We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Ranked #7 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 August 2014

The hotel is beautiful and the staff was very nice to us. It is very near from the train stationa nd the city centre you can get there walking in less than five minutes. Our room was big and we had complimentary details, like coffee, water and some cookies. In the afternoon we had our beds open, extra mineral water, tomorrow's forecast and lip balms. The heating didn't work properly and it was quite cold in the room. There are a lot of services in the hotel and it's very beautiful to celebrate any personal event. The dress code is too much strict and we ddin't had breakfast there.
We will come back as soon as we can.

Room Tip: La habitación standard es perfecta.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnaSabateCambrils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben_M_Deputy_GM, Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Dear AnnaSabateCambrils,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay with us at the Cedar Court Grand Hotel and Spa.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the room and hotel itself lived up to your expectations. We are in an ideal location only a couple of minutes walk from the station and also from the town centre.

I am sorry that there was an issue with the heating which we will address, we have no dresscode for breakfast at all, so apologies if there was some miscommunication here.

Hopefully you will visit us again soon.

Kind Regards

Ben Morcombe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,058)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,074 - 2,080 of 4,058 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2014

We stayed at the Cedar Court Grand Hotel for the bank holiday weekend what a beautiful Hotel, our room was beautiful all the staff made us very welcome, but most of all we would like to say a big thank you to Maria the general manager who took time out to give us a tour of the hotel and told us the history of the hotel she made us very welcom.
We will return to this hotel in the near future.
Many thanks Mr and Mrs Hirst

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeanette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben_M_Deputy_GM, Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Dear Jeanette H

Thank you for taking the time to wite to us regarding your trip to York and your stay with us at the Cedar Court Grand Hotel and Spa.

I am so glad that our team were able to look after you so well and that you enjoyed your stay over the bank holiday weekend. I am gald Maria was able to give you a tour (and history lesson) on our fantastic hotel.

I hope that you return to us soon and I am sure Maria would love to host you for tea.

Kind Regards

Ben Morcombe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Top marks to the management and staff at the Cedar court grand for making our stay to enjoy York races seamless from start to finish. The building fits perfectly with York's stunning architecture and the impeccably clean room, comfortable bed, excellent food and polite smart staff tick all the boxes with ease for that 5 star rating. It is so nice to know we still have quality well run hotels like this in the UK that care about their customers. Thank you!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Edwardscheese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben_M_Deputy_GM, Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Dear Edwardscheese

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay with us at the Cedar Court Grand Hotel and Spa.

We are delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that our team made your stay so faultless from start to finish. We passionately believe that the measure of any great hotel is the people who work inside it. In that respect we are very lucky to have such a wonderful group of people who work for us.

I do hope that you can visit us again soon.

Kind Regards

Ben Morcombe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

we have stayed here before & written glowing reports.however things did not go well this time.on check in we were told they couldnt find our booking although we had booked in person previously & had a email confirmation with us.we were dealt with by a harrassed & overworked receptionist who aftdr much fluster & panic announced our junior suite booking had now been upgraded to a full suite.oh dear.we were escorted to suite 407.unfortunately this room is directly above the kitchen & we were over powered by a smell of garlic.terrible.aftsr two separate complaints we were presented with a glade aerosol & a machine to take away the aroma.we went down to the bar which is as lovely as ever & had a cocktail.on our return we were overpowered again with cooking aromas.enough was enough & eventually got a move to another suite which was lovely.why couldnt we have this room the first time?.after finally settling in we enjoyed the rest of our stay.breakfasts are still great though evening meals have been dumbed down & not so nice.oncheck out we were dealt with by a more senior person who promised a full investigation & offered a partial refund.unfoftunately we feel this is too little too late & we will provably no be back.final tip unless you want garlic smells do not accept room 407.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank luxurythekey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben_M_Deputy_GM, Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Dear luxurythekey

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at the Cedar Court Grand Hotel and Spa.

First and foremost I am sorry that your stay was disrupted by the smell in your bedroom. I am at a loss as to what may have caused this. Room 407 is a full 6 floors above our kitchen which is in the basement, and a long way away from the extraction units associated with them. I will of course be investigating with our maintenence team how the smell effected your room and none of the other 75 bedrooms that are between 407 and the basement floor.

I am glad that you enjoyed the Grand bar and breakfast was up to its usual high standards.

I am sorry that you will not be choosing to return to us on the basis of this and hope that you reconsider some time in the future.

Kind Regards

Ben Morcombe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel was brilliant in every way. I stayed in this hotel for one night with 3 of my friends as we had spent the day at York Races which was great. The concierge team were really helpful when we got a bit lost and the room was lovely - lots of space and really comfortable. The food at the Hudson restaurant was gorgeous - I have never had food as amazing as that!! The restaurant was busy but this didn't effect the staff and they were really friendly - we were looked after by a girl called Laura who was brilliant making sure we had everything we needed, and who also turned out the be the one who originally sent us an email to arrange with us our booking and was very well organised! All of the staff were wonderful from the hotel and we will definitely be returning. Would definitely recommend this beautiful hotel to anyone visiting York.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Littlemissadventure1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben_M_Deputy_GM, Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Dear Littlemissadventure1

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us at the Cedar Court Grand Hotel and Spa.

We are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay with us over the Ebor race festival, and we are so glad that our concierge team were able to look after you. We are lucky to have some excellent people work in the hotel such as Laura in the restaurant who looked after your booking and your table on the evening in the Hudsons restaurant.

I do hope that your enjoyable experience will mean you return to us again soon.

Kind Regards

Ben Morcombe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Stayed for one night after a busy day at the races. Peter on concierge was a lovely man and very helpful. Breakfast was lovely and the service was fantastic. We used the spa facilities I could have stopped in their all day. Now to the rooms wow wow wow I say no more. We stopped in the hotel with friends and two of us work for Thomas Cook I will have no issues in recommending the lovely Cedar Court hotel to my clients. Thanks Cedar Court.

Room Tip: Request room 304.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aidloz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben_M_Deputy_GM, Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Dear Aidloz

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay with us at the Cedar Court Grand Hotel and Spa.

We are pleased to hear that you had a good stay over the race period with us, and delighted to hear that our head concierge Peter Davies was able to look after you so well.

We are lucky to have a very modern spa, with swimming pool, sauna, steam room, jacuzzi and gym, alongside our health and beauty facilities, so it is nice to hear you were able to sample these and enjoyed them.

I trust we will see you again soon.

Kind Regards

Ben Morcombe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

Hotel is perfectly situated for visiting the races. The building is beautiful and the rooms spacious and tasteful. The high ceilings lend to the grandeur. The views of the minster are wonderful!
Hudsons restaurant is a must. Lovely food at reasonable prices. The staff were attentive but not over baring!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben_M_Deputy_GM, Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Dear Lisa L

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at the Cedar Court Grand Hotel and Spa.

We are very lucky that we are ideally located in between York racecourse and the city centre making it ideal for any race goers. It is particularly pleasing that you enjoyed a good dining experience in our recently opened Hudsons restaurant, which provides for a relaxed dining atmosphere without losing any of the excellence of our 5 star cuisine.

I trust we will be welcoming you back in the not to distant future.

Kind Regards

Ben Morcombe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
1.9 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
0.6 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,434 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#12 of 47 in York
1,435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
659 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#38 of 47 in York
2,919 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#17 of 47 in York
1,534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel & Spa

Address: | Station Rise, York YO1 6HT, England (Formerly Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in York
#3 Spa Hotel in York
#3 Romantic Hotel in York
#3 Family Hotel in York
#4 Luxury Hotel in York
Price Range: £138 - £409 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grand Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With stunning views of the Minster and the city’s ancient walls the Grand Hotel & Spa enjoys an enviable central location as York’s only five star hotel. Built in 1906 as one of the great railway buildings of York, the hotel’s graceful Edwardian architecture is complemented with fine dining and a luxurious spa complex that features an indoor pool and treatment rooms. All 107 guest rooms are individually designed and furnished to an extremely high specification, creating an indulgent yet unpretentious environment for both leisure and business travellers. And private dining facilities, an open air roof garden and elegant function rooms, provide a plethora of unique options for events and meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Lastminute, TravelUp, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Grand Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Court Grand Hotel And Spa
Cedar Court Grand Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing