We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“8 yr old son was fascinated”
Review of DIG

DIG
Book In Advance
More Info
US$49.31*
and up
The York Pass Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
Ranked #37 of 204 things to do in York
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Owned by the same archaeologists who discovered the Viking-Age City and created JORVIK Viking Centre. DIG offers you a unique archaeological adventure to get you on your way to becoming a real archaeologist. This is a one of a kind! So... DIG IT! SHAKE IT! SEE IT! FEEL IT! FIND IT! At DIG, you get to discover only the most exciting archaeological artefacts from the 2000 years of history hidden under the streets of York. Our four excavation pits are filled with Roman, Viking, medieval and Victorian finds, so you can grab a trowel and dig up the clues that show how people lived in these times.
Mons
Level Contributor
278 reviews
122 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“8 yr old son was fascinated”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Man, that held his attention for nearly 2 hours. Cool stuff. We had a small group; wife/me/son, and mom/daughter. Our guide was really informative and worked well with the kids and the parents. Went thru the 3 dig sites - the 'artifacts' are all glued/part of the floor, you uncover the rubber chips dirt to find them. I'd thought there was loose stuff hidden in there. No matter, if you're 8, it's great! Then they had a session sorting loose artifacts - hands on bones, pots, etc. The fossilized poo really hold interest! Also a great museum/display that's worth half an hour or more of seeing the Roman/medieval/Victorian history uncovered.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank NATOPatsFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    76
    22
    9
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great insight into archeology for children”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

DIG is a fab insight into archeology. It would be best for primary aged children. We took our daughters aged 7 and 10 and they loved it.
On the tour there was a wee chat first from the archeologist, then on to 'the Dig'. The kids loved looking around in the rubber chippings for the imitation bones and artefacts. We then moved on to a table to look at some real artefacts, which was interesting. However I didn't know what the things were that we were looking at so I couldn't help my daughter to guess at which animal bones were which. The archeologist did work his way around the group but obviously can't be with everyone all the time. An information card or an identifier card might have been helpful here. We were then free to look around the rest of the museum. There was info to read as well as hands on stuff for the kids.
We spent two hours here easily. I wish we lived closer so we could use our 12month ticket again as would be good for a rainy afternoon activity!
I would recommend that you give yourself time to look around the museum before you take the tour as it will help give some of the answers to the things you are looking at while on 'the dig'.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fun morning with the kids”
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Had a fun morning at Dig. Arrived when it had opened at ten to find that school parties were booked in at that time.... no worries, got our names down for the eleven am tour and had a mooch around the shambles :). Our guide, Matt, was excellent and gave a v interactive tour, giving a real insight into archaeology and how simple items found can give insights into life in years/centuries past. Dig itself was quite short but fun. We used tesco club card vouchers which was fab, but I think 19.50 for a family of 4 was good value. Would recommend to families... especially those age 5 and up... Not too much for littlies.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank eilidh l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“fun and informative”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Kids loved it and learned a lot in a fun way. Staff were very friendly and knowledgeable. Gift shop was great too

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Stuff”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

My daughter when she was younger fancied her self like Tomb Raider's Lara Croft. She really liked it here and wanted to be an archaeologist for a little while.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank KellyandLeeRobinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed DIG also viewed

 

Been to DIG? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing