We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Car parking!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn York City (Blossom St South) Hotel
Ranked #10 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 November 2011

Although me and my partner had a very enjoyable weekend we got totally scammed by the car parking!! Prior to our visit a receptionist phoned me to tell me there were no car parking facilities on site (which was fine) and we were to park in the NCP car park behind the hotel. Trusting this information we did so and paid over £13 for 24hrs. However, on our way to reception we noticed there was a pay and display car park behind Premier Inn Blossom Street North next door which was not exclusive to that hotel which was £8 for 24hrs. I felt really let down that the receptionist had clearly gone out of her way to ring me and give misleading information in order to possibly free up space in this car park. I even asked at check-in if that car park was only for Blossom Street North customers and she replied 'no, we use that one as well!. Very confusing!! So basically if you get a call telling you to park in NCP DON'T check the pay and display car park first which is right next door, and you'll save yourself a few pounds!!

The hotel location is excellent and if you hadn't already guessed there are two premier inns right next door to one another so it is worth comparing prices to see which comes out cheaper as this one worked out £40 cheaper for me!! Its right outside the city walls and train station so no need for a car because you can pretty much walk everywhere.

As usual the premier inn is very clean and in keeping with the same standard as other hotels in the chain, modern, comfy rooms etc etc.

The breakfast all you can eat is lushh and help yourself so i'd definitely recommend that. The hotel has a Table Table restaurant the bar is really good in terms of prices and has a large range of cocktails. However, the restaurant itself isn't up to much the food is pretty standard but a good choice, so i suppose it depends what you have.

Overall i wouldn't stay again because i feel they are quite dishonest however now you know my little car parking tip you should be okay!!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank lozm91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,966)
There are newer reviews for Premier Inn York City (Blossom St South) Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,772 - 1,778 of 1,967 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights this week.It was a lovely place to stay. The staff were very friendly, helpful and always smiling. Our room was big, clean, quiet and very comfortable. The beds are so comfortable!

The breakfast was very good and worth the money. The waitress showed us to our table and asked if we preferred anything which wasn't on the help yourself breakfast bar. I asked for porridge and poached eggs, which came fresh from the kitchen and were delicious.

It is situated about 10 mins walk from the centre, across a little bridge, and about 5 mins from the station, which is handy.

We had a wonderful stay, and cannot find any fault at all. I highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: We had a family room, which was bigger than most rooms.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crissi36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2011

This was a stay for a birthday which was just for 1 night, close to train station which was a god send maybe 5 mins.We arrived early about half past 1pm and receptionist kindly allowed my partner and i to check into our room half an hour earlier. Payment and process swift and easy to follow. The room looked like it had just been redecorated and had a slight smell of paint but other than that very clean and modern. The heating system was a little tricky and took a while to kick in but by the time we returned from our long day it was lovely to come back to a toasty,cosy room. Even though we on the main street there was very little noise (mid week stay) We did not dine in the restaurant as we went into town to celebrate trying trukish food( amazing).Overall very welcoming staff and pleasant stay. I would like to commend the staff as I thought i had lost my pandora bracelet and it was kindly sent back( a cleaner found) to me.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dizzid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2011

friendly profesional staff. very good location.Food ok.Bar prices a little steep.Rooms clean and modern.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carpetmart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2011

Stayed here last week for 2 nights. It was clean and comfortable. The staff was friendly and welcoming. I thought the breakfast was excellent, and when i requested poached eggs it was no problem. In fact the breakfast team was great, they greeted us and asked how we was. Would stay again. Only downside is its roughly a ten min walk into the centre

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank howard t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2011

A short walk from the station and an easy walk into town. Room was clean, reasonably sized and adequately equipped.
Don't know why they have this tedious automated check in system when there were two reception staff on hand to help us through it - would have been easier all round to have a conventional check in.
All the staff were pleasant and helpful, and the buffet breakfast was excellent. Whilst we weren't there long enough to try other meals, the restaurant looked good value.

Room Tip: Ask for a rear facing room for quietness.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2011

extremely good ,great room, great food, helpful and caring staff

Room Tip: good location excellent parking (even disabled) good size rooms good facilities close to all amenit...
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.2 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
0.8 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
646 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn York City (Blossom St South) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn York City (Blossom St South) Hotel

Address: 28-40 Blossom Street, York YO24 1AJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in York
#2 Family Hotel in York
#7 Business Hotel in York
Price Range: £58 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn York City (Blossom St South) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a historical part of York close to Clifford’s Tower, the memorial gardens and the city walls ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn York City (Blossom St South) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn York City (Blossom St South) Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing