We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfortable, but dont use the lift!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn York City (Blossom St South) Hotel
Ranked #10 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 November 2011

This is the 2nd time we have stayed at this hotel this year. The rooms are fairly big but basic as what you would expect from a premier inn. The bathroom was a little gruby whereby the grouting could do with a bit of a deep clean and there were a few marks and scuffs on the wall, but thats being overly critical.

The bed and pillows in the room are soooooo comfortable. Howeer, try not to get a room on the main road (blossom street) as the traffic is fairly loud thoughout the night,

The food in the restuarant (the long boat) is lovely and reasonably priced. The food is of a nice quality and the service was relatively quick. We had the breakfast on the previous visit and it is value for money if you like a big hearty breakfast. Its a buffet style all you can eat, it ws a bit wasted on me but my hubby loved it!

Now for the lift! one word of advice, if you are claustrophobic - dont use it. It was out of action the first time we were there but it was fixed relatively quickly. One our 2nd stay, if broke down while we were in it between floors!. the alarm button is rubbish and links to a call centre in god knows where, and it took about 6 times to be answered! i was then asked by the operator where i was, what city and the postcode of the hotel! I was told an engineer was on his way, but no timeframe give. My husband managed to force the door open and luckily we were only about 12 inches from the 1st floor so we stepped out. We had to inform the receptionist as they had no idea the lift had broken down again, but she advised it does that regularly!

The hotel is a 5 min walk from the train station but is approx a 15 min walk into town.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexandra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,981)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,797 - 1,803 of 1,981 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2011

Booked at this hotel for one night for a last minute trip as we wanted to experience York's Festival of Light in October. We have stayed in the city many times, so knew this was a handy location.Upon arrival, the hotel car park was full but luckily we managed to find a space at the car park next door. It was a bit of a trek from there to reception and once at reception we found that we were at Blossom Street North and not South. This is a bit confusing, but we were soon heading in the right direction. I was a little disappointed that we were in the hotel overlooking the main road and I think that next time we will opt for Blossom Street North as these rooms appear to be well away from traffic. Our room was fine: the bed was spotless and extremely comfortable and the bathroom beautifully clean but with minimum toiletries. We had a good night's sleep in spite of outside traffic noise. We breakfasted at Wetherspoons over the road as their rates are much cheaper and the breakfast was really good, with of course, lots of choice. We would stay here again, but as mentioned already, probably try the North hotel next time.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eliza B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

stayed here in may with a large group of girls for my birthday night out in york,its a good position for the city centre as its only a short walk away,its clean,plenty of rooms and good for families,couples,all male or all female groups, a great nights stay.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank taglee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Excellent stay, good clean and welcoming.The staff go the extra mile without appearing pretentious.
Have stayed there a number of times and would recommend you try it.
You can leave the car in the car park and walk to all the attractions sights .If you cannot walk far there are regular buses that pick up/ stop outside the hotel and take you into the centre of York namely 3,4,12,13.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CARLCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Very clean and tidy (as most premier inns are). Very nice bar/buffet area. Easy walk into town and cut price under cover parking near railway station. Even though very busy, so bit of a queue at breakfast, staff remained helpful, especially when my Mum was confused over how to use bath taps!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leximum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2011

Excellent location, very good quality room, clean and comfortable and very friendly staff.
I would certainly stay here again and I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue2909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2011

Arriving quite late I was greeted by a friendly smile and checked in. The room was clean, fresh and of a good standard. I always find Premier Inn good in this respect. All the staff were friendly and always said hello.

Breakfast was good - a wide selection of the usual breakfast offerings although I still don't know why people can face chocolate muffins at that time!

Good location - although car parking is through an arrangement with NCP nearby. However, its 10 mins from the railway station and less than that into the city centre so no complaints there.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Size12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
0.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,384 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
651 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn York City (Blossom St South) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn York City (Blossom St South) Hotel

Address: 28-40 Blossom Street, York YO24 1AJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in York
#2 Family Hotel in York
#7 Business Hotel in York
Price Range: £59 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn York City (Blossom St South) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a historical part of York close to Clifford’s Tower, the memorial gardens and the city walls ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn York City (Blossom St South) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn York City (Blossom St South) Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing