We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (196)
Filter reviews
196 results
Traveller rating
108
48
18
11
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
108
48
18
11
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsholly lodgepark and ridelarge tescolovely weeklovely lodgeaskham barfishing lakevase of fresh flowersducks and geeseon arrivalbed lodgehard watertesco extralake viewwashing up liquidstayed here for a weekrelaxing break
Filter
Updating list...
167 - 172 of 196 reviews
Reviewed 11 April 2013

My partner and I spent a week in an oak lodge (the most basic, 1 bedroom) I was a little worried after reading some reviews on here about the owner but he turned out to be a polite chap who welcomed us onto the lake when we arrived at 3:20pm. Our lodge was lovely with electric fire and a 32" flat screen tv. Kitchen was lovely and clean with everything we needed. The view from our window was beautiful you could see right across the lake. My first stop was Tesco's, its just over the road and took me 2mins in the car to get to. When we went into town later in the week we walked to the park and ride which was just outside Tesco's and it took us about 5 mins, buses are every 6 to 12 mins and take you straight into the centre of york. We ordered a takeaway to the lodge one night (reception has a wide choice of menus of takeaways who will deliver straight to your lodge!) The owner had put together a fantastic book full of information on york and possible outings as well as things/places of use nearby along with information on the lodge. You pay for the electricity you use when you leave we spent £24 but we had the heating/hot water and kitchen appliances on a lot. When the owner came round to collect payment he asked if I would like to see one of the other cabins (the holly lodge) and all I can say is WOW. All in all had a fantastic time and shall certainly be back, (holly lodge next time!! )

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank clo8728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

This is a typical Hoseasons Lodge Park set by a lake near to the centre of York. We were in Yorvik Lodge 1 and had a nice view of the lake through the large patio doors.We arrived at 3pm as we were told our cabin would be ready by then. Unfortunately we had to wait until 4.15pm because the cleaning ladies had discovered the previous tenants had left the lodge without tidying up or washing the crockery and pans! Thankfully we eventually arrived at a spotlessly clean lodge with a high standard of kitchen utensils and crockery. (A Jamie Oliver frying pan for example). The telly was huge and fixed to the wall.The electric fires in the living room blasted out heat so it didn't take long to get warm.
The 2 twin bedrooms were adequate but the duvets were more for summer use and were just not warm enough for the coldest spring week in living memory. Fortunately there were electric heaters in the bedrooms and they warmed up the room quickly.
Bathroom had an efficient heater as well as immersion heater if you wanted a bath instead of a shower.All in all, a nice lodge for a short break, but better in warm weather!
We were there for four nights.The first day we drove the fifteen miles to Castle Howard, the rest of the time we left the car at the lodge and took a taxi into York and back for £8 one way.There is a park and ride nearby if you wanted that option. We visited the Castle Museum and the Railway Museum, both being excellent value, and then had tea at Betty's, which is a must if you travel to York!
If you stay at the lodges, be aware that the main railway line into York is right behind the park, so the sounds of the trains can be heard in the bedrooms at night. If you are a light sleeper you may have a problem!
We spent £14.50 on electricity which we didn't think was bad considering the bitterly cold weather. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. Good value.

Room Tip: They have a deluxe cabin for 2 which looks sensational but costs more.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bancroftd1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013 via mobile

Booked a week here ( a weekend would have been enough) dated lodges which are in need of a good clean / upgrading and an owner who needs to brush up on his customer service skills ASAP !! The lake itself is lovely , great location for sight seeing / tescos / park & ride etc !!! ... Tv is ok and the cutlery and crockery was well stocked but grubby . Needless to say we will not be returning or telling anyone it's a great place to stay . If you still want to go , avoid any conversation with the owner , take cleaning products n maybe your own pillows n home comforts . Enjoy :-)

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simoneanelay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2013 via mobile

Regular visits to aged parents in nursing home and require regular accomodatin. Better value than local b&b/motels allowing independance in a tranquil lakeside surroundings. Fantastic display of snowdrops. Excellent local transport to York.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank twistpaleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2013

Stayed for visiting parents in nearby care home. Excellent fully equiped accomodation, could not fault it, well priced as well the lake looked wonderful with many keen fisher folk fishing. Dont miss out give it try.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ejt2388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews