We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Ranked #6 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Hotel”
Reviewed 18 October 2010

stayed here for 2 nights for our 25th anniversary
one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in
staff were so friendly and accommodating nothing was too much trouble
rooms were spacious and clean
we will definitely be going back we did not want to leave
all in all a great weekend

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,838 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,846
    627
    218
    101
    46
See reviews for
488
2,338
74
216
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (696)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ashington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2010

We stayed here for 4 nights and absolutely loved every minute of it. The service was fantastic, room (executive) stunning, big and so comfortable and the staff so friendly and approachable. It was not cheap by any means but the feeling of satisfaction from our relaxing break made it worth every penny. My husband used the spa and found the lack of safety guidance a bit concerning, also lack of water available to drink while using sauna and lack of seating around pool area and outside sauna when he got overheated. I was just happy, happy, happy. Breakfasts were a real treat, we ate lunch with a guest in the restaurant and the food was superb, only criticism was food had been put on cold plates and the soup starter especially was not hot enough. Still enjoyed it a great deal. My only other bugbear was that on the hotel's own website all rooms are described as having 'sky, including sky sports' they do not and this is misleading. My husband was disappointed by this -if you don't have it, don't say you do! Altogether a fantastic experience which we will repeat in the near future. Keep it up!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarbaraAshington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scot1082, Deputy General Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 18 October 2010
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your excellent feedback following your recent stay at The Grand, it is great to read that you had such a great experience with us and please be assured we will review your feedback to ensure we continually improve our product.

In reagrds to your comments about Sky Sports in the rooms, this was the case when Sky Sports News was broadcast on freeview, unfortunately as this was taken of air we have been left with no sports channels however we are currently looking into putting Sky Sports 1 -4 in the rooms with our communications supplier.

We are also reviewing your reference to safety signs around the sauna, when entering the Spa your husband will have been asked to sign in and will have had the opportunity to read safety guidlines about the pool area. We also have both a water fountain outside the pool and plastic bottles of water for the comfort of our guests, on your next visit please ask one of our team who will only be too happy to provide you with some refreshment to take into the sauna with you.

Once again many thanks for your comments and I do hope we can welcome you to The Grand in the near future.

Kind Regards
Scot Turner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2010

Stayed here for one night as a birthday treat, was upgraded to a wonderful suite. The hotel decor and quality is amazing, service is excellent. Would definately recommend. Would just ask that info about the spa or pool is given, either in the written information or verbally. However, this is a minor detail in an otherwise superb hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Faulkners_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scot1082, Deputy General Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 17 October 2010
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your fantastic feedback following your stay at The Grand it is lovely to read that you regard us as the best hotel in York, that is our aim but more importantly it is more pleasing to read that your enjoyed your time with us, accolades are nothing if our guests expectations aren't met.

I can also confirm that I have just sent to print our revised guest directory now that the spa is fully open that will detail all you need to know on the facilities our spa offers as well as the treatments brochure being placed in every room this should more than cater for all you need to know, but if it isn't our team are here to help you and will be on hand if you need them.

On behalf of my team and I, we do hope we can welcome you back to The Grand in the near future.

Kind Regards
Scot Turner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2010

Just held a client dinner at this hotel. The staff were just excellent. Everything I asked for was delivered without fuss, quickly. The staff actually smile and seem to enjoy what they are doing. very professional, very efficient and a pleasure to be around. Very good quality facilities in this hotel and a superb location in York.

I'll be back.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SG999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scot1082, Deputy General Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 17 October 2010
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your wonderful feedback following your recent dinner at The Grand, it is nice to read your comments because as a guest from the local community it is nice to read that we exceeded your expectations. I am particularly pleased to note your comments about our team, we try and create a positive environment for our team and I can assure you they are all extremely passionate about our guests and I am sure they will take great pride from reading your comments.

I do hope it won't be long before you 'pop' in again and we look forward to welcoming you.

Kind Regards
Scot Turner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2010

We stayed here for a weekend break and as it was my birthday my husband informed the hotel prior to our arrival. I was delighted to recieve a gorgeous box of chocolates and abottle of bubbly with a birthday card on arrival in our room. The room itself was spotless and large with a huge bathroom. The staff were very friendly and the door staff in particular were extremely helpfull. We will definately be staying here again and would not hesitate in recommending the Hotel to others.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wrexham123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scot1082, Deputy General Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 17 October 2010
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your wonderful feedback following your recent stay at The Grand it is great to log on and read such positive comments. In particular I am glad you enjoyed the goodies in your room to recognise your birthday, we always try and surprise our guests to make their welcome to the hotel that little bit special when they are here celebrating.

I do hope we can welcome you back to The Grand in the near future.

Kind Regards
Scot Turner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2010

From the minute you walk into the lobby at the Cedar Court Grand you can see that this is a high standard hotel. The concierge is most helpful and is on hand to give you advice on the best places to visit and restaurants to chose. The check in was easy and the rooms are fantastic with high ceilings and large windows along with fluffy robes, seperate bathrooms and toilets with wash hand basins.

The breakfasts are brilliant and my wife especially enjoyed the pickled herring and cold meat selection whereas I settled for a full english which was more than enough to last the full day. After hours the well stocked bar is a lovely environment to relax after a day spent sightseeing and there is a great selection of whisky and rums avilable.

We both enjoyed the spa, which is quite luxurious and on our visit we were the only people in the pool and sauna which made it extra special.

This is no doubt one of the more expensive hotels in York and we were fortunate to get a deal for circa £100 per night, but it was well worth it considering the 5* rating and the excellent location, being only 5 minutes walk from both the train station and York Minster.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fifer75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scot1082, Deputy General Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 17 October 2010
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your wonderful feedback following your recent stay at The Grand it is fantastic to read that our guests enjoy their experience with us and that our Concierge in particular were helpful in planning your day.

It is also great to read that you enjoyed your breakfast, we have worked hard to improve the quality of our offering and it is nice to read positive comments regarding this.

I do hope it won't be too long before we can welcome you to The Grand once again.

Kind Regards
Scot Turner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leicester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2010

Had a brilliant mid week break with a girl friend. The hotel is beautiful and the staff friendly, efficient and courteous. We had planned to go out in the evening but the room was so comfortable we just stayed in and enjoyed it! We ordered room service and the food was fantastic.
The pool and spa are lovely - we each had a treatment and the whole experience was luxurious. We felt we'd been away for a week not just a couple of days. Have recommended this hotel to all my friends and family.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christineleicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scot1082, Deputy General Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 17 October 2010
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your wonderful feedback following your recent stay at The Grand, it is an absolute pleasure to read your wonderful comments about your treatments and the hospitality of our team, they are here to make sure you have a memorable experience and they will take a lot of satisfaction to read that you enjoyed your time so much.

I also note your comments about room service, it is great to read that it helped create your 'perfect' night in, we hope this service will only get better as we have recently appointed our Head of In Room Dining from a top London 5 red star hotel and with other key Heads of Department joining our team it promises to be exciting times ahead at The Grand!!!

Kind Regards
Scot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
1,198 reviews
1.9 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
0.1 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#10 of 46 in York
1,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.6 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#20 of 46 in York
1,467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel & Spa

Property: The Grand Hotel & Spa
Address: | Station Rise, York YO1 6HT, England (Formerly Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in York
#3 Luxury Hotel in York
#3 Family Hotel in York
#3 Romantic Hotel in York
#3 Spa Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grand Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With stunning views of the Minster and the city’s ancient walls the Grand Hotel & Spa enjoys an enviable central location as York’s only five star hotel. Built in 1906 as one of the great railway buildings of York, the hotel’s graceful Edwardian architecture is complemented with fine dining and a luxurious spa complex that features an indoor pool and treatment rooms. All 107 guest rooms are individually designed and furnished to an extremely high specification, creating an indulgent yet unpretentious environment for both leisure and business travellers. And private dining facilities, an open air roof garden and elegant function rooms, provide a plethora of unique options for events and meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your The Grand Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Court Grand Hotel York
Cedar Court Grand Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing