We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great food and atmosphere”
Review of Guy Fawkes Inn

Guy Fawkes Inn
Ranked #87 of 881 Restaurants in York
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$21 - US$38
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Lit by candlelight and gas-lamps, with timber floors and roaring fires, our restaurant is a place to withdraw from the world and relax. We serve simple, unpretentious pub food that is skilfully prepared to allow the quality of the fresh local produce to speak for itself.
St Helens, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great food and atmosphere”
Reviewed 9 November 2011

The Inn was warm and welcoming on a cold night, candles on the tables creating a lovely atmosphere and very nice staff. The evening meal menu had a set menu with lots of dishes to choose. An ordinary menu was also available. Vegetarians are adequately catered for with availability of starter dishes and mains. A great inn that i would recommend.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tracy1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

827 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    401
    273
    76
    47
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“DINNER BY GASLIGHT”
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Our 3rd visit and the same excellent food and service. We went on a busy Saturday evening so booked ahead - just as well we did because it was extremely busy. There was 4 of us - we decided to suprise our guests as they had never been in. Even though it was busy we were shown to our table straight away and sorted with some drinks and then left to look at the menu. 2 of us had the belly pork - amazing - one had fish and chips and another sausage and mash. Even though we were all quite full the ladies made room for the deserts - and glad we did - the Eton Mess was beautiful. With 4 of us eating plus 2 rounds of drinks and 2 bottles of wine to accompany what we ate the bill still came in under £80 and we had a very pleasant evening with excellent food. And our guests found dinner by gaslight fascinating. We will definately be back!

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CrazyCatLady2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westfield, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, tasty food!”
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Had a quick dinner here, before the main, "reserved" crowd arrived. Delicious roast lamb--perfectly cooked--wish we had had time to sample the rest of the menu! Highly atmospheric, too. Had that feeling of stepping back in time. Would definitely recommend! (Somewhere between casual and more formal dining. Very comfortable)

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Traveltude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ogmore-by-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
306 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 264 helpful votes
“Expensive but lovely”
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Great food and great selection of beers and ciders but it's not cheap! we spent a few great evenings here playing cards and chilling out which worked out pretty expensive, but we enjoyed it - relaxed atmosphere, dark decor, tasty nibbles and can definitely recommend the fish and chips.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank AllisonTuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Invercargill, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Outstanding food, service and ambience”
Reviewed 24 October 2011

Probably my 8th visit and yet again the food was excellent, thankyou chef! Craig the waiter (head?) is brilliant and the atmosphere in this pub is fantastic. Friends always love coming here with me, in fact it is one of the best value restaurants I have eaten in. Do try their low Roast belly pork with homemade black pudding!

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ginadigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Guy Fawkes Inn also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Guy Fawkes Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing