We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic stay”
Review of Guy Fawkes Inn

Guy Fawkes Inn
Ranked #95 of 868 Restaurants in York
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$21 - US$38
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Romantic, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Drinks, Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Lit by candlelight and gas-lamps, with timber floors and roaring fires, our restaurant is a place to withdraw from the world and relax. We serve simple, unpretentious pub food that is skilfully prepared to allow the quality of the fresh local produce to speak for itself.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay”
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Everything you would want for a stay in York. Staff very helpful, great atmosphere in the hotel & bar, one of the best locations in the city. Breakfast was excellent. Differences in room sizes & location within the hotel could affect your experience recommend you check this when booking. Looking forward to returning on our next visit to York.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shane w, General Manager at Guy Fawkes Inn, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
thanks for taking the time to leave us this awesome review.
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and are already planning on a return visit.
We hope to see you again really soon.
Best Wishes
Shane Wood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

812 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    390
    269
    76
    47
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
lancashire
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Poor quality food”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

The fish and chips were served with almost black overcooked chips and a very soggy fish. The waiter said there was a problem with the frier. Why did the chef and waitress not notice?

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank sunseekers017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shane w, General Manager at Guy Fawkes Inn, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
thanks for taking the time to leave us this review.
However i do find it a little strange that one would wait nearly 4 months to leave us such a review.
I do remember trying to resolve this problem on the day.
The chef in question, you will be pleased to know is no longer with us.
this is not something that happens here usually.
We do hope that you would return to us to try our new menu and to see us performing to our best.
Kind Regards
Shane Wood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“My favourite”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I absolutely love this place, the atmosphere is authentic and the food is great. The service has always been good and they often have free canapes. The menu changes according to what vegetables are in season so, for example, their belly pork has a different sauce according to the time of the year.

Things to look out for on the menu are: their famous pie (the best thing about which is the fluffy breadcrum pastry which isn't hard at all), the monkfish and the belly pork. I especially like the goat's cheese tart for a starter.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Harry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shane w, General Manager at Guy Fawkes Inn, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you ever so much for this fantastic review.
We hope to see you again real soon.
Kind Regards
Shane Wood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great place to stay in york”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

what a fab quirky place to stay in York near all bars and attractions service was very good staff was helpful only one thing I will miss no more warsteiner beer was told we drank the last barrel will be sorry to see this go lets hope they put this back on for are stay next time !!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 160Donna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shane w, General Manager at Guy Fawkes Inn, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
thank you for this great review.
I am sorry that you will miss the warsteiner, but i assure you that our new product coming this week is phenomenal.
We shall be stocking Adnams dry hopped lager which is a taste sensation.
we hope you will be popping in soon.
best wishes
Shane Wood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Overrated”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Yes the place is quirky, appearing very 'goth', everywhere is black.
I feel they rely too much on it's reputation for being haunted and the actual 'Guy Fawkes' connection, feeling, as we did that people 'have' to visit.
Drinks are grossly over priced, food is average at best.
Accommodation, far better deals can be sought in York, again, they rely far too much on local legend and folklore.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimbob3630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shane w, General Manager at Guy Fawkes Inn, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
thank you for your review
i am terribly sorry that you did not enjoy your visit entirely.
Our prices are in keeping with the rest of the businesses in the area and are served to a high standard.
it also saddens me that you found our food to be average, as we pride ourselves on our fresh local produce.
all feedback is taken into consideration and acted upon if necessary.
as a business we are continually developing to meet the needs of our customers.
Kind Regards
Shane Wood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Guy Fawkes Inn also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Guy Fawkes Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing