment rooms. All 107 guest rooms are individually designed and furnished to an extremely high specification, creating an indulgent yet unpretentious environment for both leisure and business travellers. And private dining facilities, an open air roof garden and elegant function rooms, provide a plethora of unique options for events and meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Grand Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Court Grand Hotel York
Cedar Court Grand Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing