We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Nearby Hotels
US$159
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$147
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Holiday Inn Express York(York)(Great Value!)
US$104
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$101
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
York Marriott Hotel(York)(Great Value!)
US$156
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hilton York(York)
US$177
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$161
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$231
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$223
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$216
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$369
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$347
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn York(York)(Great Value!)
US$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$140
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$109
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$172
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$145
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (4,311)
Filter reviews
4,311 results
Traveller rating
3,142
715
267
120
67
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,142
715
267
120
67
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscedar courtmolton brown toiletriesturn down servicestar hotellip balmdoor staffclassic roomexecutive roomunderfloor heatingon arrivaloriginal featuressteam roomcontinental breakfastamazing hotelbeautiful buildingtrain stationbirthday treat
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,411 - 2,416 of 4,311 reviews
Reviewed 6 July 2014

absolutly fantastic hotel and spa the only grievance we had was paying 20 pound to park the car especially when the room cost 205.00.i thought all parking was complimentary in hotels after all we are giving them our buisness are we not.Greedy comes to mind.

Room Tip: all rooms are exellent.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben_M_Deputy_GM, Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Anne

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay with us, and we are so pleased you choose to score us the maxiumum 5.

We do charge our guests for parking, this is because we have no parking on site at the hotel and valet park cars externally. I am sorry that you felt this was expensive and certainly we will review the cost of this in due course.

In the meantime thank you once again for your kind review on our hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not to distant future.

Kind Regards

Ben Morcombe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Stayed here for one night on a business trip in early June. We were all very impressed with this hotel. The rooms were very spacious and clean. Service on the front desk was very good. We did not have any time to use the spa facilities so cannot comment on this - but we will be staying here on our next trip to York and so may be able to comment further after that visit. The location of the hotel is perfect for both York train station and also for the centre of town.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VikkiK91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben_M_Deputy_GM, Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Dear Vikki

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to us.

We are pleased that you had an enjoyable stay with us, and it is equally as pleasing to know tha the team on the front desk looked after you so well.

Please do return soon so you can experience our wonderful spa and food and beverage facilities.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Ben Morcombe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

The most modern hotel we stayed in during our trip to the UK. We stayed one night with all our expectations being met. Then we went North for a castle visit and back to the hotel for another stay. The staff recognized us by showing personal interest in what we had done and provided suggestions for more things to do in York. The bellmen and front desk staff were tops!
Our room was spacious, modern, and comfortable. The only drawback for me was the comforter might have been a winter variety as it was heavy and I prefer light. My wife loved it. The hotel is within walking distance of everything. A minor drawback was that the spa was booked both days so no opportunities there.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theattic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben_M_Deputy_GM, Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear theattic

Thnak you for taking the time to write about your stay with us at the Cedar Court Grand Hotel and Spa.

I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you reserved particular praise for our team. The people we have here are what make us so different from most other hotels and we are so lucky to have a team of people who give such wonderful hospitality to our guests.

I do hope you are able to return to us soon.

Kind Regards

Ben Morcombe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

The hotel is of a very old building which consisted of offices before,so the rooms and the passage ways are huge.we requested for a room facing the York Minster ,and so asked to wait for an hour.we had a drink in the open air bar area.The deluxe room was huge and the bathroom was as big as the room.bed was comfortable.excellent service.They even left us a molten brown lip balm for the night.We only had breakfast there which was crowded.For such a huge hotel the breakfast area is surprisingly small.I did not enjoy the breakfast nor the service at breakfast.You should go into town and have breakfast at Betty's tea room.There is only valet parking and you can't park anywhere else.the concierge was helpful in getting reservations for dinner and suggesting good places for dinner.Will definetly stay here again but will not have breakfast.

Room Tip: Room facing the walls or the York Minster.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bhavana m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben_M_Deputy_GM, Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear Bhavana M

Thank you for kind review and of course we would be delighted to welcome you back to stay with us again.

We are very lucky to have such wide corridors and spacious rooms thanks to the historical use of the building before being converted into a hotel.

There are also some beautiful views overlooking the city walls, the minster and other local attractions in York, but our concierge would also be delighted to point you in the right direction to see a closer look of those too.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Kind Regards

Ben Morcombe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stayed two nights here for a family wedding in York. We booked a deluxe room which turned out to be quite large, very comfortable and quiet. our car was valet parked on arrival and we found all the staff to be courteous and helpful. We only ate breakfast in the hotel but it was very good. We would love to return to spend a few more days in York and we would definitely choose to stay at the Cedar Court Grand again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ManchesterEmmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben_M_Deputy_GM, Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear ManchesterEmmy

We are very grateful for the kind review you have posted in your visit to us at the Cedar Court Grand Hotel and Spa.

It is always nice to hear that guests have had a good stay when they have visited the hotel for special occasions such as weddings, as we know these can be quite hectic and stressful occasions. Therefore it is so pleasing to hear that the team here managed to make it a relaxing stay.

We look forward to welcoming tou back in the not to distant future.

Kind Regards

Ben Morcombe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews