We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top notch”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Ranked #6 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Top notch”
Reviewed 28 August 2014

I went to this hotel with a good friend, we thought the service was excellent, very attentive staff and the Managers could not do enough for us ( we had a couple of problems in the room ). This hotel made our mini holiday even better than expected. The rooms were large with a lovely bathroom with lot so of nice products, bottles of water , complimentary in the fridge. Will definitely be revisiting.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gurbys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben_M_Deputy_GM, Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Dear gurbys

Thank you for taking the time to write to us regarding your recent stay with us at the Cedar Court Grand Hotel and Spa.

I am delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay with us and that our team made you feel so welcome during your trip. We aim to provide a true Yorkshire welcome to each and every guest who steps foot in our historical old building.

I do hope you will come and visit us again soon.

Kind Regards

Ben Morcombe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,837 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,845
    627
    218
    101
    46
See reviews for
488
2,338
74
215
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (696)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Burnley
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

From start to finish we were most impressed with the standard rooms 228 and 229 , Lovely warm welcome at reception All staff were most helpful The food was varied and beautifully presented. Special thanks to Jayne on reception and Wayne in the dining room and Jackie the guest relations manager Very convenient location. Cannon Hall and Yorkshire Sculpture Park well worth a visit something for everyone at both locations. A visit to the stunning Wakefield Cathedral is a must. Thank you Cedar Court we will be returning in the future.

Room Tip: Rooms 228 229 were standard rooms located on the first floor well furnished and overlooking the gard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DorothyB10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambrils, Spain
Level Contributor
66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

The hotel is beautiful and the staff was very nice to us. It is very near from the train stationa nd the city centre you can get there walking in less than five minutes. Our room was big and we had complimentary details, like coffee, water and some cookies. In the afternoon we had our beds open, extra mineral water, tomorrow's forecast and lip balms. The heating didn't work properly and it was quite cold in the room. There are a lot of services in the hotel and it's very beautiful to celebrate any personal event. The dress code is too much strict and we ddin't had breakfast there.
We will come back as soon as we can.

Room Tip: La habitación standard es perfecta.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaSabateCambrils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben_M_Deputy_GM, Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Dear AnnaSabateCambrils,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay with us at the Cedar Court Grand Hotel and Spa.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the room and hotel itself lived up to your expectations. We are in an ideal location only a couple of minutes walk from the station and also from the town centre.

I am sorry that there was an issue with the heating which we will address, we have no dresscode for breakfast at all, so apologies if there was some miscommunication here.

Hopefully you will visit us again soon.

Kind Regards

Ben Morcombe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We stayed at the Cedar Court Grand Hotel for the bank holiday weekend what a beautiful Hotel, our room was beautiful all the staff made us very welcome, but most of all we would like to say a big thank you to Maria the general manager who took time out to give us a tour of the hotel and told us the history of the hotel she made us very welcom.
We will return to this hotel in the near future.
Many thanks Mr and Mrs Hirst

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeanette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben_M_Deputy_GM, Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Dear Jeanette H

Thank you for taking the time to wite to us regarding your trip to York and your stay with us at the Cedar Court Grand Hotel and Spa.

I am so glad that our team were able to look after you so well and that you enjoyed your stay over the bank holiday weekend. I am gald Maria was able to give you a tour (and history lesson) on our fantastic hotel.

I hope that you return to us soon and I am sure Maria would love to host you for tea.

Kind Regards

Ben Morcombe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Top marks to the management and staff at the Cedar court grand for making our stay to enjoy York races seamless from start to finish. The building fits perfectly with York's stunning architecture and the impeccably clean room, comfortable bed, excellent food and polite smart staff tick all the boxes with ease for that 5 star rating. It is so nice to know we still have quality well run hotels like this in the UK that care about their customers. Thank you!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Edwardscheese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben_M_Deputy_GM, Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Dear Edwardscheese

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay with us at the Cedar Court Grand Hotel and Spa.

We are delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that our team made your stay so faultless from start to finish. We passionately believe that the measure of any great hotel is the people who work inside it. In that respect we are very lucky to have such a wonderful group of people who work for us.

I do hope that you can visit us again soon.

Kind Regards

Ben Morcombe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

we have stayed here before & written glowing reports.however things did not go well this time.on check in we were told they couldnt find our booking although we had booked in person previously & had a email confirmation with us.we were dealt with by a harrassed & overworked receptionist who aftdr much fluster & panic announced our junior suite booking had now been upgraded to a full suite.oh dear.we were escorted to suite 407.unfortunately this room is directly above the kitchen & we were over powered by a smell of garlic.terrible.aftsr two separate complaints we were presented with a glade aerosol & a machine to take away the aroma.we went down to the bar which is as lovely as ever & had a cocktail.on our return we were overpowered again with cooking aromas.enough was enough & eventually got a move to another suite which was lovely.why couldnt we have this room the first time?.after finally settling in we enjoyed the rest of our stay.breakfasts are still great though evening meals have been dumbed down & not so nice.oncheck out we were dealt with by a more senior person who promised a full investigation & offered a partial refund.unfoftunately we feel this is too little too late & we will provably no be back.final tip unless you want garlic smells do not accept room 407.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank luxurythekey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben_M_Deputy_GM, Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Dear luxurythekey

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at the Cedar Court Grand Hotel and Spa.

First and foremost I am sorry that your stay was disrupted by the smell in your bedroom. I am at a loss as to what may have caused this. Room 407 is a full 6 floors above our kitchen which is in the basement, and a long way away from the extraction units associated with them. I will of course be investigating with our maintenence team how the smell effected your room and none of the other 75 bedrooms that are between 407 and the basement floor.

I am glad that you enjoyed the Grand bar and breakfast was up to its usual high standards.

I am sorry that you will not be choosing to return to us on the basis of this and hope that you reconsider some time in the future.

Kind Regards

Ben Morcombe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel was brilliant in every way. I stayed in this hotel for one night with 3 of my friends as we had spent the day at York Races which was great. The concierge team were really helpful when we got a bit lost and the room was lovely - lots of space and really comfortable. The food at the Hudson restaurant was gorgeous - I have never had food as amazing as that!! The restaurant was busy but this didn't effect the staff and they were really friendly - we were looked after by a girl called Laura who was brilliant making sure we had everything we needed, and who also turned out the be the one who originally sent us an email to arrange with us our booking and was very well organised! All of the staff were wonderful from the hotel and we will definitely be returning. Would definitely recommend this beautiful hotel to anyone visiting York.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Littlemissadventure1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben_M_Deputy_GM, Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Dear Littlemissadventure1

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us at the Cedar Court Grand Hotel and Spa.

We are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay with us over the Ebor race festival, and we are so glad that our concierge team were able to look after you. We are lucky to have some excellent people work in the hotel such as Laura in the restaurant who looked after your booking and your table on the evening in the Hudsons restaurant.

I do hope that your enjoyable experience will mean you return to us again soon.

Kind Regards

Ben Morcombe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
1,197 reviews
1.9 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
0.1 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#10 of 46 in York
1,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.6 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#20 of 46 in York
1,466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel & Spa

Property: The Grand Hotel & Spa
Address: | Station Rise, York YO1 6HT, England (Formerly Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in York
#3 Family Hotel in York
#3 Romantic Hotel in York
#3 Luxury Hotel in York
#3 Spa Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grand Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With stunning views of the Minster and the city’s ancient walls the Grand Hotel & Spa enjoys an enviable central location as York’s only five star hotel. Built in 1906 as one of the great railway buildings of York, the hotel’s graceful Edwardian architecture is complemented with fine dining and a luxurious spa complex that features an indoor pool and treatment rooms. All 107 guest rooms are individually designed and furnished to an extremely high specification, creating an indulgent yet unpretentious environment for both leisure and business travellers. And private dining facilities, an open air roof garden and elegant function rooms, provide a plethora of unique options for events and meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Grand Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Court Grand Hotel York
Cedar Court Grand Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing