We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Birthday treat” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Guy Fawkes Inn

Guy Fawkes Inn
Ranked #76 of 850 Restaurants in York
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$36
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Drinks, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Lit by candlelight and gas-lamps, with timber floors and roaring fires, our restaurant is a place to withdraw from the world and relax. We serve simple, unpretentious pub food that is skilfully prepared to allow the quality of the fresh local produce to speak for itself.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Birthday treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

The restaurant was very busy when we arrived but we were soon shown to our table by the very attentive staff. The menu was very good with lots of choice. Some of the choices had sold out but we weren't disappointed in the least with the food we were served. The goat's cheese starter and steak pie were delicious and the sticky toffee pudding was to die for!! The bill arrived for the four of us and what amazing value for all we had consumed including drinks and wine. The ambience was exactly as described and we would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone and we will definitely be returning.

Helpful?
Thank Tracey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shane w, General Manager at Guy Fawkes Inn, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
I am so happy that we delivered for your birthday.
Thank you for leaving us this review.
We would love to see you again soon
Kind Regards
Shane Wood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

789 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    383
    262
    72
    44
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicious Food, Cozy Atmosphere.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

I really liked the atmosphere of this restaurant. It was dimly lit and cozy, adding to the already historical feel to the place.

The food was a tad pricey, but well worth it. Their selection of brews wasn't too bad, neither.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank wocky27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shane w, General Manager at Guy Fawkes Inn, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thankyou for your review.
Im glad you enjoy your meal and sampled our ales.
We hope to see you again soon
Kind Regards
Shane Wood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

Great choice of ales amazing service and the food is outstandingly brilliant I had the Three little pigs which was the best meal I've eaten in a long time and chocolate fondant with ice cream for desert I will deffo be back for more and as a York taxi driver will recommend this pub/guest house as a must visit :-)

Helpful?
Thank Gary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shane w, General Manager at Guy Fawkes Inn, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thankyou so much for this review
please do recommend us, as you have experienced us first hand.
Hope to see you back soon
Kind Regards
Shane Wood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Exemplary service and great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

We had booked in advance for a meal here and were not disappointed. In addition to superbly cooked and presented food, the service from the staff (and in particular Egle) was faultless - attentive without being obtrusive, always very friendly. If you want inn dining rather than pub grub or posey restaurant then this is the place.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Karen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shane w, General Manager at Guy Fawkes Inn, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thankyou ever so much for such an amazing review.
We really appreciate it and Egle is over the moon with your kind comments as am i.
We hope to see you again soon.
Best Wishes
Shane Wood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, England
Level Contributor
152 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Good for a pint”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Stopped here for a quick drink after leaving a nearby restaurant.
Nice & cosy, but nothing special.
The room at the back was as hot as an oven! The room nearer the front was far more comfortable.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank st321st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shane w, General Manager at Guy Fawkes Inn, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thankyou for leaving us a review.
it can become quite hot sometimes but this due to our gas lights and candles.
You should pop in and try out the menu it wont disappoint.
Kind Regards
Shane Wood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Guy Fawkes Inn also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Guy Fawkes Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing