We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Work night out” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Slug and Lettuce

The Slug and Lettuce
Ranked #231 of 850 Restaurants in York
Price range: US$6 - US$19
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Bar Scene
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A unique bar and restaurant set in the heart of the city amongst ancient picturesque streets. We have a great reputation for quality food and drink. During the day The Slug And Lettuce York is a family friendly hub for breakfasts, lunches and coffee. In the evening we transform into a vibrant cocktail bar and a great meeting place for those after-work drinks. We also have a beer garden ideal for relaxing afternoons.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Work night out”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Recently went on a work night out and was very please with the service and the staff. Although the que for the bar was rather large a lot of the time the bar staff really worked quickly to ensure people were not waiting for to long. Over all a good night.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ella S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    99
    58
    43
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

I love this slug and lettuce it's my favourite place for food and cocktails staff and always lovely and food is always delicious I never have any problems here!!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Good value, good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

Wandering around York looking for somewhere to eat and having checked a few menus out my girlfriend and I chose the slug and lettuce.
Service was prompt and courteous.
Menu choice was good and had an interesting sliced vegetable squares cover.
We shared vegetarian nachos for starters, it arrived hot with plenty of jalapenos, crème fraiche, guacamole, salsa and mozzarella cheese.
Then shared a main meal of one goats cheese tostada flatbread (which is like a square thin base pizza) with sweet potato fries.
The fries were nice and hot with a garlic mayo dip and were light and tasty.
But we were both overfull before we had emptied the plates.
Despite being Easter Friday tea time the place was quiet, so little atmosphere.
We would recommend eating here, and we would definitely eat here again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GazBouch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

After visiting a branch in Edinburgh we were looking forward to a good meal here, but were disappointed. We visited on an afternoon and the restaurant was busy but were soon seated and a drinks order taken and delivered. We then waited for the food order to be taken, but eventually had to ask if we could order some food and my husband and I ordered the steak pie with red wine gravy and then waited and waited. Eventually I asked a passing waitress if we were going to get any food and off she went and came back quickly with our order, which appeared to have been standing under a hot lamp for quite a while as the gravy, mash and peas were both dried out on the top. However on eating the steak pie which was very sweet, the pastry seemed undercooked so was not a meal I would rush to repeat. We intended having a dessert but once again waited and waited and even had to ask for the bill twice. We were disappointed with the food and the service and were also very surprised that a large group of very noisy football supporters on their way to a match, were allowed into what we thought was a restaurant and not a pub.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scarborough
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

my Daughter treated me to Mothers day Lunch and having been here before, was looking forward to a lovely salad. i ordered the Cajun chicken salad and was very unhappy at what was supposed to be chicken strips but tasted like dried out meat( totally unchewable! ) .I sent it back and on its return they'd taken the chicken off to be replaced with slighty better chicken but sprinkled with dried Cajun seasoning.! The taste was not good at all . In my view the chicken should have been cooked in the seasoning not sprinkled over already cooked chicken that wasnt up to its best anyway . I couldnt send it back again as we had to be somewhere else later . Suffice to say I wont be going again .

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank carolsue1121952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Slug and Lettuce also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Slug and Lettuce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing