We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a bad thing to say, brilliant hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Ranked #6 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 August 2014

We had a midweek stay here and can't wait to go back. The staff were so friendly, helpful and welcoming and the service was great. The hotel itself is a beautiful building with large bedrooms. We had a great nights sleep and will definitely return.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank gcruicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben_M_Deputy_GM, Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2014

Dear gcruicks,

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to York and your stay with us at the Cedar Court Grand Hotel and Spa.

We are so pleased that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that our team made you feel so welcome. I hope that we get to see you again soon.

Kind Regards

Ben Morcombe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,974)
There are newer reviews for The Grand Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,982 - 1,988 of 3,974 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights mid August for our 'mini-moon' after getting married. It is in a great location, just a few minutes walk from the train station and very close to the city centre.
Its a beautiful old building that has been renovated to a high standard. The rooms are clean and spacious. Our room was a little cold at times but it was a chilly, windy weekend!
We used the spa a few times whilst we were there, it was lovely and relaxing.
We didn't have breakfast there as we felt it was a little pricey and preferred to walk into town and have brunch instead. We did have dinner on our first night in the Hudson restaurant, the food and wine were delicious. We had cocktails in the hotel bar after our meal, good cocktail menu :-)
Would come to this hotel again and would recommend to anyone travelling to York who wants a good standard hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben_M_Deputy_GM, Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Dear BecB2306,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at the Cedar Court Grand Hotel and Spa.

We are so delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable trip to us for your mini-moon, and that we were able to look after you on this special occasion.

To hear that you were able to utilise our restaurants and bar and enjoyed these equally as much as the rest of the hotel is good news.

We do hope that we see you again in the not to distant future.

Kind Regards

Ben Morcombe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights for our mini moon & although the price was more than we'd originally planned on spending, as it was a special occasion we thought it worth the extravagance. We were right. We went out for breakfast both mornings & found a lovely cafe so can't comment on the hotels breakfast but we couldn't recommend the restaurant more. The food was beautifully presented, each mouthful a joy & the service was impeccable. Our bedroom was large & comfortable. The staff were helpful & polite at all times. We had a fantastic experience & will return in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NikkiMarie75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Excellent friendly service.
One of our two rooms were upgraded to a suite which was very spacious and had separate lounge, a bathroom and a shower room!
Moulton brown toiletries are a nice touch.
Decor was well appointed throughout including the spa area.
The Hudson's was was a taste sensation with quirky presentation which isn't described in the menu so it is a surprise! My daughter ordered sorbet and she received four ice team cones atop with sorbet cleverly presented. The full meal was enjoyable and service was prompt but not intrusive. A very good wine menu too.

Having stated at the St Pancras London the service here out weighed theirs and was much friendlier and full experience more enjoyable.

We will certainly be booking again very soon but for a longer stay to enjoy more of the pleasant surroundings and relaxing ambience.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CDW20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben_M_Deputy_GM, Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Dear CDW20,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at the Cedar Court Grand Hotel and Spa.

I am absolutly delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay with us and that you were able to experience the culinary delights of our Hudsons restaurant.

We only recently opened Hudsons, as a restaurant that welcomes families and a relaxed dining experience all with the first class food you would expect in a 5 star hotel.

I do hope that this encourages you to return to us soon.

Kind Regards

Ben Morcombe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2014

We arrived on the Mon 4th August for 4 nights as a special treat for our 30th anniversary. All seemed promising we were greeted and shown to our room. Room was very nice and the Concierge very helpful and even said he would find out some information on the trains for us.
We had been in our room for approx 30 mins when a member of staff entered without a knock on the door but quickly retreated when he realized the room was occupied, it could have been very embarrassing. I did call reception to remind them the room was occupied.

The rest of the day was spent discovering York which is a wonderful city. We returned to our room for a relaxing few hours with our feet up to watch the TV before sleep. The TV picture was terrible and kept breaking up. As we were both very tired we decided not to complain until the next day, which we did and the problem was solved. Oh yes forgot to say the newspaper that we ordered never turned up and the fridge in the room wasn't working either..even after it was repaired! On the Thursday we decided to have the full English breakfast as we had hired a car and were leaving early. Big mistake for $20 a head I expected to be able to cut my bacon but as it was so hard it was impossible. The waiter did after a few mumbled words offer to get me something else but as we were on a tight schedule we didn't have time to wait. When we were checking out we did mention all these issues to the young lady on reception(actually she seemed to be the only one who took our complaints seriously and said that they should never happen in a 5 star hotel and would pass it onto the manager. Have we heard anything back from the manager? No not yet.
Did the Concierge ever get us the info on the trains even after we reminded the reception staff...of course not. Maybe our expectations were to high and we drew the short straw. But when you pay good money you expect a little more

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maggie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben_M_Deputy_GM, Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Dear maggie p,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay with us at the Cedar Court Grand Hotel and Spa.

I am sorry that there were some issues with your stay with us and I will of course ensure that these are addressed. The Tv was fixed to address the flickering picture and the fridge has also been rectified. I am sorry that the paper you ordered did not arrive and I will take this up with out nights manager as I will the tough bacon with our head chef.

Despite these issues I would hope that the team looked after you and that you enjoyed the luxury of our 5 star hotel set in the historic former headquarters of North Eastern Railways.

I am sorry that your stay was marred by these regrettable incidents and sorry that you were not one of the 91% of tripadvisor reviews who either rated us as very good or excellent out of just under 2000 reviews.

I hope that you are able to come back to us in the future when I am postive that you will be able to be to be included in this 91%.

Kind Regards

Ben Morcombe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2014

Just stayed one night in an executive twin room. My second visit to this hotel. Really faultless from the welcome on arrival, to valet parking, ease of check in and the person who brought our luggage and explained, really helpfully, the various features of the room.
The bedroom was lovely, comfy beds and best of all quiet with a good view. Loved the bathroom, bath and large walk in shower. Everything spotlessly clean.
In room tray with kettle, tea and coffee pots. Good quality tea, coffee and biscuits!
We did not eat in the hotel but had a drink in the bar, great atmosphere and friendly service. In fact everyone we encountered in the hotel seemed happy and super friendly.
My son much appreciated the really good quality wifi and I appreciated the fact that there was no extra charge.
No downsides other than it is not cheap, having said that the prices are very much in line with other hotels in York. Definitely worth the money.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patriciabarton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben_M_Deputy_GM, Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Dear patriciabarton,

Thank you for taking the time to a review on your stay with us at the Cedar Court Grand Hotel and Spa.

We are pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable visit to us on your trip to York. We are pleased to offer many complimentary amenities to our guests including WIFI throughout the bedrooms and public areas. I am gald that the welcome was so positive and that the stay was so faultless throughout.

I do hope we see you again in the not to distant future.

Kind Regards

Ben Morcombe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2014

I went to this hotel with a good friend, we thought the service was excellent, very attentive staff and the Managers could not do enough for us ( we had a couple of problems in the room ). This hotel made our mini holiday even better than expected. The rooms were large with a lovely bathroom with lot so of nice products, bottles of water , complimentary in the fridge. Will definitely be revisiting.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gurbys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben_M_Deputy_GM, Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Dear gurbys

Thank you for taking the time to write to us regarding your recent stay with us at the Cedar Court Grand Hotel and Spa.

I am delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay with us and that our team made you feel so welcome during your trip. We aim to provide a true Yorkshire welcome to each and every guest who steps foot in our historical old building.

I do hope you will come and visit us again soon.

Kind Regards

Ben Morcombe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#11 of 47 in York
1,329 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,339 reviews
1.9 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
646 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#17 of 47 in York
1,506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel & Spa

Address: | Station Rise, York YO1 6HT, England (Formerly Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in York
#3 Luxury Hotel in York
#3 Family Hotel in York
#3 Romantic Hotel in York
#3 Spa Hotel in York
Price Range: £131 - £428 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grand Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With stunning views of the Minster and the city’s ancient walls the Grand Hotel & Spa enjoys an enviable central location as York’s only five star hotel. Built in 1906 as one of the great railway buildings of York, the hotel’s graceful Edwardian architecture is complemented with fine dining and a luxurious spa complex that features an indoor pool and treatment rooms. All 107 guest rooms are individually designed and furnished to an extremely high specification, creating an indulgent yet unpretentious environment for both leisure and business travellers. And private dining facilities, an open air roof garden and elegant function rooms, provide a plethora of unique options for events and meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelUp, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Grand Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Court Grand Hotel And Spa
Cedar Court Grand Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing