We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of our favorite hotels”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Ranked #6 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 August 2014

We stayed here twice in the wintertime; what a lovely experience. Beautiful rooms (the suites are worth the money), and the heated floors in the bathroom are incredible on a cold day. Did not have a spa treatment but used the pool, which is very nice. Location is great - short walk from train station but feels close to center of town.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank orams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben_M_Deputy_GM, Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Dear orams

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your visit to York and stay with us at the Cedar Court Grand Hotel and Spa.

It is so lovely to hear that despite being from the other side of the world we are one of your favourite hotels. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our suites and I would agree that the added space with a guest living room and seperate bathroom makes it very luxurious.

We really look forward to seeing you when you are next in York.

Kind Regards

Ben Morcombe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,015)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,038 - 2,044 of 4,015 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

A strange title you may think for a positive review.

This hotel is a lovely one, in a lovely building. Everything is large and high ceilinged, and the staff are well trained. There is no flair, which is a shame, but everyone is helpful and proper. Carlos was very helpful in the bar, and Simon, the concierge, was excellent. He did everything we asked with no fuss.

The place was very clean and we'll maintained.

A five star hotel presents itself with very high expectation, and it didn't let itself down.

The only negative was that the spa was fully booked 3 days in advance and this was midweek. It means those on a short break really have to do their homework, and ours being spur of the moment meant that no treatments were possible.

The bed was absolutely massive. It was a bit too soft for us, but come on, I'm clutching at straws now.

Would definitely return.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Joe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben_M_Deputy_GM, Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Dear Joe H

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at the Cedar Court Grand Hotel and Spa.

It is nice to know that our team looked after you so well, in particular Carlos and Simon and that this added to a great stay with us. Our super King size beds offer more than enough space to sleep in comfort.

I am sorry that the spa was fully booked, we are planning on some refurbishment to increase the capacity for health and beauty treatments to deal with the demand from our guests.

Hopefully we will see you again soon.

Kind Regards

Ben Morcombe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

My husband and I have just enjoyed an excellent holiday in this lovely 5 star hotel. From the greeting from the Concierge Peter &
Jordie & staff, reception girls, restaurants Managers and their staff they could not have been better. All of them of smart appearance , with a warm and friendly greeting all times of the day and night. The hotel accommodation was immaculate although you scarcely saw anyone cleaning it was all done most discreetly. Our room was beautifully done to a very high standard during breakfast leaving the room free for when we needed in. Laundry was collected and returned on hangers and with covers.
The menu had excellent choices and as we were there for long stay
It was no trouble for the restaurant
Manager to ask the chef to make available any special food requests.
The restaurant staff were as said 1st class - very efficient, very friendly and with a sense of fun
Rebecca is star quality and Laura
Susanne and Sensi are just great.
The spa is also excellent with
a good selection of treatment and friendly staff.
Only one problem which arose was
the location of the rest rooms from the dining room which is apparently
a listed building issue.
The hotel has been recently taken over I hope they don't make too
many changes - great to find a good 5 star hotel in a 5 star city.
York itself is just amazing with so much to see and do and as reported in another review don't miss out on the Yorkshire True Tours with Alan Rowley they are
second to None - read the review.
Thanks again York.





Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank ann i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben_M_Deputy_GM, Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear ann i

Thank you for taking the time to review your trip to York and your stay with us at the Cedar Court Grand Hotel and Spa.

I am so pleased to hear that the team were able to look after you so well and accomdate any requests that you had. We are very lucky to have a fantastic concierge team led by Peter and Jordi who know the hotel and the city inside out and can cater for any requirements during your stay.

Our restaurant team led By Gabriele, Michele and Susana are also first class, and with decades of experience between them ensure that all meals throughout the day are seamless. They have a first class team working for them and in Laura, Sensi and Rebecca they will go to any length to make sure our guests are looked after.

I do hope that you return to us again soon.

Kind Regards

Ben Morcombe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We had a lovely stay at the Cedar Court Grand Hotel. It thoroughly deserves it's five stars. The rooms were fabulous. The facilities fantastic and the food in the restaurant where we ate dinner was perfect.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben_M_Deputy_GM, Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear Elaine S

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at the Cedar Court Grand Hotel and Spa.

We are dleighted to hear that you had an enjoyable trip to York and a relaxing stay with us. It was particularly pleasing to hear that you had an enjoyable dining experience as our new restaurants HQ and Hudsons have only been open for a short period of time. Hudsons is aimed at being a relaxed dining experience with locally sourced produce providing tradtional dishes with a 5 star twist. Whilst HQ is all about indulgence, with the best produce available to our talented chefs being transformed into cutting edge cuisine.

I do hope that you are able to return to us again soon.

Kind Regards

Ben Morcombe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

When another hotel in York mysteriously lost my reservation, I spent the night here. The bedrooms are of a very good size, with bathrooms to match. The decoration is somewhat on the austere side, but the rooms were clean and the bed comfortable. The only strange feature about my room, number 102, was a green light inside the room, which I could not turn off, and was told was part of the hotel safety system should the power fail. While the full breakfast the next morning was 20 pounds, the food, particularly the smoked salmon was good, and the service very attentive. Should I return to York, I will either stay here or at Middlethorpe, but Cedar Court has the benefit of being in the city centre, as well as being relatively quiet.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charles H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben_M_Deputy_GM, Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear Charles H

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay with us at the Cedar Court Grand Hotel and Spa.

It is always pleasing to hear that our guests have had pleasant stays with us and that they have enjoyed there stay. In particular it was nice to hear that you had a good stay in room 102 and described it as relatively quiet, Mr Sanderson who has posted a review a few before yours stayed in this room as well and said it was particularly noisy, so its nice to receive a balanced view on this.

I am sorry that the emergency light was bright and I will have this looked at by our maintenence team, they are a legal requirement but perhaps we could look at this being somewhere less obtrusive.

We do offer an extensive buffet for breakfast which includes your choice of plated hot food and a vast slection of contiental buffet food.

Kind Regards

Ben Morcombe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

This hotel has high standards the food is very good indeed the spa is excellent overall a good stay was achieved and will return again. Good for walking into York town center close to main attractions ( the york railway museum. York Minster and the Shambles)

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben_M_Deputy_GM, Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear Martin P

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your trip to York and your stay with us at the Cedar Court Grand Hotel and Spa.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and that the location worked out perfectly for you. I am equally delighted to hear that you enjoyed both our food offering in our two restaurants and the spa.

I hope that this encourages you to return to us again in the near future.

Kind Regards

Ben Morcombe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Whilst the hotel is lovely it does fall down on the little things that make a hotel truly 5 star. The spa isn't up to the standard expected and similar priced hotels offer much better facilities. The real advantage of this hotel is being in such a great location so it's still worst a visit.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben_M_Deputy_GM, Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear Tom H

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at the Cedar Court Grand Hotel and Spa.

I am pleased that you enjoyed our location in york, so close to the rail station and yet walking distance from the centre of town.

I am sorry that some areas fell short and would love to address them if you had provided a little more information on these. With regards to the spa we are in the process of looking into t afull refurbishment of this area, despite it only being 4 years hold, which hopefully will provide more space for health and beauty treatments.

Kind Regards

Ben Morcombe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
1.9 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
0.1 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#11 of 47 in York
1,394 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
654 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#38 of 47 in York
2,890 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#20 of 47 in York
1,527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel & Spa

Address: | Station Rise, York YO1 6HT, England (Formerly Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in York
#3 Romantic Hotel in York
#3 Spa Hotel in York
#3 Luxury Hotel in York
#3 Family Hotel in York
Price Range: £143 - £403 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grand Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With stunning views of the Minster and the city’s ancient walls the Grand Hotel & Spa enjoys an enviable central location as York’s only five star hotel. Built in 1906 as one of the great railway buildings of York, the hotel’s graceful Edwardian architecture is complemented with fine dining and a luxurious spa complex that features an indoor pool and treatment rooms. All 107 guest rooms are individually designed and furnished to an extremely high specification, creating an indulgent yet unpretentious environment for both leisure and business travellers. And private dining facilities, an open air roof garden and elegant function rooms, provide a plethora of unique options for events and meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, TravelUp, Prestigia, Hotelopia, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Grand Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Court Grand Hotel And Spa
Cedar Court Grand Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing