We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,615)
Filter reviews
4,615 results
Traveller rating
3,320
773
305
137
80
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,320
773
305
137
80
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cedar court molton brown toiletries turn down service star hotel rise restaurant lip balm door staff classic room executive room underfloor heating on arrival original features amazing hotel steam room double shower beautiful building continental breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
604 - 609 of 4,615 reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2017 via mobile

Excellent stay for our first visit to York.

The room was very large and clean with a large TV. Bathroom was clean and the Molton Brown toiletries made it even better.

The spa within the hotel is also excellent. It was very quiet over the weekend that we stayed so we pretty much had it all to ourselves.

Definitely recommend for others wanting to visit York

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Sarav1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katarina V, Rooms Division Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Dear Sarav1991,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments in regards to your recent stay at the Grand Hotel and Spa York.

I am pleased to read that your experience was beyond expectations and you liked the little touches and amenities we provide for our guests. We pride ourselves in great service and look after each and every guest as if they were the only ones in the hotel.

We very much look forward to your next visit soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017

The rooms were fantastic and well appointed, bathrooms generous, hotel staff extremely helpful. Breakfast was included and the buffet had many options. Plus eggs cooked to order. Location wise, this is just outside the old walls, but 1 block only and there's a staircase to walk the wall, just across the street from the hotel.
I'd highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katarina V, Rooms Division Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Good Afternoon Margaret D,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback in regards to you recent stay at the Grand Hotel and Spa York.

I am delighted to read that you have had a phenomenal visit to York and you enjoyed your room and breakfast experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2017 via mobile

What a lovely stay, it was a beautiful suite with every luxury provided, everything was perfect. Freestanding pink bath tub was a main feature standing on underfloor heated stone floor. The building is very imposing & was once the Station offices, our suite had a view right over the city wall & beyond. The large arched window was a fabulous feature. A short walk to all the museums, shops, restaurants & sights.
All the staff were amazing, all with friendly dispositions & smiles that were truly meant.
The door man & Concierge reminded me of my first trip to The Savoy in London as a little girl, their uniforms & manner so becoming of such a fine establishment.
This has to be THE place to stay if you’re lucky enough to visit York.
Thank you & well done to all the staff

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank jarussell12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katarina V, Rooms Division Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Dear Jarussell12,

It really warms my heart to read a feedback like yours and to know that we have made your stay truly luxurious and memorable.

Our building, once the railway headquarters, is full of history and every corner of it tells a story that is both intriguing and mysterious. We pride ourselves on the service we offer and I am delighted to know that our team has gone above and beyond to ensure your experience was extraordinary.

I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2017 via mobile

Had a overnight stay at the Grand the location is excellent as it is within the city walls and easy to get to. The staff could not have been more friendly and helpful. We stayed in an executive room which was beautifully and tastefully appointed. The breakfast was plentiful and of a very good standard. We had afternoon tea which did not disappoint. We will most definitely return to this hotel again in the future.

Many hotels could learn a lot from how this establishment is run .

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katarina V, Rooms Division Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Dear Paul G,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments in regards to your recent stay at the Grand Hotel and Spa York.

I am delighted to read that we have lived up to our name and provided you with our truly Grand service. What a great compliment to receive about the way we work at the Grand; it means the world to us to know that you have had a memorable experience and will return to stay with us again.

Thank you again form all of us at the Grand!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2017

A brilliant welcome, with genuine and friendly staff - who really seemed to care. They made our young kids extremely welcome - small sized robes and kids shampoo appeared in the room not long after check-in, which was lovely touch. Rooms were immaculate and housekeeping was excellent.
Room service pizzas were very poor and there's a nightclub nearby that was noisy until 2am. Also the pool isn't really idea for young kids as there were only older 'serious' swimmers doing laps - but would definitely recommend the hotel otherwise.

Room Tip: Rooms above the entrance can be effected by the nightclub nearby.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank TheTruffleHound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katarina V, Rooms Division Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Dear TheTruffleHound,

Thank you for very much for your feedback.

I am very pleased to know that you were welcomed to the Grand Hotel and Spa in our genuine and friendly Yorkshire way. Our team members obsess about customer service and always look for the ways to provide bespoke and unique experiences. Our little guests are as important, and we want them to have all the luxuries that the grown ups enjoy as well, just in the right size!

I am sorry to read that your pizza was not of the quality expected; please rest assured your comments have been shared with our Executive chef who is always looking into ways to improve the delicious food his team is creating.

Once again, thank you for your comments and we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews